We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pendower House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pendower House to your Saves list
Pendower House
10 Bridport Street, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Daylesford B&B and Inns
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent two nights at Pendower House and cant wait to return.
The hosts are very warm and welcoming and we felt very looked after.
The breakfast was generous and delicious!
The bed and room was very comfortable and we slept better than we had done for a while.
On our second evening we were able to chill out in front of the fire in the lounge room with some port, lamingtons, tea, music and books which suited us perfectly.
We felt very refreshed after staying at this lovely B&B.
The central location is very convenient.
We have stayed numerous times in Daylesford and have no hestation in recommending this place as one of our favourites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renee1234, Owner at Pendower House, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us on TA.
Sitting by the fire with a glass or red, flicking through magazines and some 'me' time to reflect and relax is exactly what mini breaks are all about. Glad that you took the time to enjoy the lounge esp with wild winter weather. Look forward to having you return to Pendower... maybe with some summer flowers!
thanks
Renee and Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have thought long and hard prior to writing this review, but as one who holds TA Reviews in high asteem, l thought it inappropiate not to review both the excellent and the poor. Those who may wish to check my TA reviews will find that they are extremely positive. I should also point out from the outset, that this was my first experience at a B&B.

My wife and l booked and paid for three nights accommodation at this B&B. It was planned to be a relaxing time, embracing serenity, sleep and totally hustle and bustle free. Sadly, this was not to be and after a neigh on sleepless first night due to paper thin walls, noisy accomodation and lights that remained on until the AM hours and were not blocked out by what turned out to be sheer curtains, (whereby you are in full view from anyone outside) we decided to leave.

My rationale for this review is not so much our personal unfortunate experience, as travellers we accept this can, and does occur. My warning to fellow TA's is that be careful when you pay in advance to venues such as this B&B. After deciding enough is enough we decided to leave. We were not going through that again. We waited for the host to arrive on the first morning (sadly they were going overseas that day, and it was unfortunate that we were not informed prior, as that was a significant selling point for the B&B) and advised her of our intention to leave and why we came to that decision. We were of course offered another room, but after maybe two hours sleep, it was time to move on. We were dissatisified, totally dissatisifed.

We accepted with reservation that we would have to pay for the first night, and upon returning we found an email to the effect that we had been reimbursed for the third night and part of the second night only. As the owners were now overseas, the replies took a month or so to occur, and we have no problem with that, as the locum replied immediately to that effect.

The owners seem to take the stance that we ''cancelled''. This was totally incorrect. We left the premises as we were totally dissatisfied. There is a difference. Sadly, l have not had a second response from the owners.

It is, and never was a matter of money, but a matter of principle. We were not provided with a service and charged for the same. Immoral, inappropiate and most likely illegal. The price we ended up paying for one nights lack of sleep, was in excess of a Club Room in the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne. Wow.

I await with anticipation the owners rebuttal.

As a final note, there is no on-site parking, thus you must leave the car in the street, and l must recommend absolutely the "Beer and Breakfast" for an excellent dining experience.

Room Tip: Never pay in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renee1234, Owner at Pendower House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you Robert for taking the time to share your experiences. Although I am very disappointed with your comments I understand your dissatisfaction and as an owner of Pendower I try to ensure that everyone has a positive and enjoyable stay here. We didn't make it this time and I sincerely apologise. I wont try and defend all your comments but listen & try to improve and alter what can be changed.

Many things we can control in the House and endeavour to ensure a high standard. We were genuinely unaware that your room let so much light in through the curtains and they were sheer to see through in the evening time. There were two curtains which we thought were suitable. Subsequently it has been rectified.

I apologise for the voices that broke your sleep, It can be extremely irritable.

Re booking in advance - I do believe that trip advisor is an excellent way to gather information about the places you are visiting and getting an overview of the towns & property is important. .
Thank you for your compliment regarding me being a big part of the B&B, we actually have a strong team of people involved as in many small businesses, front of house and behind. I will aim to let people know, who book directly with Pendower, when Irene or myself are not going to be present and our locum Kim Horton is managing the property. This generally occurs once a year.

I will check our advertising re car parking, we are street front parking.

thank you once again for your comments
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Had an absolutely great weekend away, spending two nights at the gorgeous Pendower House. It's located an easy walk from the main streets and you're greeted by a lovely and well maintained English garden. We stayed in the Queen room which has a very comfortable high queen bed, plenty of space in the room for two people with lots of luggage, an modern ensuite with shower, and is gorgeously appointed. The room has this lovely country B&B decor style that you would look for in "Gourmet Traveler", with honeycomb woodpanel walls, wrought iron light light fitting, wood tables, and a dayseat. Pendower house also has a tv room with DVD and 2 x two-seater couches, plus fireplace, and a lovely living room and dining area. One of the highlights of our stay were the gourmet breakfasts which are fantastic. Starts with crepes with coconut and vanilla, then a choice of two cooked breakfasts - my personal favourite was the poached eggs with feta, dukkah, and bacon. But the absolute best part was Irene and Renne. A lot of reviews have commented how lovely and friendly they are, and they're spot on. Really lively and chatty girls and great with recommendations for things to get up to around town. They both were absolutely lovely and I definitely look forward to coming back. Would highly recommend for couple looking for a cute romantic weekend away

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pendower House, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
What a delightful review Glenn, thank you for taking the time to write positive comments and glad that you had a fabulous weekend away. Chatty...mmm that is us for sure and i hope you managed to get a few words in. Glad you liked the breakfast...now with asparagus in season we will create something with them. thanks again for descriptions about the house, it is always helpful for others to hear about positive experiences. enjoy your week.
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at Pendower House. Owners Renee and Irene were welcoming and nothing seemed like too much trouble (we called on Saturday afternoon to find out where the iron was and if we could borrow their scissors).

The sitting room was laid out well with tea and coffee facilities and fresh biscuits. I liked that the tv was not the central point of the room.

The bed (with electric blanket) was very comfortable so much so that we slept in on Sunday and missed the 8.30am-9.30am breakfast time slot. My husband popped into the kitchen at 9.47am only to find out that breakfast was well and truly over but we could have cereal, juice and coffee. We were a little disappointed given my husband had been looking forward to the breakfast all week.

Overall, the stay was very enjoyable, Renee and Irene were welcoming and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renee1234, Owner at Pendower House, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Ahhh... zzzz ....... glad that you slept well esp after a huge event like a wedding.
Sorry that you missed Sunday breakfast.... we presumed you wanted to sleep in. Pleased that you both managed to have one yummy breakfast and enjoy it.
We enjoyed having you here with us and hearing of your future adventures. Good luck!
thank you for taking time to comment on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Renee and Irene were wonderful and did all they could to make their guests comfortable. I found the house very cold and Irene turned up the heat for me. The breakfast they served was good and they augmented their menu to suit me. Wow, I sound like a real pain in the bum!

The location is excellent and an easy walk to the main street. I'd say the place itself is 2 1/2 star but Renee and Irene are genuinely 5 star!

Best massage ever by John at Renewal Massage. Located just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renee1234, Owner at Pendower House, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond.
It is hard to adjust from sunny California to autumn in Daylesford and glad that Irene turned the heating up for you. We try to tell guests in advance to check Ballarat weather to gauge what Daylesford is like. often it is 5 degrees cooler than Melbourne. Definitely hats and gloves in winter!

Massages - totally agree John is great.
thanks,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the spa apartment, and were very happy with our choice of accomodation. The location is great, only 2 min walk from the town centre. The house was very homely, and the service was very friendly. We really liked all the little touches such as sweets in the hallway, choc's on the pillows, and port in the lounge.
The spa apartment was great as we had more privacy and a separate kitchenette area and our own courtyard, however we had a look at the other standard rooms and they were equally nice.
Breakfast was AMAZING, we loved every mouthful!
We will definitely be recommending this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renee1234, Owner at Pendower House, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you Chris for your kind comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay, noticed the little touches and of course, loved the breakfast. We enjoy cooking for such delightful guests! Thanks again, Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We recently stayed at Pendower for the long weekend. Rene and Irene really looked after us. We had a large comfortable room with an ensuite. Tea, coffee, home baked biscuits and lamingtons were available during the day. Beautiful breakfasts were provided with the eggs coming straight from the hen house out the back. Pendower is a short walk to the main street of town and approximately 20 minutes walk to the lake. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renee1234, Owner at Pendower House, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your stay, and you enjoyed your time in Daylesford & Pendower. Will think about kitchenette improvements..although hard not to eat out and enjoy the local restaurants. Maybe a griller or something like that? you have us thinking what might be useful in that space. Spa suite will also have thinking caps on with improvements. thanks again,Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pendower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendower House

Address: 10 Bridport Street, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Daylesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880's House located in the heart of Daylesford. Each room (4) offering ensuites (showers only) all towels, toiletries and robes. Queen beds or Twin share.Guest lounge room with open fire, TV/DVD, library and refreshments (teas coffee, hot chocolates). Enjoy a port or sherry after dinner drink watching the fire!Delicious 4-course breakfast served in the dining room or in Summer on the porch with the morning sunshine. Spa suite has everything to help you be pampered. Private courtyard (entertainment from the chickens) double corner spa, breakfast brought to your suite with your choice of newspaper! ideal pampering without the cleaning and cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pendower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendower House Daylesford, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.