We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges

Save Saved
You added Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Atherton, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what was expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Although I booked for 3 adults (one couple and a single), when we arrived two adults and a child were expected. maybe that accounted for the small cabin and the complete lack of privacy we experienced 9the only bathroom/toilet led off the main bedroom. Also, the cabin needed a good clean and updating and was home to cockroaches!!!
The setting was gooid, in the middle of the rain forest, but a car was required for visiting the rest of the area.
Customer service was ok, and the animals were good in the evenings, I prefer not to be talked at all the time, but it would not be to everybodys' taste.
The price was acceptable for two people, but should have been the same for three, particularly as we were in a small cabin, obviously designed for a 1 child family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I agree with the "ordinary" review. This place is too small for 3 people and damp and smelly. Good to see pademelons and sugar gliders, good commentary on the first night. the bush tracks are all muddy and unsignposted. The sugarglider camera was not working. The dirt road into the place was rough and needed grading. was dissapointed after seeing the brochures. Lake Eacham has to be driven to. really need a car here to travel to all th tourist spots around here- expect to do alot of driving. It is way overpriced to what you get. The carpet needs to be ripped up and replaced with tiles. the cabins needing airing out! There is no spa, only a small pool. Saw alot better wildlife on the Lake Barrine cruise!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

The host was friendly and helpful on arriva, later encounters were brief and seemed to be hurried. Information was limited to a pre rehearsed speach about the Pademelons which contradicts information from other wildlife experts in the area.
The room had an unfortunate aroma and mould on the kitchen utensils. It was reminiscent of a 1950's run down scout camp. The cleaning lady has an incredible ability to give ill considered commentry when the issue is actually the carpet covering a suspected rotten floor.
Facilities did not exist.No spotlights were available the grass had not been cut, so the Musky Rat Kangaroos could not be observed, the walking tracks were overgrown and dangerous, the camera for the Sugar Gliders was not working for most of the stay etc.
We saw what we wanted to see outside the run down confines of Chambers.
Go to Cedar Lodge at Mareeba for a similar price but better service and travel to Eacham where you can see all the wildlife without staying in 3rd rate accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

My husband is a birdwatcher so he booked this accommodation for 3 nights. I then looked it up on tripadviser and started to panic as some reviews not so good. The owner was away when we arrived but we were booked in and given advice and information in a very pleasant and helpful manner. Our lodge was more than adequate, very clean and functional. The balcony was superb and we had a bird feeder so were able to put out fruit for the birds (Victoria's Rifle bird and Spotted cat bird to name 2). This accommodation is good standard with everything you need provided. It is lovely to see the pademelons (excuse spelling if wrong) and sugar gliders which come to this site. We did have a couple of insect/beetles in the property which is what I would expect in the middle of the rainforest!
All in all I wouldn't hesitate to go back again or to recommend it to anyone else.
Out of interest a film crew from Japan left the day before we got there and we were told all the major film companies go there because of the wildlife on the site and in surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We weren't expecting 5 star luxury and we didn't get it.
The accommodation is very basic and as someone else said smelled musty, but this is a rainforest and keeping things dry must be difficult. However I thought for the price we paid that the accommodation could be improved; tiled floors rather than carpets, better cooking facilities and the bathroom was little more than functional. However it was clean.
The wildlife you see is amazing and you would be lucky to see it anywhere else. So if seeing the wildlife is more important than luxurious accommodation this is the place for you.
If you want 5 star luxuries go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My experience was totally different to that of the previous two reviewers and I'd advise anyone who is more interested in wildlife and a rainforest experience to ignore their comments. If you are more interested in the standard of accommodation, there are many luxury lodges and B&Bs in the area, with spa baths and themed rooms, but they are also expensive. Chambers is not new, but our cabin was very clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. A cabin in the rainforest in one of the wettest places in the world is not going to stay pristine, but I think they have maintained it well. It's well worth taking your own food and eating on the verandah, listening to the birds and looking at the forest.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The proprietor, John Chambers, is a great guy, excellent host and well established as a local supporter of wildlife, but his cabins are old, dreary, dilapidated relics from a bush-camp era that need a thorough top to bottom cleaning. We couldn't believe someone would actually have carpeting in the kitchen/cooking area - must be a nightmare to keep clean.

Wildlife viewing in the area is excellent, however John's semi-domesticated pandemelons and sugar gliders, though interesting, were our idea of WILDlife.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges

Address: Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Atherton, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.