We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferntree Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ferntree Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
36 Camelot Close | 36 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia (Formerly Ferntree Hostel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent from start to the end.. Super friendly staff at reception, making you feel welcome.. Great accommodation, clean and a massive bed made out of 2 single king size.. So peaceful at night time.. Lot of oldies but they were all very friendly though, made our stay very pleasant.. In-house breakfast closes very early at 9.30am, apart from that it's a great little place to stay while exploring Cap Tribulation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
53
56
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It really has more to offer than what is available through their website. For a start you don't have to worry about the remoteness and availability of food etc. There are cooking facilities, with hot plates and microwave, especially for those who are budget travellers. Value for money? Yes, and it really gives you a good rainforest feel. And, there was a continental breakfast included in the price, which I didn't notice being mentioned.Although the other lodges or cabins are visible, there was still a sense of privacy. Sleeping in the loft was special. There is plenty to do for a 2 to 3 day visit, but it didn't matter really, because it is a good place to hang-out

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We walked in looking for a place to sleep; the staff was friendly and accommodating. Surrounded by the beautiful Daintree Rainforest, this lovely cabin style resort is clean and peaceful. The grounds are interesting and well kept. The rooms are simple; pleasant porches. Great location for all activities in the remote Cape Trib area. Complementary breakfast was sadly sparse but that's the only down point to an otherwise satisfying stay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nestled in the lush rainforest, this lodging is a gem combination of aesthetic rooms and a personable atmosphere. Quiet and perfect for those seeking a relaxed vacation. Nestled in the rainforest yet a 7 minute walk to the beach (I timed it), Ferntree combines the best of the Cape Tribulation environment.

My father saw a beautiful Goana while walking down one of the paths, and beautiful birds are a common sight amidst the lush green. Owners Richard and Fiona wander around the property daily, friendly and helpful, they will also leave you alone if you want seclusion. Cane and Cassie at the front desk are also helpful and offer candid insight into how to explore Cape Tribulation.

I have been to Cape Tribulation 4 times and was seeking something more family-appropriate and quiet than my usual wild nights at PKs. My parents were delighted. I was also delighted to find something so affordable!

The garden cabin we rented would easily cost double that in Port Douglas, and had incomparable homey charm. The cabins easily sleep a couple in the downstairs bed and two singles in the loft above. There is no television and it perfectly suits a nature-based vacation. All the cabins have private decks and chairs outside to appreciate nature or enjoy a drink and chat.

Everything is beautiful wood and simple clean lines. The free continental breakfast is great. Delicious food is available for 3 meals at the onsite restaurant which is airy and made of beautiful wood, Cape Trib locals also come to enjoy the atmosphere.

Only 2 things I would recommend to Richard and Fiona: please look into floor lamps for more light at night, and the rooms, although very clean, can get a bit musty perhaps because of the older wood construction. Somehow getting them to smell more fresh would be great. Overall 5 stars, a delight!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem identical, and wonderful. Our garden loft was near the restaurant, quiet because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lovely, simple, family style place set sensitively into a rainforest environment. Architecturally interesting bungalows, which work well for a family of four or five. Set your expectations of appointments to three-and-a-half stars, and you won't be disappointed in any way. Friendly staff. Great option for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights in a private cabin and it was fantastic. Being our first time in Cape Tribulation we didn't know what to expect but as soon as we arrived we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. The Cassowary Cafe was affordable and delicious! There are wonderful tours in the area too - highly recommend the jungle safari, kayaking and night walks! Overall, perfdct location to be amongst the rainforest but walking distance to food and the beach. Cheers for a great holiday!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Recently myself and 3 girlfriends stayed at Ferntree Rainforest Resort, we had an absolutelty brilliant time and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Cape Tribulation. The staff were wonderful and welcoming, the accomodation was spacious and clean and the food at the restaurant was Yummo! We booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 5!! Thank you to all the crew at Ferntree who helped make our time there so special :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferntree Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferntree Rainforest Lodge

Address: 36 Camelot Close | 36 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia (Formerly Ferntree Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ferntree Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferntree Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.