We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream accomodation walk to natural springs, blissfully beautiful room, easy hassle free and very good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooltan House

Mooltan House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mooltan House to your Saves list
Mooltan House
129 Main Road, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hepburn Springs B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Dream accomodation walk to natural springs, blissfully beautiful room, easy hassle free and very good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

the room we stayed in had a bathroom and was 160 for the night for the 2of us. the check in check out process was a breeze. they are flexible with check out times too. the room was absolutely stunning and clean. trees outside our room and decor was just beautiful. everything was there cutleries, microwave, fridge, big 5 star omfy bed with 10 pillows. dining table and chairs tastefully arranged. hd tv and a lil balcony! eddie the owner is friendly and easy going lovely to deal with! theres a common area upstairs of a gorgeous massive old library and pool areas, kitchen, sunroom, balcony and garden walk! they even have a trampoline! only thing is no aircon for the 1-2weeks of heat wave we get here in vic in the whole year, and ppl walking upstairs sounds like v loud creeky floorboards... but thats out the only tiny things...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night. We had a beautiful, large room with a balcony overlooking the valley. The bathroom was recently renovated, with a shower and separate bathtub. The common facilities like library, pool billard room, kitchen have obviously been left unchanged for decades - very charming! The hosts were very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmourh UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Amazing place, thirties revisited . Stacked high with curiosities. Great garden, lovely walks, an air of faded elegance and staggering views. Balconies and verandas straight from Graham Greene.
Good library and a billiard room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundoora, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Was a beautiful homey environment. Great for our annual extended family gathering. Great for people of all ages. Tennis and basketball courts as well as pool table. Excellent scenery and environment. Excellent location with walking distance to springs and the Spas (great for girls weekend). Great view from the balcony. Great for R and R. Rooms are excellent condition really inviting and warm. Bathrooms in excellent conditions and bathrooms are well kept. Friendly and inviting staff which make the weekend one to remember.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

we checked in the place with a groups of friends, when we entered the rooms, each room was smelly, stains on the bed spread, dust and crease on table and cupboard, when you enter the main building, the place was dark need to turn on lights at day time, very messy , dirty , unused cusions scatter around the veranda, the host was rude, cold , I was insulted as a femal.When we arrived , the host and his family left to attend a funeral and no one was around when our friends arrived later, we have to show our friends their rooms, later on he accused we "noisy around" and went berserk , ruslhed from upstairs to downstairs to lock all the doors, he won't changed clean sheet when another two friends arrived, DO NOT GO TO THE MOOLTAN GUEST HOUSE.WE ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED

Room Tip: go to other accommodation,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Hepburn Springs is beautiful any time of the year but on a warm spring day it gets better.The daffodils are flowering , the trees are breaking into blossom and there is no better place to observe it from, than out the great picture windows at Mooltan looking down on the extensive garden to the bush beyond. There is a beautiful large garden very well maintained.
Our apartment had everything we needed to stay in for the chilly evening or go out and explore

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We spent a lovely weekend in Hepburn at Mooltan. The privacy has great appeal to us, self-catering and suit yourself when you come and go. There are so many foodie shops and good restaurants not to mention the Daylesford market! Our bed was comfortable and we slept in until 8 am. What a luxury. Our little apartment was warm when we got back after dinner, an important feature in this town that can get so cold at night.

Walking to the bath house makes it feel like you are a real local, no need to take the car.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mooltan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooltan House

Address: 129 Main Road, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hepburn Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mooltan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooltan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.