We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 360 on the Hill

360 on the Hill
1 Margaret Reynolds Drive | Flagstaff Hill, Bowen, Queensland 4085, Australia
(07) 4786 6360
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Bowen
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a fantastic idea - pick the best view in Bowen and stick a restaurant on top of it!! Add a bit of history etc and you've got a great place to visit. Follow the signs to the Flagstaff Hill Interpretive Centre. We visited on a Sunday for lunch and we pleased to see that we were not the only people taking advantage of a perfect North Qld winter's day.

There's plenty of parking, and you can enjoy the view from many angles before actually going in to the restaurant. Choose whether to sit outside on verandahs facing either the ocean or inland or inside. Order from the counter off a reasonably priced menu - $26 for garlic and lemon calamari, a little less for the steak burger and chips. The calamari was beautiful - very nice crumbs, and perfectly cooked, just about best I've ever had. Both dishes came with freshly made crunchy chips, calamari with fresh salad that showed some care in making, and a nice tartare sauce.

The usual soft drinks were available, don't know of they are licensed - didn't see anybody drinking beer. Staff are friendly and service was relaxed, but not slow.

You can read about the history of Bowen while waiting for your meals, or go up to an observation deck for an even better view of the surroundings. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sarina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great views of the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were enjoying the sites and decided to come up here for coffee and cake , Great place to see around the town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We came for morning tea, there was only 2 other tables with customers on the morning we went and we were really happy with everything. We had no worries at all with the service, the view was fantastic and the coffee and cheesecake was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disgraceful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went today for late breakfast ,around 10.30 am. Tables filthy and uncleared. Hardly any staff on hand and did not seem much interested in what was happening. Have been in the past and no problems but now would not reccommend it to anyone. Ended up going into Bowen to Food Freaks and it was great. Bye Bye 360

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, beautiful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have eaten here many times, the staff are friendly and share a relaxed environment, have had a great talk with them about their history and the Girudala community, such a great job has been done, it has continued to improve and the meals have never failed us, the fish & chips & calamari are delicious and we always enjoy our meal on the hill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 360 on the Hill also viewed

 

Been to 360 on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 360 on the Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.