We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locarno is great... hide from the world in comfort here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangenong Cottages

Tangenong Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tangenong Cottages to your Saves list
Tangenong Cottages
9 Forest Avenue, Hepburn Springs, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Locarno is great... hide from the world in comfort here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed @ Locarno one of the 3 cottages at Tangenong between Xmas 2009 and Jan 1 2010. This cottage has a separate bedroom, a huge bathroom, smallish kitchen, great full sized fridge, an LCD TV with all the Melbourne digital channels, a very nice private setting.

We'd love to go back here again this year but have left our booking a little late. If I was on the run from the law (think back to old Humphrey Bogart movies) this would be a great place to hideout. It's clean, modern, has every convenience. There's a small bench in the front garden that's great to sit and read the paper. Hepburn Springs is about 1km by car and there's a stack of great eating places there starting with the Red Garter for breakfast.
We thoroughly enjoyed Locarno. For us self catering acccommodation runs rings around hotel. You've much more space to sit around and relax.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed in Tarilita Cottage for two nights. Clean, affordable, private accommodation. The fireplace was a big bonus. Being the last cottage in a block of three it felt nice and secluded. Booked direct with the property owners and check-in/out was a breeze. The only downside to our stay was the BBQ was dirty and we were unable to use it as no BBQ cleaning facilities were provided. We didn't feel compelled to buy cleaning product in order to clean up the last guests mess. It is for this reason only I drop a couple of points for Cleanliness, otherwise the place was spotless.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at the Tangenong Cottages in February. It was a great place to relax and we didnt see anybody else during the two nights we stayed there. The room was clean and comfortable and although there were no breakfast provisions there was a great little kitchen area with a fridge, hot plate and microwave for preparing meals. It had a great verandah where we sat and watched the sunset.
It is very close to the Spas and there a lots of walking trails nearby.
Overall a great place to relax and highly recommened.
And very reasonably priced too!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

There are three cottages to choose from. We chose "Tarilta" and weren't disappointed. The cottage is very peaceful and private (at the end of the driveway, away from the road and other cottages) and has a great deck that looks out over the bush. It's very clean and comfortable and well set out. The kitchenette is quite basic (2 hotplates, microwave & fridge - no oven) but has everything you need to prepare a simple meal etc. Breakfast/breakfast provisions are not provided. The two person spa, king size bed and wood fire were great. If you're looking for a nice mid-range cottage for two I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tangenong Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangenong Cottages

Address: 9 Forest Avenue, Hepburn Springs, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hepburn Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Tangenong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangenong Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.