We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BnB for a relaxing weekend or week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltonia Homestead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltonia Homestead
Save
You added Hilltonia Homestead to your Saves list
282 Browns Rd, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Rye B&B and Inns
melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great BnB for a relaxing weekend or week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As soon as you turn into the driveway you feel you are driving into a turn of the century Homestead. We stayed in a pool side suite which was perfect, other than the pool was not used due to the weather. Nothing was too much trouble from the owners but they allowed guests to enjoy the property without the feeling of them being there. there are also cottages hidden amongst the tea tree for another experience. The guest lounge has an open fire,couches and a bar. The peninsula hot springs are just across the the road.A Fantastic Weekend, wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Cottages and suites are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJC074, Manager at Hilltonia Homestead, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Hudson1967

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your recent stay in one of our Poolside B&B Suites. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comforts of the suite as well as the other features of the homestead. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back another time for a longer stay...

Regards

Anthony
Hilltonia Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Highly recomended, the setting ambience and experience was fantastic. the cottages are very private. my husband and i travel overseas frequently and we agreed that this was the best place we have stayed. We got this weekebnd as a wedding gift along with other holidays one to wilsons prom and one to america and again we bot agreed that out of our three honeymoons this was the the best. The staff were also very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Thank you we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJC074, Manager at Hilltonia Homestead, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Eboni B

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your recent stay with us at Hilltonia Homestead. I am thrilled you had a great time staying in one of cottages. We hope to see you back another time in the future.

Regards

Anthony
Hilltonia Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed overnight in an amazing little cottage overlooking all the greenery rye has to offer. Everything was perfect, the service was great, and we received a complimentary breakfast hamper with eggs, bacon, different types of breads and muffins, sausages, the lot! A nice quiet stay with lots of privacy, yet close to everything. We stayed in the settlers cottage. Furnishings were beautifully country orientated. We are a young couple (21 and 23) and would definately recommend for a romantic weekend away. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJC074, Manager at Hilltonia Homestead, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jacinta

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us in one of our luxury themed cottages. We are so pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay. Most people comment about how peaceful, quiet and relaxed the atmosphere is when staying in a cottage - especially enjoying the sweeping views while sitting either in front of the fireplace or outside on the private balcony. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future.

Regards

Anthony
Hilltonia Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hilltonia Homestead for a "Couples Golf " Weekend. With great Golf Courses within a short drive - The Dunes, Moonah Links, Eagle Ridge, choosing a place to stay was a challenge. We wanted a high end B&B without the high end price tag.

Anthony at Hilltonia did an amazing job at making the stay as great as it could be with welcome packages waiting at the door. Tranquil settings ,extremely quiet surroundings and a room with a view were all on our list of "must haves" . Hillonia delivers on every level.

Food hampers included : Fresh farm eggs, sausages, bacon, range of breads and juices. At any time day or night these can be replenished from the main house - fancy midnight sausages on the balcony ? Anthony will make it happen.

The balcony was huge with views overlooking the surrounding countryside and you can open up the double doors in either the lounge or bathroom ( deep spa ) for more of an indoor / outdoor living experience.

Tennis courts, swimming pool, private BBQ, cooking facilities, open fire and soft furnishings made our stay at Hilltonia an experience to rival any high end city stay. We will be staying at Hilltonia again and recommending this B&B to anyone who is considering where to stay down Pennisula way.

Room Tip: Mediterranean Room - If you want a great room with a fantasic view + Bath opens out onto the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJC074, Owner at Hilltonia Homestead, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear PJRowland

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay with us at Hilltonia Homestead. We are glad you enjoyed your time in one of our luxury themed cottages and made the most of all the features that they offer. Peace and quiet in a relaxing atmosphere is our specialty. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Anthony
Hilltonia Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Absolutely great place to stay..peaceful,clean & relaxing..somewhere u don't really have to leave for the weekend you spend there...and great hosts just top it off...very helpful..great spas in all cottages..also a very nice swimming pool..

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJC074, Owner at Hilltonia Homestead, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear TrudiK

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in one of our luxury themed cottages. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards

Anthony
Hilltonia Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night for our anniversary.
It was a beautiful setting, quiet and relaxing. It had everything we needed. It was set in close proximity to great areas. The Hot springs are on the opposite side of the road and were well worth the visit.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJC074, Manager at Hilltonia Homestead, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lemazintransit,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us in one of our luxury themed cottages. We always strive to make our guests stay relaxing and memorable. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Anthony Colles
Hilltonia Homestead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed one night recently for a relaxing weekend with a trip to the Peninsula Hot Springs, which is pretty much across the road from Hilltonia. We had the Poolside Suite 1, it was spacious and comfortable. Our friends stayed next door in Suite 2 which included a spa! We took advantage of the tennis court, which was in decent condition. Breakfast was included with our booking, and my gosh it was delicious! This has been an excellent weekend getaway, and we would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltonia Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltonia Homestead

Address: 282 Browns Rd, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Peninsula accommodation includes luxury secluded cottages and B&B suites with views over the bay, gas log fires, luxurious double spa's and close proximity to the Mornington Peninsula's world class golf courses the cottages are ideal for couples seeking a romantic getaway and groups for golfing weekends. Hilltonia Homestead is situated on rural acreage on the Mornington Peninsula at Rye just 1½ hours from Melbourne in Southern Victoria and opposite Peninsula Hot Springs ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltonia Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.