We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and private” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary

Save Saved
You added The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Hogan Road, Tarzali, Atherton, Queensland 4885, Australia (Formerly Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Tree Houses)   |  
Hotel amenities
Fremantle Western Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“peaceful and private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The treehouses are spaced welll apart so are very private a quiet, surrounded by rainforest and views of the river. The birdfeeder on the deck ensured a constant stream of visitors (honeyeaters, parrots, cat birds, bush turkeys), plus possums at night (with baby on the back!) and pademelons wandering around on the ground as well. Visits to the river brought forth a crowd of sawback turtles, but no platypus this time. We did spot a tree kangaroo from our deck which was wonderful.

The accommodation is spacious and comfortable. Big spa bath with large windows looking out over the forest. Kitchen is well appointed (yes! they have cling wrap and foil to use!) and the BBQ on the deck works well. The washing machine and dryer are also very useful.

Thouroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to those who want a peaceful private break and love nature.

Room Tip: all chalets very private but 'echidna' is probably the most quiet of the lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed for 3 days and really had a great time at the Canopy Treehouses.

The self-contained two-story tree-house was brilliant. Lovely rustic decor but with all the modern conveniences. You are situated in a lush pocket of rainforest and have access to nature walks and the river without even having to leave the immediate area. We saw turtles and platypus in the river and there were innumerable birds all around us. Even the possums pay you a visa on the verandah.

This locations is also a great base from which to travel around the tablelands and see the sights.

There is no mobile phone service available in this part of the forest...though you are invited to sit yourself nearby to the proprietors house/office and access the wireless internet service freely. This worked really well.

Highly recommended accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

All I can say is wow, wow, wow, we visit the Canopy on a regular basis and feel right at home. The possums, birds, turtles and Cassowaries make it extra special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week, it had everything to make you totally self sufficient so you were totally on your own, but assistance was always available.
the wood fires every night the beautiful colours at dusk, the warm beds , the spa it was a great way to spend a very romantic week with my husband and to truly find ourselves again

Room Tip: book early as very popular and only a few rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Europe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was perfect. We were after a relaxing rainforest retreat and the Canopy's certainly lived up to this - our Treehouse was cosy and had everything we needed to make our stay perfect (log fire, fully equipped kitchen, large spa bath, etc). The wildlife really made our stay - hand feeding birds from the balcony, feeding the possums every night, spotting the wallabies, etc. The hosts are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. There is so much to see and do in the area - we could have stayed for weeks!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I agree with everything Daniel M has written. The rainforest environment is magnificent and obviously cared for with great enthusiasm by the owners, David and Sharon. The rainforest area is one hundred acres and is situated in the midst of agricultural land, a sobering reminder that rainforest areas are decreasing and there are fewer havens like this one for the wildlife.

The accommodation is sympathetic to its surrounds and is also extremely well kept (difficult, I should imagine, in these humid conditions). It is very clean, comfortable, has a wonderful ambience, and lacks nothing including a feeling of luxury.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We’ve been lucky enough to stay in quite a few jungle lodges, and they tend to be about 50% jungle and 50% lodge. The Canopy, by contrast, consists of a handful of beautiful treehouses, surrounded by 100 acres of privately owned, virtually untouched rainforest. This means that you get to really experience the serenity and solitude of the rainforest, without getting the sense that you’re in some sort of artificial human enclosure.

In terms of the setting, this is really something special. I have a somewhat ambivalent relationship with nature (especially the creepy-crawlies it tends to send into my house), but I quickly warmed to its many charms during our two-day stay. Feeding birds on the balcony is a multi-coloured treat (we awoke on day 2 to find over 20 birds perched on the balcony waiting for their breakfast!), and feeding/outwitting possums is as fun as it is challenging. We even had an opportunity to feed turtles by the river on one of the nature walks near our treehouse.

The accommodation itself offers everything you could ask for from a luxury hotel, which is particularly impressive given the rainforest setting. We had a beautiful chalet-style treehouse overlooking the rainforest and the river, with a fireplace, massive verandah and living room, well-equipped kitchen and a TV + DVD player (although you’ll be far too busy watching your surroundings to bother with TV…)

The Canopy is an amazing experience - both in terms of accommodation and setting - and as other reviewers have said you're guaranteed to leave feeling very chilled out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary

Address: Hogan Road, Tarzali, Atherton, Queensland 4885, Australia (Formerly Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Tree Houses)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of numerous awards and offering the ultimate in eco-responsible boutique luxury, "The Canopy" is one of Australia's most unique accommodation and wildlife experiences. Located on the banks of the Ithaca River and surrounded by pristine, private rainforest, it is home to a stunning array of rare and exotic wildlife, including the iconic Southern Cassowary and the unique Lumholtz's Tree Kangaroo. Note: formerly called Fur 'n' Feathers Rainforest Treehouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Atherton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.