We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Bluewater Harbour Motel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Harbour Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bluewater Harbour Motel to your Saves list
Bluewater Harbour Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Powell Street, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stay at Bluewater Harbour Motel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great room for a stop over or stay for a couple of nights. The facilities were nice & clean. Close to the main drag. The customer service was great. We requested a late last minute checkout & the gentleman was happy to accommodate this.
They have a pool so great for cooling off too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Guys,
Glad that you mentioned our pool.
Our Tropical Climate extends our swimming time trough most of the year. The near Barb-e-que area will be finished by Xmas and we have lots of Christmas regulars booking in already.
Being close to town [300 meters from the post office] is a big help and Bowen has real Queensland Country Pubs that serve excellent meals. Try the Central Hotel for Coral trout or the Grand Views extensive menu.
The Yacht Club is a perfect place for lunch Saturday and Sunday.
Many Thanks,
Kim Dale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
27
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

While the welcome at reception was somewhat offhanded, (possibly because she was the only staff member on duty, with room cleaning duties to also attend to), we enjoyed our overnight stay.

The room was quiet, clean and comfortable The location of the Motel is such that it is within easy walking distance of the town centre, the front beach walkways, and a good hotel where the meals are first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
IanW, Thank you for your review. I understand your concern on reception and truly appreciate your appreciation of our magic location close to the town center, walking paths and Front Beach. No excuse for 'off handed ' reception but as the owner I alone can take the blame and I to you apologize. Your endorsement of our cleanliness and sleep quality is fantastic. We are located a long way from any traffic and the parklands next to our motel stretch to the [500 meters] Marina and does make for excellent flat walking track with plenty to see.
I also enjoyed reading your review of Horseshoe Bay 'Horseshoe Bay is Bowen ! Many travelers bypass Bowen because you have to detour off the Bruce Highway.

Make the effort next time, because it is well worth the drive, if only just to do the round trip along Horseshoe Bay Road.

Visited July 2013

Hope to see you back in Bowen soon.
Many Thanks, Kim Dale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely , friendly welcome after along drive the staff were excellent. The room was very clean loved the little finishing touches such as towels and mints on bed ! Would certainly stay here again , it makes a change to have excellent customer service .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hey Alicecoo, fantastic that our motels reception was able to inspire you to write such a lovely response to there effort. I think the ' chocys' are the best that i have had in a motel and its great that you appreciate then too. We are a team here and we all job share so that we can appreciate every aspect of presenting our motel to our guests. it will be great to have you back with us at Bluewater Harbour Motel-Bowen.
Many Thanks,
Kim Dale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked well in advance for this motel, but found ourselves billeted unnecessarily in the disabled 'suite', that doubled up as a storage area for two single beds in upright position. The water is so hard the soap struggled to lather, and was very highly chlorine perfumed! We chose not to have the very expensive breakfast, over $45 for 2. And we were having a rest before heading to a party when we were deafened (and frightened out of our sleep!)when the lawn mower was started right outside our room, but we did enjoy our reason for being in Bowen, nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank You Magnums 2009,
Your input has been greatly appreciated by Debbie and Myself.
I sincerely apologize that your were allocated a Family/Disabled room and I acknowledge that most of the other people attending the function had Business Class rooms as that is what they had requested and paid for.
Water hardness is an ongoing problem with Bowen's water supply but is beyond our control.
I note that you believe that our breakfast that you did not have is expensive.
We have several levels of breakfasts the top level being $22.90 and this includes Bacon Eggs Tomato cooked to your order ( how and when you require not reheated etc.] Toast, Plain and Raisin Cereal of your choice Juice Fresh Fruit and Choice of Teas[ brands types blends] Coffees [ Instant Kenyan Bag coffee or from our Coffee machine] and Yogurts. The cost includes fruit and biscuits to be taken away. We do this as most of our clients are working "on Site' and often do not get the chance to stop at a corner store for "Cribbs,Smoko".
The less expensive breakfast is a combination of the parts above and is $15.99 it includes all of the above less the bacon and Eggs.
Sincere apologizes about the mower but we mow twice a week in the early afternoon to keep the property looking Terrific.
I thank you for your review and your experience in reviewing.
I am now on a long leave[9 months] and I am using [ Trip Advisor Reviews]and reviewing as I travel.
I truly appreciate your help with this,
Kim Dale
Motel Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Travelling north to Cairns, this was a stopover. A good welcome, the new keycard system implemented in the motel was having some teething issues with locking the door, but Kimberly sorted that out. A garden room, meaning that there was a table and chairs outside the room door, and the garden against the road fence line. The road outside is partly concrete and in the afternoon and early evening, there was some noise early evening from vehicles going by. However, it did go quiet in the evening. Parking for the garden rooms were in the general area of the motel, so a walk down the driveway and walkway to the room with luggage etc. Upgraded/renovated room, was spacious, bathroom was good, bedding fine, and a microwave which is a useful item, ( and wish all motels had them ) not for cooking but reheating food and in general. Good location, 10/15 minute walk to the waterfront and 5 minute walk to the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank You for your review. It is such a pleasant walk to the Marina and there is always activity there to watch. Live fish are exported from the fishing companies and they both allow the public to inspect the Coral trout pens. the fish are exported by air to many destinations in Asia and Bowen Seafood Co have cooked fish including Coral Trout and Red Throat Emperor at remarkably affordable prices. Great Walk, Great food and plenty to see @ the Bowen Marina a short walk from the Motel.
Kids waterpark opposite the Marina on Front Beach.
Kim Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review from the super comfy bed, watching a movie on the big screen after a great shower and dinner at the central hotel, recommended by the motel. This place is super clean and modern. The appliances are new and everything is very well presented, including lots of nice arnotts biscuits to have with my tea! A great location in town and deserves the number one spot on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you and for everyone's sake Keep Writing reviews wherever you are travelling.
We recommend several of the eateries that are close to us but the Central is my favorite. Staff there are long ' termers' generally and often strike friendships with our customers. Makes you feel welcome when they know your name and what you like.
And hands up for Arnotts Bikkies they may cost more but they are the best.
Many Thanks Kim Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I found my one-night stay at this motel to be very pleasant. Staff were super friendly and helpful!
Rooms are very clean with all you need. Location means its super quiet and peaceful!! Thanks for a pleasant time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
188Kimbo, Owner at Bluewater Harbour Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Tahnee, Thank you for your review.
The Motel is in a super quiet area but still so close to the Town Center.
Hope to see you again and please continue to review. it is a greatly appreciated by us.
Cheers,
Kim Dale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluewater Harbour Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Harbour Motel

Address: 1 Powell Street, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluewater Harbour Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Tourism Rated FOUR STAR built new by us in 2008. Located close to Bowen's Town Centre and Front Beach our Corporate Style Motel is perfect for Business and Family Holidays. Let the Kids Cool Down at the close by Free Front Beach Water-Park that has Electric BBQues, Picnic Area, Play Ground and fantastic Skate Park for the older Kids. The Bluewater Motel has Extra Large One and Two Bedroom Motel units and we also have Two Bedroom Villas and a Three Bedroom Townhouse available. Fantastic Breakfasts Seven Days a Week. Stay close by and enjoy meals from Bowen's Restaurant/Hotels. Its just a short walk to The Central Hotel, The Larikin Hotel, The Dennison Hotel and the historically significant Grandview Hotel. Stroll to the North Coast Cruising Yacht Club for the wonderful view and Food Freaks Restaurant. All units are Ground Floor with Undercover Car Parking. Let the kids enjoy our 12 Meter Salt Water pool and cook up a family feast on one of our two covered BBQue areas. Our Motel Manager, Kimberley Rigley has a great team who will ensure that you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluewater Harbour Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Harbour Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.