We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prison” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bush Bunks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bush Bunks to your Saves list
Bush Bunks
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The BogieRiver Bush House | 284 Normanby Road, Bowen, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Prison”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Oh my goodness!! What can I say?! Myself and 4 friends escaped from the Bogie River Bush House last night after 8 days. We got out with the aid of 3 lovely people who arrived that same day and had the sense to get out immediately before handing over any money or agreeing to the ridiculous contracts! If it weren't for them there would have been no escape as there is no public transport so far out in the bush as this place was and mobile phones did not have signal for miles!

I am amazed we lasted the 8 days!! Hot water in the showers was an occassional luxury! Kangaroos and possums would raid our outdoor "kitchen" at night time. The kitchen consisted of a microwave, hob, filthy fridge and sink- oh and a kettle that worked at times!

You are given a box when you arrive which consists of 1 pillow, 1 mattress protector, 1 sheet, 1 pillowcase, 1 spoon, 1 fork, 1 knife, 1 bowl, 1 plate and 1 mug. All items are numbered and if you break anything or leave it out overnight you will be fined. I was "cellmate number 15".

The people living there are all great though, everyone is so friendly and welcoming- probably due to the lack of anything else to do there. All you have in that place is each other!!

We did not take the advice of others on trip advisor and wish we had- please be warned and spend your money elsewhere- James is raking it in from the people already there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    1
    9
See reviews for
2
6
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I'm not sure who has written the positive reviews about this place I can only pressume they were made by the owners themselves.

This place is a nightmare. The owner is nothing short of a crook and I have already reported him to the local ombudsman. He will fine people for the slightest of misdemeanours such as leaving a cup in the sink ($5 for that one) but he doesn’t just charge the individual who left the cup, oh no, he'll charge everyone $5 ,irrelevant if they were involved or not. If you leave several dishes out you will all be fined $20!! This happens on a daily basis and makes up the lion’s share of his profits.
It’s a scam, the owner will lure you there by promising work only to tell you (after you have paid your deposit and first weeks rent) that there is no work at the moment but that there will soon be some. That’s his way of capturing you into the hostel so he can fine your [--] until the cows come home.
But that’s not the best of it. If he believes that you are using too much water, he will simply switch it off. We were unable to flush the toilets every time we went; the showers were rationed and we could only cook when the water was switched on for short periods of the day.
There are FAR better hostels in Bowen, ones that the farmers actually prefer working with. Choose anything other than this one and you have made the right choice. Do that and the added bonus is that you don’t have to deal with the arrogant and dictatorial owner of the Bogie River Bush House. STAY AWAY, don’t say you’ve not been warned.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

This place is the best place I went in Australia!! James and Gabe are the most warm and welcoming people I ran accross and the environment is unbelievable.I woke up every day to kangaroo's on my door step,eddie the emu running around,a warm meal,and the love of my fellow backpackers.I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a good time while working!! Thanks James and Gabe for all the good times!!!
Chris,USA,AZ

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

fantastic people, beautiful surroundings, very comfortable accomodation, everything you could possibly need is provided for you or you are assisted in all sorts of ways to make sure your stay is wait you want and need....love having so much contact with wild life. James and Gabrielle are friendly, warm, open and welcoming....really looking forward to going back....lots of love in this place

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Well what can I say. I ended up sticking it out for almost 2 weeks and it was the worst 2 weeks of my life. James and Gabe basically stole my money when I got there (when you DO get there, it is always dark and you are bullied into signing a contract- if you decide you don't wish to sign the contract which basically locks you there for a minimum of one month, you are told to find your own way back to civilisation which is more than 40 kms from the nearest village)
You will be charged 130 dollars a week rent, 70 dollars a week petrol money (!!) and an "administraton fee" of 30 dollars. You will also have to give 100 dollars security fee. You are allowed to go into town once a week to get food (even though you are IN TOWN to work anyway, and paying 70 dollars a week for petrol) I left there with less money than when I arrived.
The actual hostel itself is filthy and overcrowded and full of animal excrement.
I was sent to a farm where I the work was hard but not too bad- but I was not paid by the farmer at the end of 2 weeks. James and Gabe are the only ones making any money there.
James is a sly, underhand, greedy man with no morals and backpackers should be warned against going here.

  • Liked — Nothing- it was disgusting.
  • Disliked — Everything- I wouldn't let a dog live there.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bush Bunks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Bunks

Address: The BogieRiver Bush House | 284 Normanby Road, Bowen, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bush Bunks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its hard to find a more relaxed atmosphere than the Bush House located a short 40 minute drive West of Bowen in Whitsunday region. The property is set on 25 acres of virgin bushland on the banks of the Bogie River with visiting wildlife and houses built from recycled materials. The B&B accommodation consists of 11 Queen rooms, 2 also have single bunk beds for families, all B&B rooms are air-conditioned. The main B&B lounge area has a large flat screen TV with most channels and movies, limited wireless internet is available.The bunkhouse has 4 rooms and sleeps 12 people and has ceiling fans.The Licensed Restaurant is open to the public as well as catering for house guests and also has a large flat screen TV, games room including darts, pool and table tennis free of charge. The swimming pool which is 12m x 6m and in the shape of Australia is set in tropical palms beside the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Bush Bunks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bogie River Bush House Hotel Bowen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bush Bunks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.