We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but no competition to compare with” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Hot Springs

Peninsula Hot Springs
Springs Lane, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
+61 3 5950 8777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Rye
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Peninsula Hot Springs is a natural hot mineral spring and spa centre located on the Mornington Peninsula 1.5 Hours drive South of Melbourne in Victoria, Australia. 50 Deg C hot mineral water flows from deep underground into many pools and private baths at this seaside oasis of relaxation, health and wellbeing. Two facilities provide a relaxation experience for everyone:The Bath House has over 20 bathing experiences on offer with areas suitable for visitors of all ages including a Hilltop pool with 360 deg views, reflexology walk, Turkish steam room, sauna, cave pool, family bathing area and many more. The bathing gully and Hilltop pool area is available to all guests until 10am after which time it becomes a 16+ years bathing zone. A Bath House cafe offers a variety of healthy meals in the morning, afternoon and early evening.Bath House open from 7:30 am till 10 pm daily (last bathing 9:45). If you are planning to visit during a peak period (weekends, school and public holidays) please make an online booking for your preferred arrival time. Bookings can be made over the phone ($5 fee) or online (free of charge. The Spa Dreaming Centre provides bathing and spa treatments in a tranquil, relaxing setting for guests 16 years and older. The Spa Dreaming Centre offers breakfast and lunch everyday and dinner Tue, Fri and Sat nights and light snacks all other evenings. Open 9 am to 9 pm daily (last bathing 8:45 pm).
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, but no competition to compare with”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Liked: treatments, private bathing, restaurant. Could do with some work in the car park to fill in some of the immense puddles.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    188
    60
    33
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place To Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our family has been to this place twice and we will definitely be back again. The Hot Springs are amazing. Beautifully appointed areas amongst lush tropical plants. Book online to get your desired time for bathing and to avoid long waiting times. It gets very busy especially during the holiday season. I advise hiring a locker and robe. The cafe/restaurant serves lovely pizza and other hot foods, coffee and snacks although it is a little pricey as you would expect in any tourist area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Crowded....but still a refreshing event!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went on a Saturday morning pretty early, and even then it was pretty crowded in some of the baths. The levels of cleanliness are pretty good, inspire of huge numbers of people trekking through and open air baths in the dunes and amongst ti trees. It is a great concept - any issues are really as a result of it being a victim of its own success. We had a coffee there and the cafe is fine - somewhat expensive and limited, but what it had on the menu was pretty good quality, so no complaints.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Once again Thank you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

It is always a pleasure for me to return here. I started going when it first opened (the now private bathing area) and have made it a Winter ritual. I am very impressed at the amount that has been done over the years and look forward to see the updates every time I come back. The only down sides I could see is that once it gets packed by the afternoon it gets progressively louder (book and go EARLY) and relaxing can be a little hard with everyone trying to shout over each other (thanks to the ladies group who thought it was ok for the whole world to hear what was going on in their lives). Secondly was the kids treating the area like it was a public pool, running around and jumping in the pools while people tried to relax.
I still think this is an AMAZING place and well worth the admission fee but it might be an idea to give your staff a little more power to tell people to shut up and allow people to relax in peace, as the majority of people are there to do just that and are very good at sticking to the rules. I can't blame the Hot Springs Management for ignorant people.
PS I know there are private baths but the prices are a little too steep for us and you don't get to hang out in them for a really long time there.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went early Saturday morning to beat the crowds, it is also a little cheaper before 9 am. We loved relaxing in the pools, although we felt a couple of the pools were a little dirty. We loved the locker key system, although when we left there were people waiting for lockers, so leave your valuables at home. I would recommend taking a water bottle with you as you need to drink as you go. Also if you don't have a robe take 2 towels.
In the cafe the coffee was bad but the muffins yummy. This was my 4th visit and I will be back again

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Hot Springs also viewed

Arthurs Seat, Mornington Peninsula
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Peninsula Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.