We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love crystals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crystal Caves

The Crystal Caves
69 Main Street, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
(07)4091 2365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Atherton
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love crystals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The huge amaythest is worth a look - it is amazing....especially if you love crystals. Many great purchases to be made in the store. Take a day trip to Atherton and explore the tablelands aliong the way.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimatTheCaves, General Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We very much appreciate your thoughts.
It seems like you realised that a great number of the items that we offer in our 'Fascinating Facets' gift shop are unique, and will not be found elsewhere in Australia. We're really proud of the quality and pricing that we offer with the many items that we source directly from our overseas partners.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    12
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Everett, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time ... or your money!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I wish I'd looked this up online prior to making the dizzying drive along the winding road that seemed to have more turns than Hana and less to see. We did like the rolling hills on the other side, but got to Atherton and were quickly disappointed. The "Crystal Caves" were a huge rip off and clearly a clever tourist trap. They're advertised (full page) on all tourist literature, yet aren't caves at all. The "caves" appear to be made of foam and are constructed in the basement of a jewelry/geode store. We were actually embarrassed after paying money to go inside. With coupon (and thankful for that), it was $50 Australian to enter what appeared to be someone's geode collection spread out in an attempt to make it look cavelike ... it wasn't! To make it even more of a ripoff, these weren't even Australian ... they were imported from other countries and some uplift crystals even appeared to be made from plastic. It seems criminal that this place be permitted to advertise itself the way it does, I was tempted to call my credit card company and ask them to refuse the charge ... and that was within 3 minutes of entering the "caves"!!! Do yourself a favor and skip this joke of an establishment. The drive to Atherton may be worth it if you review some other points of interest ... we were so frustrated, we turned around and headed right back to Cairns. In stark contrast, we'd been to Kuranda the day before and loved the train, town, river cruise and skyrail back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimatTheCaves, General Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for this review.

We regret that the reviewer clearly didn't enjoy their time here at The Crystal Caves, but of course we still appreciate them publishing their opinions here so that we can respond.

We take this opportunity to correct some of the many factual errors or clear misunderstandings in the review;

1/ We must respectfully object to the words "rip-off" directed at our business. While the reviewer is naturally entitled to their opinion, this is a defamatory and incorrect description. We have many thousands of comments in our visitors books going back over twenty eight years that will refute it.

2/ The same applies to the words "Tourist Trap" which is also both defamatory and incorrect.

3/ The Crystal Caves complex is not constructed in the "basement of a jewellery store" as the reviewer states, but in fact stretches for a full block in length and well beyond the main building above it.

4/ If the reviewer paid AU$50 for entry then there has been an error of some sort. Our adult ticket price is $22.50, so two would total just $45.00

5/ The description that the reviewer gives of the collection on display in The Caves as "appears to be someone's geode collection" is incorrect and misleading. The collection comprises over six hundred significant specimens, including some of the largest and more rare specimens of all types, crystals, minerals fossils and the largest Amethyst Geode in the world.

6/ The reviewer correctly mentions that many of the pieces in the collection have been imported, which is actually a huge positive - this collection is the result of our owners and founders traveling the world to source the very best of each specimen type that is available anywhere, most of which simply do not occur in Australia in any form.

7/ There are definitely no "plastic" crystals, or any other artificial specimens anywhere at The Crystal Caves. Every specimen is 100% natural.

8/ The word "criminal" in relation to our advertising is again defamatory and incorrect. Our business has been here for twenty eight years and we continue now to advertise and promote factually, honestly and ethically in every respect, as we always have.

9/ Referring to a long established business that continues to be adored (according to our visitors books) by thousands of visitors every year as "a joke of an establishment" is again defamatory and does an injustice to the reviewer.

We do appreciate the opportunity to correct the inaccuracies presented by this reviewer.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Amazing to see what nature can make. Crystal Caves easy to find and reasonably priced. They have made the caves very real. Hard to stop at just a few items when shopping there. Very helpful staff. There is no rushing you.Staff very good also with kids had all the time to answer any questions. Would definitly go again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimatTheCaves, General Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review.
Good to see that this reviewer appreciates the many examples of natures amazing creations on display here at The Crystal Caves. That's really what we are all about, simply showcasing the amazing things that nature presents to us.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Let's be clear: this is not a cave, it is a polystyrene basement underneath the shop. Most of the stones are imported from other countries and are not Australian - something that is not made clear before you pay $22.50 for a ticket.

The 'cave' is cheesy, poorly lit and expensive. We felt ripped off and compelled to leave this review, as the 'cave' is heavily marketed in the region.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimatTheCaves, General Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Yes, as this reviewer says, let's be clear; The Crystal Caves is not definitely a natural cave, nor is it promoted or advertised as such. In fact we go to considerable lengths to ensure that no-one can buy a ticket from us with any sort of misunderstanding about what we present.

So to once again clear up any possible confusion; The Crystal Caves is a world class crystal, mineral and fossil museum that has been built over many years to feel like a cave. Judging from what our guests write in our visitors book, we've been rather successful in that as about 95% of them DO appreciate the feel of a natural cave, AND very much appreciate seeing and touching the hundreds of beautiful and rare specimens on display there. (Specimens that by the way could never be seen in a natural cave).

The reviewers comment that many of the specimens are imported is actually a tribute to the efforts of our founders and owners, who sought the very best of each type of specimen from throughout the world, regardless of distance or cost. They would have compiled a very small and low quality collection if they had limited themselves to Australian specimens only - for instance the very best Amethyst in the world comes from Uruguay, and we just don't have Mammoth jawbones available in Australia.

The Crystal Caves complex stretches far beyond the boundaries of the shop above it, way back to the next street in fact so it's a lot more extensive than the reviewer would suggest - we wonder whether this reviewer actually saw the full complex.

One final error in the reviewers comments; there is absolutely no "Polystyrene" used anywhere in the construction of The Crystal Caves.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A cave in a shopping strip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

An extraordinary creation of love by a gem fanatic. A whole cave in a ( very large) shop, full of stunning crystals. Don a hard hat ( our five year old daughter loved that touch) and be amazed!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimatTheCaves, General Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments. It seems that you were surprised that The Crystal Caves is something other than a natural cave, which is a concern to us. We go to considerable lengths to ensure that every single person who buys a ticket to tour The Caves is well informed about exactly what they will see, including the fact that our attraction is not a natural cave. It seems that in your case we have somehow slipped up, and for that we apologise.
However we do need to correct some factual errors in your review. Firstly, the "little room" that you describe is actually seven rooms all interconnected by passageways and grottos, each displaying world class crystal, mineral and fossil specimens, many of them very rare. The fact that your perception was of a single room, and the short time that you spent in the complex indicates that you may have become disorientated in some way and left without seeing the full extent of the museum. If that's the case then please accept our apologies. Finally, there is no "polystyrene" in The Crystal caves at all. The cave environment is constructed using high grade polyurethane, which is very highly fire resistant and durable.
Thanks again for your comments which we will use to improve our visitors experiences here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crystal Caves also viewed

 
Atherton, Queensland
Atherton, Queensland
 

Been to The Crystal Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crystal Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.