We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passage Cruise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ferryman Cruises Day Tours

Ferryman Cruises Day Tours
Sylvan Beach Esplanade | Bellara, Bribie Island, Queensland 4507, Australia
+61 408 214 980
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise the smooth waters of the Pumicestone Passage aboard our comfortable Ferry. Take in the spectacular views of the iconic Glass House Mountains, eat yummy food and take the opportunity to spot wild Dolphins, Dugongs, Sea Turtles and many different species of Sea Birds.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Passage Cruise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A lovely day for a 3-hour "Devonshire Tea" cruise. We were really disappointed - three hours cruising up the centre of the passage, surrounded by mangrove swamps and other uninspiring vegetation, with the prospect of seeing dolphins, dugongs. turtles and a variety of exotic birds. Sadly, we saw only common black swans and from a great distance some migrating godwits (?). It is appreciated that the operators have no control over the wildlife, but we did expect to see more. Like the wildlife, the tea was also overrated and certainly not a true "devonshire" tea. Quite clearly a number of people enjoyed the time on the water, but we were very glad that we did not choose the 6 hour trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FerrymanCruises, Owner at Ferryman Cruises Day Tours, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Yes it is a shame that we cannot control what wild life we see on each cruise. As you've discovered you didn't see any exotic birds, however just to clarify we don't advertise that you will see exotic birds, we advise that the area is home to a variety of birds. I'm sorry that you found the area uninspiring, We normally get people commenting on the stunning views they see whilst cruising on the Pumicestone Passage. The view of the Glass House Mountains and the Blackall ranges I feel are just breath taking, not to forget the little town ships, shipwreck and Bribie Islands national parks that we also travel pass. We have always thought we were serving a real Devonshire Tea, however you are quite correct, upon doing some research we are serving incorrectly. We serve our scones with the jam first and real fresh cream piped on top of the scone. Apparently we have it back the front the cream is dolloped (not piped) first and jam second. Also we make coffee available which is definitely not part of the Devonshire Tea service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Three hours of bad comedy and boredom!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We wanted a great cruise for a friend from NZ with someone telling us about Bribie, the passage and the wildlife around the area. What we got was a bad comic who couldn't even tell a funny joke when he read the punchline from a page and not one bit of local commentary.

Admittedly this was advertised as a baby boomers comedy cruise with a local from Bribie Island. We honestly looked forward to a great laugh as well as getting the heads up on a local who you would think would be able to tell us about the place. What we got was someone that was out just to sell his books - and that was it. Sitting in the dark for 60 minutes with no commentary is not what I would call money well spent.

Our friend was involved in tourism in NZ and boy were we embarrassed. If this is the best Ferryman have to offer - don't try them.....sorry guys.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Relax on the passage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Take a cruise on the passage and enjoy the commentary & morning or afternoon tea. We had a brilliant sunny day on the water - enjoyed having someone else do the work while we sat back and enjoyed the scenery. If your lucky, you might see some dugongs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witta, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunset tour - perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked a sunset cruise to celebrate my 60th birthday with 25 friends. The weather was perfect (bonus), the catering was spot on, the cruise was just the right pace and length; even the dolphins put in an appearance. It was a perfect evening, and the staff were extremely helpful from beginning enquiries to end of the cruise.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferryman Cruises Day Tours also viewed

Bribie Island, Moreton Bay Region
 
Bribie Island, Moreton Bay Region
Redcliffe, Moreton Bay Region
 

Been to Ferryman Cruises Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferryman Cruises Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.