We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Cape Trib” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whet Restaurant

Whet Restaurant
Lot 1 Cape Tribulation Road | Road Cape Tribulation Qld 4873, Cape Tribulation, Queensland, Australia
61 7 4098 0007
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Cape Trib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

After looking for somewhere to eat and only coming across the usual takeaway rubbish this place was like an oasis.

Great food and drinks - couldn't finish my meal it was so big! The service was lovely and the location amongst rainforest plants was cool and refreshing.

Make sure you check out the locally carved bar stools at this place. They will make you smile.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    83
    15
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very Friendly and welcoming. Had the Barra Fish and chips. Very yum
Great spot to relax. Definitely worth stopping here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Full of atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A great spot to end our day before the drive back to Port Douglas. Very friendly staff and a great bar area. Lovely venue and a nice menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihola, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

friendly staff greeted us and once seated our drinks and meals arrived In a reasonable time given the restaurant was busy (parking space is limited ) I had the linguini with chilli salsa and prawns, the serving was perfect size and cooked beautifully. The fish and chips were also lovely with the chips easily the nicest we've had in Austrailia. Also appreciated the waitress checking to see if our meal was ok, something which has been sadly lacking in restaurants here so far.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Maybe a bad day for them”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Took family there for lunch on advice of tourist office. Whilst food was good, the service was not. A long litany of issues that makes me want to suggest to the owners they may want to coach their staff on customer service.
All ended well but not sure it's on my recommendation list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whet Restaurant also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Whet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.