We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'I'd rather stay at 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel'” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Buderim Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buderim Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buderim Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   45 King St, Buderim, Queensland 4556, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buderim
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“'I'd rather stay at 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On arrival I felt uncomfortable, an uneasiness about the place. Should have listened to my instincts. But my friends and I saw the funny side of the situation and could not believe that such a place exists. It was something like you see in the movies, chicks stay at a dodgy inn and the scarey stuff begins. It became an adventure for us. Lesson learned don't pay upfront until you check the room! My advice stay clear of this Motel, outdated, unclean, undercover parking under large trees, drive pass the rubbish bins towards your room and the shower head ( a bottle of CLR would have been handy)...and the list goes on. All the reviews I should have read before booking in, are accurate as described! No exaggerations here!

Room Tip: Don't do it. Stay at the Sebel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    4
    4
    26
See reviews for
7
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

There are no words for this abomination of a place. Should be immediately burnt to the ground. Absolutely filthy. The owner seems to be too interested in his computer to worry about cleaning the rooms or making repairs.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!! Sleep in your car before choosing this place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The photos lie. It looked like a magic little spot. Only myself to blame as we were rushed and had to book somewhere in a hurry and I never got to read the reviews posed here, exactly as described below. Add the noisy chain smoking permanents living here there was a constant trail of smoke wafting through the 3 inch gap under the door. The staff were polite and the reception area clean but the rooms need a lot of work. Saloon doors to the shower........ No jokes : )

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

At first glance the photos of this property looked passable, wish I'd taken the time to read the reviews!
We were unable to travel north due to flooding on the Bruce Highway and needed a place to wait it out - after checking onto our room, we noticed the bathroom floor was wet. It was raining heavily outside, so I checked that the window was closed, it was but the rain was coming in from the ceiling cornice and splashing everywhere. When I pointed this out to the owner, he joked "Would you like a mop?" The carpets were filthy and the 'car-park' a quagmire.

The only thing I could recommend for this property is a bull-dozer!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked on Quickbeds as it looked ok. Should have read here first. While Buderim is an upmarket area, this motel is a hovel. To be fair, the beds are comfortable. But the motel is just run down with strange goings on, which makes one feel a little uneasy. Felt grubby inside, parking very difficult, saw empty beer bottles left on steps, some guys working on a 4wd outside until midnight. Lack of airconditioning and old fashioned louvre windows mean you cannot just shut out cigarette smoke, noise and heat for a quet night. There used to be some nice motels in the area but seems all have been demolished for apartments, leaving this sad excuse for a motel with no competition.
You have been warned! Go somewhere else, please.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We were gouged $150 for their "family" room on Xmas night. After prepaying 4 nights earlier they tried to give us a sleep 3 room instead of sleep 4. The sheets were clean. that was the only redeeming feature. Beds Saggy and awful. pillows thin. so grubby I refused to take my shoes off or use the shower. The toilet was leaking over the bathroom floor and onto the carpet. Not air conditioned and fan noisy. Simply dreadful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights only because we were working in the area and our 'Boss' had pre booked and paid for it. We have done a lot of traveling around the world and have stayed at many 'budget' hotels. This would have to be the worst ever by far! This place has no redeeming features whosoever, it should be condemned and knocked down. What ever the nightly tariff was, it was way too much. A couple that were staying in a room two away from ours were a little 'unsavory', as we were loading up the car to leave we feared a full blown drug induced argument was about to explode. I felt unsafe. Didn't complain to management about anything as I didn't see any point, if management think its ok to provide accommodation of this standard and charge any money at all, we are never going to be on the same page! PLEASE READ ALL THE REVIEWS BELOW... they are not exaggerating, in fact some are being very kind. Don't spend your hard earned money on staying in this dump!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buderim Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buderim Motor Inn

Address: 45 King St, Buderim, Queensland 4556, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Buderim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buderim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buderim Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buderim Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buderim Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.