We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Bowen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Bay Resort to your Saves list
Rose Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Pandanus Street | Rose Bay, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
maroubra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best place in Bowen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After driving from Cairns down, we stopped here after checking out a few places and so glad we did. Bowen is relatively small but there are vast differences in the town, this is the area you must stay in believe me,it can tend to be a bit BOGANISH..at the other end. The views that faced the beachfront are world class, and we witnessed the most amazing sunrise. Wefound it to be a little chillier than we thought up there, so make sure you are prepared.Just a wuick thank you to Samantha (please let thst be her name, I kept getting it wrong) she checked us in and was fantastic, a credit to her employer.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor facing ocean it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
31
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
GOLD COAST
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was superior quality 2nd floor apartment accommodation with panoramic sea views through palm trees across a very neat park setting. About 10 km out of Bowen central to Rose Beach but well worth the drive. We highly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent two nights, and enjoyed this resort's position immensely. Our room looked out over the beach and bay. We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony. The entrance to the walk up to Mother Beddock Rock is very close or you can walk further on to Murrays Bay and Horseshoe Bay. Everything in the unit was very clean and in good order and bed comfy. Situated in a quiet bay near Bowen. You need to bring any food with you, as there is no shops nearby. Woolworths is in Bowen open 6 days a week, and IGA open 7 days a week. As Rose Bay is approx. 6 Kim's from Bowen, you would be best to have your own transport. Definitely a peaceful location to stay.

Room Tip: If your definitely want an ocean view, just check you have one when booking. The view is really spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay, it's peaceful, picturesque, and totally relaxing.
Originally we were just looking for a place to stay for one night but we liked it so much we stayed for two and would have stayed longer if we had time.
The rooms are absolute beachfront and the views over the Coral Sea are fantastic. We were able to hire a kayak for only $15 and enjoyed a lovely paddle around the coast to Horseshoe Bay.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was fitted out beautifully, and this is a place I will definitely plan to visit again.

Room Tip: I think that any of the rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for 3 months with work. You won't find a better place in the area.. Views are amazing. Beach is literally on you door step. Rooms are fully equipped to a high standard. Car ports to keep cars cool. Rooms really clean. Staff are amazing. Peaceful place. Nice walk to horse shoe bay over the bolder. Ask staff they will show you. Little black dog trots around called Dudley

Felt like I was home.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Rose Bay resort on my return trip to Brisbane. The studio room was a good size, the bed was quite confrotable, ant the kitchenette was well stocked with applicaneces utensils etc. The view was amazing! I would recommend staying her for a 3 or 4 day stay out of stinger season, whne you could just walk acorss the lawns and down to the sandy sheltered beach. Lots of rocks etc to snorkle as well. The reception I received as a non reserved guest was very warm, and I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going to Rose Bay for several years both for business and family reasons.It has always met our expactations for a relaxing time at the beach with exceptional views and the peaceful sounds of the ocean. This is the resort you choose when you need to escape the noise and bustle of the city and want to feel like you are a million miles away but in reality only are an hour from an airport and wherever that leads you. Great resort ,friendly service.We'll be back.

Room Tip: Need a car. No shops close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bay Resort

Address: 2 Pandanus Street | Rose Bay, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rose Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.