We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely romantic weekend away for our anniversary - beautiful rooms and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Frangos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Frangos to your Saves list
Hotel Frangos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Vincent Street, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Daylesford
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely romantic weekend away for our anniversary - beautiful rooms and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in the Nest room which has an on world charm about it and great amenities like in-room spa. The ambience and interior design of this hotel is quite unique compared to more country style accommodation around Daylesford. Apart from the rooms, the highlights were definitely the very central location, car park and great breakfast at Frangos - we could eat anything from the breakfast menu and it also covered coffees which definitley adds value to the overall package.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    50
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
125
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding for 3 nights. The room was beautiful and comfy, cleaned spotlessly everyday. The food in the cafe is awesome. We cannot rate the staff highly enough for their attentiveness and kindness throughout our entire stay. Bernard you guys are fantastic! Wedding couldn't have been any better. Thanks :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Icon room. We couldn't have asked for more. The hotel is spotless and all inclusive services were all we needed. One of the best boutique hotel's I have stayed in. Breakfast was excellent, staff was excellent. Special mention to Chantelle, who couldn't do enough for us and always with a smile. These people know what the word 'hospitality' means and they implement it into their business. Will definitely book here again on our next trip to Daylesford. Thank you for a fantastic weekend Frangos xx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

we spent a Sunday night at Rouge Room (room 5). The room was nice with a big soft king bed, the bathroom was very big and clean with a lovely spa bath. However I couldn't fall asleep until 3:30AM, due to the TERRIBLE DISCO NOISE from the street...
We also had a dinner at the Jimmy's bar, the deluxe selection cost $45pp, but tasted not as good as expected...and the hotel reception is always not attended, as the staffs are always busy in the bar.
Overall, we think Frangos is a bit overpriced...and we won't choose it next time...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The room and bathroom were stunning. It was a little oasis from the hustle and bustle of town. The manager and her staff provided excellent service. Only thing was the blinds didn't completely shut out the light in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in the Alpha Room which was very spacious with the bathroom being as big as the bedroom. The room was light filled and exceeded my expectations in terms of being a 'boutique hotel in the middle of Daylesford. (this was my first visit to the hotel). I did love the monogrammed sheets and the bed was extremely comfortable. My only issue was the constant droning noise once I had retired for the evening, which I hoped would stop after the cafe closed downstairs but unfortunately continued all night which did not assist with a restful sleep. The 24 hour concierge did not respond to my call and the person that assisted with my check out could offer no explanation.

I really liked the ambiance of the hotel and the staff were very pleasant - would I stay here again - Yes - but I would pack some earplugs!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in this quirky hotel for one night. Described as a boutique hotel it truly is, with unique quirky rooms.
The receptionist was warm and friendly, and seemed to be always working. The restaurant and the care are high lovely places to eat and hang out in. The room was clean and different.
The main problem was the noise level. I stayed in the Monroe room. I felt like I was trying to sleep in the middle of a disco from the noise downstairs. It was appalling and unrelenting. It was a horrible broken nights sleep. The bed is a funny round shape and difficult to get comfy in. There is no night time receptionist so nobody could help the matter. So much for a relaxing getaway!
Other problems would include the internet, completely rubbish.

One oddness prior to my arrival was that the general manager. Bernard was snooping me on my LinkedIn page. I find that disturbing and hard to explain. I do not like it one bit.

I will not be returning and I would a advise others that unless you are going to be living it up in the bar don't bother either.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Frangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frangos

Address: 82 Vincent Street, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Daylesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Frangos 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Frangos - A hotel of luxury & artistic excellence. Encounter pure opulence upstairs at Hotel Frangos in one of the twelve individually styled rooms. A study in harmony and perfection, all rooms have been meticulously designed and decorated with romance, intimacy and luxury in mind. Discover a beautiful blend of European antiques, chic modern styling, exquisitely handcrafted artifacts and Jim Frangos' legendary 'Clothes Trees'. Submerge your senses in your own private spa surrounded by lush textures and fabrics, stunning art and luxurious furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Frangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Frangos Daylesford, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Frangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.