We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comofrtable stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Motel to your Saves list
Ocean View Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   18317 Bruce Highway, Bowen, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
NSW
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comofrtable stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good clean room with excellent home cooked meals. Knowledgeable owner. Hubbie would have stayed and talked fishing a good deal longer but the road beckoned. Perhaps a little costly compared to some others but the bed was good and the place was very clean. The view across the bay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were put onto the motel by staff at the Big Mango (right next door) and found the owners friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, clean, and with a good fan. But the facilities in the room were not what I expected: no cutlery or crockery beyond cups and teaspoons for coffee-making - I expected at least plates, knives and forks and a toaster. You could order meals, so perhaps that was why no self-catering facilities.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

In a good location on main highway but for $121 I would expect more luxury. only toiletries supplied was 2 little bars of soap, was the usual supply of tea coffee and sugar but no biscuits or anything else. was shocked at price because if we had booked on wotif would have cost $100!
overall a good stop over motel but we won't be stopping there on way home at that price

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony Y, Owner at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our motel.
We will take on board your comments about the toiletries and bikkies. It is always a balancing act between maintaining value for money and providing the extra little luxuries.
I would like to clarify though that the wotif price is the same at $121 for 2 people, so I hope you don't feel as though you have been swindled.
We constantly benchmark ourselves against the other local accomodation providers and we feel that we offer the best value for money in town.
Nothing beats relaxing on the terrace with a sea breeze in the afternoon, or watching the sun rise across the water in the mornings.
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calliope, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to break our trip. It's old but extremely clean. My child enjoyed the pool while we sat in the cool breeze outside our units drinking in the view and beer! The food we ordered was fresh and delicious. There was a bit of road noise due to being right on the highway but I turned on the air con and that seemed to drown the noise out. Room was equipped with fridge, microwave and kettle. The shower was awesome. Price was a bit high for the location and age but we paid for the location as we wanted a quick start the next morning. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed only 1 night great views excellent food to unit at night and breakfast next day , clean room great for overnight stay highway traffic can be a bit noisy eg trucks but with airconditon on it should cancel this out . Friendly helpful owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Graet place for an overnight stop when travelling. Room was comfortable and clean. View from the front is fantastic. Meals served to the room were good. Bit noisy with vehicles - (trucks exhaust brakes) from nearby highway but we stayed in winter and didnt need air cond on so in warmer months with air cond running it would cancel out road noise.
We stay in a lot of motels when travelling and this one has been a real find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Good, clean, comfortable motel on the highway like they used to be. Park the car and don't plan on going anywhere unless you want to drive. The room was clean and plenty of room for 2. The outlook over the ocean towards Bowen would have been great except for the weather on the night we stayed. We took our own food but they do provide meals at a reasonable price ($19.50 for evening meals and $13.50 for a cooked breakfast). We didn't have any problem with the noise from the hightway which was minimal. We payed $98 after asking if they had any discounts. I don't think we would pay any more because of the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel

Address: 18317 Bruce Highway, Bowen, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Motel is quality and affordable Bowen accommodation, ideally located with a choice of at least eight pristine beaches, right at, or within 10 minutes drive from your Motel room, and overlooking Port Denison and the Islands. Set on a spacious 9 acres, the motel rooms have Queen sized beds, air conditioning, fans and free cable TV, swimming pool and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.