We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Argus Dining Room was a standout!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Main Road, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Argus Dining Room was a standout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My hubby and I went to Peppers for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. The actual hotel building was built in the 30s and retains a gorgeous Art Deco style. We stayed in one of the garden villa cabins with an outdoor 2 person spa on the deck. The room was OK and it was magical having a spa outside under the stars. Although not as private as we would have liked. I think it would be better to stay in the hotel itself.
We shared an amazing meal at the Argus Dining room. We had a vegetarian degustation feast which was unbelievably good from start to finish. It is so wonderful to have a meal of this quality that is vegetarian, usually reserved for meat overs only! Really showcases how veggies can be the star of the show. The breakfast was also fantastic, maybe too many options to consider. We had to walk to Daylesford (about 5kms) to feel as if we worked off the calories.
Make sure you meander through the gardens near the Villa Parma. Absolutely gorgeous.
Staff were lovely and I would love to go back. Might try the Mineral Spa next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Kate B
Thank you so much for your generous review, especially regarding The Argus Dining Room. Our chefs do work very hard to entertain all palates, and are delighted to hear that you loved the vegetarian degustation. Much of the produce we use comes from not only our own farm Birch Estate but also select local suppliers, many of whom will be represented in our upcoming The Argus Producers Dinner in November. Maybe we will see you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    74
    48
    24
    16
See reviews for
21
175
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a spa treatment here a good while ago, perhaps November 2011. I still fondly remember it as one of the most romantic experiences I've ever had. Overlooking the beautiful scenery of Daylesford in one of the spas was so so serene and I don't think another spa treatment will ever surpass it! All the staff were very professional, courteous and helpful. I recommend this to any couple or group of gals who are thinking about coming to Daylesford for a getaway or a day trip! Absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Jessi A
How fabulous that your experience was so great that it is still so fresh in your mind. However we do feel that you are long overdue for a visit! Much has changed in the past two years with new treatments being developed and products introduced. We do hope that you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Overall Peppers at Hepburn Springs is fantastic. The service goes above and beyond any other place we've stayed at. The food is delicious and well presented for all meal times.

However, one thing that lets it down is the available cupboard space. There are no drawers or shelves upon which to place one's clothes. Hanging space in our room was ample but there were no hangers!

But despite this we did thoroughly enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Tweeb B
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, our staff are thrilled! They really do work very hard to give all of our guests a memorable experience.
We look welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hired this on recommendation of friends. Took the villa and hired the cellar for a big birthday including catering. The villa was great with lovely bedrooms and living spaces. The cellar and canapés were great though not cheap. all my friends said the would love to come back.
Good breakfast and next time we said we would simply hang around the resort and eat and drink there though the restaurant wine list may need a push to be more interesting.
Walking distance to spa centre etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Peter M
We are delighted that you had such a lovely birthday weekend! The Villa Parma Cellar certainly is a wonderful venue for an intimate event. We hope to see you again for many relaxing foodie weekends with your friends.  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Mineral Spring was great,the staff except one person were fantastic. They couldn't do enough for us. Michael on booking in, when our room was too small, moved us to a villa, which was fab. Michael was so accommodating and gave us a really great welcome. The restaurant staff were wonderful. The food from nature to plate and really good. The spa treatments were pricey but good. The retreat spa pool area itself was smaller than we expected and not as grand. But we had a pleasant relax in that area all the same. Our only disappointment was checking out. A chap called John was pompous, rude and had no understanding of the bill or the offers. It was a disappointment to end our long weekend on that note. But all in all this is a great place. Also location near to Daylesford is great. We went off for a wander round and shop around the quaint tourist show and got some great little items. Also had a wonderful dinner in Daylesford too

Room Tip: The two storey villas are tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was really excited about booking a room with the private spa on the balcony - Unfortunately Peppers version of privacy and my version don't match. The spa bath looked out over the road and into the property across the street. Not ideal when you just want to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Rindabel
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your accommodation and perhaps on a future stay you would like to check out our Deluxe Spa or Villa rooms, each styled with an elegant 2 person spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My cousin and I stayed in the Mineral Spa Villa 236 and left feeling extraordinarily relaxed and pampered. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, one even ran out some tomato sauce to our suite one evening as we forgot to purchase some from the supermarket to go with our pies! They even let us hang around till midday before checking out. The Mineral Spa was amazing, the soft bed option is a must if you want to try something different. I don't usually write reviews but felt that I needed to after this stay. If you need to get away and want some luxury and rest, i would highly recommend staying here. It's worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear gingerbreadbec,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Our staff really do try to go above and beyond for our guests, and all are delighted with your feedback. We agree with you about the soft pack bed at The Mineral Spa – a heavenly experience! We hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel

Address: 124 Main Road, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Victoria's picturesque Daylesford and Macedon Ranges, this grand 1930's guest house has been transformed into one of regional Victoria's finest heritage country hotels; with stylish lounges, cocktail bar, leafy gardens and stunning courtyards. Situated in Hepburn Springs, just three minutes from Daylesford, 60 minutes from Melbourne airport and 75 minutes from Melbourne CBD, Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel wraps you in comfortable elegance with 40 stylish rooms to choose from; including a self contained 1864 Villa Parma with four exquisite bedrooms, roomy self-contained villas, heritage hotel rooms and cosy garden rooms, with interiors created by designer Stuart Rattle. All rooms have an ensuite bathroom, individual climate control, tea/coffee making facilities, minibar, refrigerators, TV, DVD, iron and ironing board, hairdryer & direct dial STD/ISD telephones. After a long day of exploring, sink into the deep club chairs and sofas around a roaring fire at The Argus Bar & Lounge, one-part private club, and two-part return of old world glamour. The soul of this relaxed haven lies in tradition and warmth, with surroundings that reflect this quiet, intimate and inviting atmosphere. One of the great pleasures of staying here is the multi award-winning Mineral Spa, tucked in the grounds of the hotel. Mineral Spa is one of the largest and most acclaimed rural day spas in Australia; winners of Australasian Spa Association Best Hotel and Best Day Spa, as well as the Victorian Tourism Award winners for Health and Wellness (Hall of Fame) and the Spa Life magazine reader's choice for Best Destination Spa. Specifically designed as a sanctuary of healing and relaxation, therapists each have their own area of expertise. They are selected for their healing hands and calming spirits, ensuring that every guest experiences a beautiful and personal spa experience; with individual consultations and exclusive specialist treatments. As part of its philosophy for integrating healing through earth's natural elements, Mineral Spa has harnessed the power of mineral water, unlike any other spa in Australia. The spa's key feature of healing through water is The Retreat; a mineral water therapy zone following in the healing traditions of the famous mineral spas throughout Europe. Tucked in a private and peaceful indoor/outdoor corner of the spa, The Retreat comprises two 100% mineral water spas, a cold plunge pool, steam room, infra-red detox box and the only basalt stone sauna in the Southern Hemisphere. During the winter months, The Retreat turns into a steamy twilight haven with Night Bathing every Friday evening. Water continues as a healing theme that runs throughout the entire spa, with highlights such as the 180 power jet massaging Hydro baths and Australasia's only Soft Pack Floatation Beds. Signature treatments are by the prestigious spa specialist, Pevonia Botanica. The Spa Menu is extensive and includes specialist healing treatments such as pregnancy and oncology massages. In keeping with the sense of tranquility, Mineral Spa is architecturally designed to reflect the environment and landscape, creating an ambience of healing; suffused with natural light shimmering across white stone walls, enhanced by the soothing sound of flowing water, and breathtaking views into the countryside. Maintenance Notice: The Argus Dining Room will be closed for renovations from Monday 13th April until Thursday 30th April 2015. The Argus Bar & Lounge will be open during this time for lunch & dinner. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Mineral Springs Retreat Hotel Hepburn Springs
Peppers Springs Retreat Hotel
Peppers Springs Retreat Hepburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.