We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic destination & great for relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Main Road, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Romantic destination & great for relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I wish I had stayed a day or two longer in this location and am puzzled by the mixed reviews I've read. I stayed in the main building and would suggest that others do the same since it is so charming. Some of the rooms on the second floor have well appointed private balconies with tables and chairs making it far more comfortable and expanding the size of the rooms, which are small. I did not mind the size of the room mostly because I was in it so little and because the bed was so comfortable.

The grounds of this resort are absolutely beautiful and the formal Italian gardens are worth strolling through. The spa makes good use of the well tended gardens and beautiful countryside, and I found the time in the spa both refreshing and relaxing. If the spa is crowded I can see how it would be disapointing but since we had the place practically to ourselves, it felt like an oasis designed to rejuvinate the soul and I left more refreshed than I would have anticipated.

The in-house restaurant was excellent - if not a bit pricey, but still worth the experience since the meal will go down as one of the best we had while in Australia. Take this for what it is worth since everyone's tastes are different, but I'm a bit of a food snob and don't make such sweeping compliments often. However, if the menu (or price) is not to your liking, there seem to be several excellent restaurants in the very quaint Daylesford downtown which is just 2-3 kms away.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    66
    37
    23
    14
See reviews for
19
158
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Arrived to find that the room we had booked and confirmed was not available, so given an upgrade. small room with dreadful lighting in the bathroom. dinner was excellent but expensive! day spa also expensive but very good. People in next room had television so loud we had to get reception to phone them and get them to turn it down. Had problems accessing movie channel, phoned reception at 9pm (supposed to stay open until 11pm), phone rang out 3 times, when finally answered receiptionist said she couldn't fix the problem and she was meant to be somewhere else as she finished at 9 not 11!! Had to go and pick up her nieces ( I didn't need to know this, very unprofessional). overall disappointing for the price. You would think with all the negative reviews they would be addressing their problems.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We had a family dinner at the restaurant and were appalled at the service - or rather, lack of service for such a highly priced meal. Staff were no where to be seen for most of the evening, and were nowhere to be seen when we left the restaurant. Extremely unprofessional. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND dinner here. Emailed to provide feedback and they took many months to respond.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

They charge more than the golden door, but the spa is nowhere near the same calibre. The treatments are meant to be based on aboriginal traditions which is just one of their many gimmicks. The masseuse talked during the treatments, the music was off-putting, and the facial was pre-prepared, not performed by a beauty therapist, and not tailored to the individual skin type.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Dont ruin your weekend by staying here, anyone who gives this place more than 2 stars doesn't get out much.
This hotel is NOT a Spa, there is a spa on the grounds which is a seperate business. We arrived on a Friday night having payed $1000 for two nights in a spa room with breakfast, one dinner and a treatment. What we got was a very average 3 star room with views on to a metal roof, dirty windows and one hour "in" the spa, no treatments AND if we wanted to use the spa outside of our 2pm allocated time, it was $120 per hour. It got worse, when we went down to book some treatments, guess what, fully booked for the weekend, we should of booked 4 weeks prior to arriving apparently, not that we were ever told that but it would not of mattered because I only booked the hotel 2 weeks previous. We could not get our of there fast enough but they would not give us our money back for the first night so we had dinner (with free bottle of wine) which was over priced and average, stayed the night in our "luxury" spa room, had brekky (which was awful) and left. We were lucky to get a night in the lakehouse which was cheaper and they treated us like Royalty, it was our first wedding anniversary after all. Cant say enough good things about the lakehouse, first class. Thank got for tripadvisor, this was the first time I didn't use it and I payed the price. We are going to complain to the advertising standards authority about this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

My wife and I found a 2 night special on wotif.com and drove up from Melbourne on the spur of the moment one late Friday night. We were greeted by many friendly staff and when we found our room we were delighted with it's cozy and inviting colour tones and ambiance, situated in a quiet part of the property which included a two person spa. We found the inclusive breakfast a delight and the location of the property was ideal being a few minutes from the spa/bath houses. We gave the retreat and the restaurant a miss (a bit overpriced), choosing to dine and spa outside the property from local knowledge. We recommend getting one of the superior rooms if you can. We would not hesitate staying again. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Only average - the pics on their web site look a lot better than the actual hotel. We would have rated this hotel at 2 to 3 stars, but our experience at their Deco Restaurant was a shocker. DO NOT DINE HERE! Our entree was $25, expensive, but we had great expectations. It was gone in a mouthful - seriously! Hopefully - we thought - the main course would be better.

My $39 steak came out, and I was speechless. I just sat and starred at what there was of the meal in stunned silence. A medallion of scotch fillet steak on a spoon of mash. Eventually, I cut the steak into 4 pieces and ate it. Gone in a minute. My wife's steak came out bleeding - almost alive - despite asking for it very well done. A couple we were dinning with had the same experience - a fish meal - gone in a single bite - no joke - a single bite. What a disgrace. Pity, because the waitress was wonderful.
We left with out anything else, went straight to the supermarket and bought biscuits and cheese returned to our average rooms for a feed! Never, ever again at this hotel. Interesting what the Deco brochures show as their meals, plates laden with food - misleading and dishonest. What a rip off. So disappointing (and expensive.)
Oh - I need to mention the wine! Cheapest bottle was $40, and was rubbish - this quality would retail for under $9 at a supmermarket.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel

Address: 124 Main Road, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Victoria's picturesque Daylesford and Macedon Ranges this grand 1930's guest house has been transformed into one of regional Victoria's finest heritage country hotels with stylish art deco reception areas leafy gardens and stunning courtyards Situated in Hepburn Springs just three minutes from Daylesford Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel offers beautiful accommodation with 40 luxurious rooms including the self-contained 1864 Villa Parma with four exquisite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat Hotel Hepburn Springs
Peppers Springs Retreat Hotel
Peppers Springs Retreat Hepburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.