We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance of Yesteryear” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morvern Valley Guesthouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bundanoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morvern Valley Guesthouses
Save
You added Morvern Valley Guesthouses to your Saves list
22 Grey Gum Lane (off Gullies Road), Bundanoon, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Bundanoon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romance of Yesteryear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Morvern Valley Guesthouse has so much to offer away from the busy, noisy life in the city & Suburbs. On arrival you are immediately both suprised and comforted by the open fireplace which has already been lit and the classical music playing which can be heard from the verandah.

All your stress and troubles melt away as you sit on the verandah of the original homestead letting the sun warm you in the cool afternoon while sipping from an antique floral cup of your favourite Earl Grey Tea to the sounds of your husband chatting beside you with a smile his face at the funny orchestral sounds of bellowing Donkeys, nay ing Horses and squawking Peacocks and not to mention the contrasting quietness of country life in the Southern Highlands.

From this vantage point you can see the beautiful misty trees and a romantic landscape leading up to the landmark Morton National Park in the background. As you enter the cottage you see such interesting memorabilia at every turn and lovely old world features such as brass beds and antique furnishings tastefully decorated.

As an Artist he ambience of Bundanoon and the surrounding rural landscape inspire my paintings and the connection with the nature and animals I have experienced over the last 5 years has kept me coming back for more and bringing along different friends and family.

Morvern Valley guesthouse is truely a place to unwind and to keep coming back to "its intoxicating". I would love to live here and find it very hard to leave every time!

Room Tip: All rooms at front of house have the best sunny aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from a week in Bundanoon at Morvern Valley. Relaxed and regenerated. We chose Braedon Cottage as it is even more private - very romantic.
The log fire kept us really warm while we completed a 1000 piece jigsaw.
Loved the quaint old fashioned patchwork quilts and touches in the cottage.
Daffodils and bulbs everywhere in the paddocks.
We walked the paddocks and the creeks and explored the little town.
The bower birds nest in the country lane had us fascinated. We will be back for another stay next Winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I needed a break from the city.

I wanted to spend time with my wife and just recharging, relaxing, away from it all. Morvern Valley Guesthouse is absolutely superb. We arrived to a welcome note on the door and a log fire warming the 100 year old guesthouse. I cooked a great dinner,soft jazz, wine, a chat, roasting marshmallows in front of a roaring log fire, very romantic.

A few days later our nieces arrived and it was a delight to see the property through their young eyes. The thick rolling morning mist, white frost on the paddocks, chooks laying and clucking, giggling in gumboots collecting eggs, the horses wandering up for a carrot, the paddocks alive with birdsong. Our trip to see Glow worm Glen amazed them.

I can't recommend Morvern Valley Guesthouse highly enough. I really can't. I recommended it to my brother, his wife and their young family and they had a great time.

If you have forgotten how dark the winter night sky really is, and how brightly the Milky Way slowly spins overhead, or what whispering leafy silence sounds like at night, then leave the rat race behind and enjoy yourself, like we did, at Morvern Valley Guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorvernValley, Owner at Morvern Valley Guesthouses, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Its always an absolute pleasure to have you and your lovely wife and two shelties come to visit. Hope to have you come back soon for some more rest and relaxation at Morvern Valley.
Best Wishes always Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a wonderful long weekend at Braedon Cottage. We did a lot of walking in the National Park, checked out the market on Sunday, patted the animals, saw the new alpacas arrive, fed the chooks and collected the eggs, and had a brilliant lunch at Zen Oasis. The cottages are nicely spread out over the property to ensure your privacy is maintained. The wild birds around the property are a real treat too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just spent the most amazing 3 nights at Morvern Valley Guesthouse. What an absolutely fantastic place to stay. Our families booked all 3 cottages and had the run of the property to ourselves. 6 adults & 6 kids and we all had the most amazing time! The kids had the time of their lives and all the animals were just gorgeous. Chickens, Sheep, Alpacas, beautiful horses and gorgeous Donkeys. Lots of time was spent on the Tyre swings and the secret toadstool garden was a hit. The properties were fantastic and so beautifully decked out in old world charm from the original Kookas (so cool!) to all the little touches around the house - it made it so special. A delivery from the owners of fresh cookies was just an added bonus. It was completely kid safe and the kids loved cooking marshmallows over the log fire. We would recommend Morvern Valley to anyone who were looking for somewhere to stay with young kids that was stress free. The owners were so accomodating and helpful and even delivered extra wood during our weekend so we had enough. We will definately be back - the kids are already talking about their next stay 'at the farm' and we are looking forward to coming back again too! :)

Room Tip: Our group booked all 3 houses but we stayed in the Bradeon Cottage. The only difference to the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorvernValley, Owner at Morvern Valley Guesthouses, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time out for leaving this wonderful rating and comment.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family come to stay - please come back soon Bundanoon being a cool climate has very different appeal in the different seasons.

The warm midweeks of February always have super reductions at Morvern Valley !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have stayed in Morvern Valley Geusthouse a few times with my wife and 4-year-old son. The guesthouse and its facilities are very well located near Bundanoon and it’s just a short journey from Sydney. It is a perfect getaway for a family with young children that will enjoy the fantastic friendly atmosphere on the property and locals in Bundanoon and be enchanted by the animals that are so well-kept on the property. The cottages are warm and are great value and the kids will love collecting eggs, patting the donkeys, alpacas, sheep and other animals. This farm stay is especially appealing for parents who want to have their children experience the country in a safe and controlled environment. The properly is carefully managed by a husband and wife team who care deeply about their animals and their guests and you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here. It's no surprise that people return again and again as this site shows. For value and an assured good time that the children will treasure and tell all their friends about, this guesthouse should be on the top of your list. The southern highlands can get very chilly and I suggest warm clothing and good quality footwear to enjoy the numerous parks and walks that are close by. It is a treat to be able to relax by fire at night knowing the next day will be just as much fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the original homestead for 3 nights. It is in a great location & fantastic value for money. The old cottage reflects the history of the area & is heated by 2 large open fireplaces. Outside is a massive shed full of firewood. The host was unhappy with the quality of the wood when we were there & ordered another truckload of better wood to keep us
warmer. The hosts are keen to make sure you have a great stay but respect your privacy. There is so much to do. Our toddler loved the animals (especially collecting the eggs from the chickens) & we enjoyed wandering the quiet country lanes watching the bower birds. It's also a lovely place to relax in front of the fire with a few drinks. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorvernValley, Owner at Morvern Valley Guesthouses, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
What a lovely, lovely review! Thank you!

We would love to have you back - each season is very distinct in Bundanoon and The Southern Highlands - bringing new adventures and things to do....

Our returnees are very important to us - many people return time and time again.

If you can stay for 4 Standard midweek nights the Sunday is added on Free for you!

Alternately if you stay for 2 Standard weekend nights the Sunday is added on Free for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morvern Valley Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morvern Valley Guesthouses

Address: 22 Grey Gum Lane (off Gullies Road), Bundanoon, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bundanoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bundanoon
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morvern Valley Guesthouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.