We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best of its type” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Argus Dining Room

The Argus Dining Room
124 Main Road | Hepburn Springs, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
03 5348 4199
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Argus Dining Room, owned by Chris Malden & Wayne Cross, is located within the grounds of Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel, Hepburn Springs. Led by Executive Chef David Willcocks, the menu at The Argus is based on local produce supplemented with naturally grown beef, lamb, fruits and vegetables from Chris and Waynes own farm, Vale Hill.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of the best of its type”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the best restaurants of its type we have eaten at. The little hors d'oeuvres and amuse-bouches were a lovely touch, and every course was just amazing. All recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Seriously - as a Coeliac and a vegetarian, I'm aware I am a chefs worse nightmare, yet I had THE best dining experience ever in March 2013. Service was exceptional, the wait staff knowledgable, descreet, approachable - the decor was impeccable - in short I wish I wasn't 2,000klms away as I'd dine at The Argus all the time. Bravo to the team, each and every one of you, our group (and especially me) walked away from The Argus in awe of an amazing dining experience - Thank you

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The menu camouflaged the exquisite flavours and presentation. Our knowledgeable waiter explained each dish to us. Each dish was a story in itself! Our group of 8 was well attended with friendly service. The food was fabulous, with each component delivering a taste and texture experience. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a sensational restaurant. The food was superb, the service exceptional and the wine well matched.

I strongly recommend the wagu beef, the duck and the coconut dessert.

We loved it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We actually had a 3 course meal at Argus included in our 2 night Peppers package. So it is difficult to be specific about the 'value for money', however the quality of the food and setting was fabulous so we would recommend the restaurant to those looking for a special dinner or lunch.

You could describe the style of servings as minimalist and modern. The serve sizes are on the small side, however the presentation from the kitchen is beautiful. The Scallop and beetroot sorbet entree (a special on the night) had lovely clean taste, and the red chicken was delicious and the flavours really well balanced.

The waygu beef for my main was delicious. The meat was so tender and the marinade/sauce was fabulous. The flounder was also well presented, tasty (although bordered on slightly salty).

My husband had the "coconut, chocolate, rum and raisin" dessert, which was presented as a beautiful sphere of chocolate filled with the other elements of the dessert. The waitress cracked it open at the table. I had the cheese platter, choice of 2 cheeses, which was nice, all the standard elements, lavosh, sultanas, quince jam as well as the cheeses.

The 'extras' that added to the evening included appetisers of caramalised cashews (delicious!), pickled vegetables and a egg custard served in an egg shell.

A couple of areas that could have been improved - we had to ask our waitress to top up our wine twice (we were left with empty glasses part way through our mains, the bottle being on ice at a drinks station), and she forgot to serve us bread rolls until clearing our main plates. A tad late for enjoying with the food.

Overall the setting was so lovely, and noise levels nice and low which meant we felt relaxed and as a result we had a great night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Argus Dining Room also viewed

Hepburn Springs, Victoria
Hepburn Springs, Victoria
 
Daylesford, Victoria
 

Been to The Argus Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Argus Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.