We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent view of Atherton Tablelands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atherton Blue Gum B & B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atherton Blue Gum B & B to your Saves list
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Twelfth Avenue, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Atherton B&B and Inns
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Magnificent view of Atherton Tablelands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

During our trip around Cairns and region for 2 weeks in July, we stayed at Blue Gum from 8-10 July. We really liked the new house that the hosts provided us. We were told that we received an upgrade, but in comparison to our previous stay at Cape Trib Farmstay and Holiday Inn Cairns, per night, this was the most expensive, we paid about AUD140 per night. To get a nice B&B around Atherton, when we saw the B&B at the French restaurant we ate in Yunggaburra, Blue Gum has the best offer. It was our honeymoon, and fortunately we were the only couple in the house, it was good for the hosts to think about that. There were 3 other rooms and our room was facing the small pool. The house has a magnificent view overlooking Atherton, that was a plus and we had lovely breakfasts at the balcony. We also came across some wallabies and had to be careful while driving back from dinners up to the house not to knock down a wallaby. The housekeeping staff were very discreet and we barely heard them, as we were up after 10am during the 2 mornings. Breakfast was sufficiently provided with muesli, cornflakes, different types of bread (but frozen), etc. But if you prefer a hearty breakfast with eggs, bacon or ham, that's not included, and shopping can be done at Atherton downtown otherwise. Atherton downtown is very quiet in the evenings, but during the day, the town is bustling. For dinners, we were recommended to go outside Atherton town, at Yunggaburra, there were 2 lovely restaurants, 1 French, the other Italian, can't remember both names but there are not too many recommended restaurants around there. I prefer the Italian, not only price was great, it was cozier, relaxed ambience, many choices in the menu and also the choice of portions available. In all, we had a lovely stay at Atherton Blue Gum.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Our family of three quite enjoyed our stay at the Blue Gum. It is located on the first floor of a building in a residential neighborhood on a hillside about the town center, with the second floor serving as the home of the hosts John and Helen, who have a large Australian (Irish descent) Catholic family with lots of kids. We stayed during Easter holiday week, and so were awakened each morning by the kids riding their outdoor trikes, etc, on the deck above us. It was actually quite charming. The room was very basic.

Atherton is up in the Tablelands, inland from Cairnes. Going to Atherton is like going back to the early '60's in the US. When we arrived at about 8:00 pm at night, everything downtown was closed up except for the bars and two fast food places. But the next morning, the stores were open and the streets were bustling, like pre-suburban USA.

The Blue Gum hosts are very keen on the natural environment, and can offer you written suggestions for day trips and set you up on wildlife tours, for example. The area is fascinating if you are interested in the outdoors. John sat with us on their upstairs deck at breakfast and filled us in on the local history, politics, and environment; both he and Helen were gracious about answering our questions. We had great fun on the nighttime animal spotlighting tour they suggested, and traveling to the remote privately-owned canyon full of small rock wallabys that would feed from your hand (that attraction really felt like something from the 1950's here in the US).

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Reading all the previous rewies we were amazed by the negative ones. Converning that we would like subscribe to the review of JMacChicago Chicago, Illinois "...I have to say that I am questioning whether the authors of any negative reviews stayed at the same place we did...."

But see what we wrote John & Helen after being back in Germany:


Dear Helen and John,

this is Bianca and Jens who were your guests for one night at the 12 Sep 2008.

Now beeing back at home in Germany, found back to daily routine and reviewing all the picures by our own or with friends

we would like to give you a feedback and say thank you.

Feedback:
Starting planing this four week trip we put emphasis on discover and explore the nature of Australia along with getting in touch with natives.
So this trip should not be the typical pool or beach vacation you usually do when you just need a 2 weeks breake.

After all the travel wie did and now looking back we can say that our entire trip met this goal.

This was due to the fact that we planed the trip in the way we wanted it but either that we booked our round trip at AOT Inbound Tty Ltd.

But on that 8 day round trip "Discovery drive" you both providet us outstanding accomondation and service! You are differnt compared to others!

We appreciated you friendly, individual receprion.
We apprecaited your upgrade on the house up on the hill. Even though we were lucky and not everyone is getting this.
We appreciated the clean and spacious rooms and facilities.
We apprecaited the comprehensive information about the house and the surrounding nature from John.
We apprecaited introduction to the English couple already there for one week. Gave us opportunity for chat in the kitchen with cup of coffe or tea.
We appreciated the comprehensive information about a place to go for dinner (at last we joined the club at the edge of town with the buffet , it was really good !)
We appreciated not sleeping half of the night because silly teenagers blowing off letter boxes (first Bianca was terrified at that night but now it is a good storry to tell).
We appreciated your rooted to the soil personality, allways offering us access to nature, people and life.
We appreviated that you did that in one day.


Thank you:
Because of that we would like to say thank you and furthermore we inform you hereby that we strongly recommendet you at OT Inbound Tty Ltd for keeping you in the round trip.

We hope that this help you to keep your bussines going and that this will encourage you to give more travelers insight to this beautiful country.
Moreover We will tell our friends of you.

Whenever you are around Hannover or Berlin (I remember John was here long time ago) and you need assistance do not hesitate to give us a call.


Again we have to say thanks and we appreciate to have been your guests.

Yours Sincerely


Bianca & Jens, Hannover , Germany

Any doupts left ? Do not hesitate to contact us under: Jens.Herrnberger@web.de

  • Liked — Hosts are warm and welcoming family and very knowledgeable about the area. They are not afraid of taking personal effort to please their guests
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I have to say that I am questioning whether the authors of any negative reviews stayed at the same place we did. Our time at the Blue Gum B & B was a fantastic highlight during our family's trip to Australia. The rooms were clean, spacious and inviting and perfect for the seven of us (my husband and myself, my in-laws, and three small children). Our hosts were also kind enough to show us their two newest properties (the Summit and the Summit Rainforest Retreat) which were stunning. All three properties were set in simply lovely locations with beautiful views. Our kids loved swimming in the heated pools after we finished our daily exploration and had a wonderful time playing with the owners' children. Our hosts, John and Helen, were very knowledgeable about the area and sent us on some wonderful day trips. We truly enjoyed staying with such a nice "Aussie" family. In short, we were all sad to leave and hope that we can someday make it back again. I would recommend this charming accommodation to anybody-- I wish we had stayed longer!

  • Liked — wonderful hosts and location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

It was absolutely our pleasure and delight to stay at the Blue Gum B&B. The hosts are the warmest and most welcoming family, full of great advice and extensive knowledge of the Atherton tablelands.
The room was big, clean and welcoming.
we also enjoyed the heated swimming pool.
Overall, I cannot find any flaws in this accommodation and I will most certainly go back there the next time I will be in the area.

  • Liked — The Welcoming hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

I find no reason to recommend this b&b. In fact I would go so far and tell you not to go. The rooms are clean and fine, but they lack charm entirely. You just don´t want to be there. The owners are friendly, yet they did not extend that extra arm to make the stay wonderful- I suspect they are too busy to bother. The breakfast was a nightmare, there were bugs in my muesli! Surely it was unfortunate for them, but in my opinion it just shouldn´t happen! The Blue Gum is totally overpriced for the area, I found much better places to stay for much less.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — overall service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athblue, owner/manager at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review, June 24, 2008
We're disappointed with this remark. This lady was visiting an elderly woman in a nursing home. We did a courtesy pickup at 8pm after a phone call requesting directions, to save her from walking to ABG in the dark, and then a drop off back at the nursing home the next morning. Criticism is fine & appreciated if it is also balanced with the positives. We attempt to please all our guests but we realise that we cannot please everybody and mistakes or accidents can happen. 3 negative comments in 10 years of a family operation is disappointing but our web site has hundreds of poitive comments to show that there is another side to the story. Our new B&B, called The Summit B&B, will be operational in July 2008, it is a beautiful traditional Queenslander which will hopefully improve on what we have offered at ABG. ABG after 10 years of fantastic service will be gradually returned to a family home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

Helen and John were a great help to us in providing lots of information for exploring the Tablelands - a beautiful area.

Our room was adequate but a bit dark - never saw the common room that was advertised on the website.

We enjoyed the pool after hot days exploring the area.

  • Liked — Helen and John
  • Disliked — dark room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atherton Blue Gum B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Blue Gum B & B

Address: 36 Twelfth Avenue, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atherton Blue Gum B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Blue Gum B&B is a home-away-from home, a great place to base yourself. Wake to a chorus of native bird life and enjoy breakfast served on the upper deck. The views are magnificent, looking down on Atherton township which is nestled in an emerald valley. The mist enshrouded mountains, with tropical sunlight glistening on their exposed peaks in the morning, is a delight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Atherton Blue Gum B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atherton Blue Gum B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.