We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant/pub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bundanoon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bundanoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bundanoon Hotel
Save
You added Bundanoon Hotel to your Saves list
Erith Street, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant/pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I wandered in here while vacationing in Bundanoon, planning on having a pint and then wandering on to someplace else for dinner. We first went to the "bar" side and it was quite rough and not terribly inviting. We thought perhaps we'd just move on, then happened to walk through to the other side of the pub, which was lovely, convivial, and utterly charming, and decided to stay for a pint or two. Getting hungry, we decided to have a go and ordered dinner at the bar. The food was fantastic, plentiful, and very reasonably priced and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. I don't know that there are many other dinner options in Bundanoon, so I think this was a good bet and a very enjoyable overall.

Room Tip: Great food and atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    8
    1
    14
See reviews for
4
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Definitely worth staying at if you have never been but only worth one visit. We only went as we had always wanted to stay there and to see Mary the ghost. Needless to say we didn't see Mary but in saying that our late night photo's had some very strange shadows on them. Pretty cool. You could make whatever you wanted out of them :).

It's clean, beds are comfortable and that is about it. Very expensive for what you get. Breakfast was probably the worst I have ever had and at $20 a bit of a joke.

Room Tip: Do not bother getting one with an on suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Having heard good reviews of the restaurant at this hotel, our group of friends travelled from Sydney on a Saturday for lunch. As it was a 60 th birthday, we booked in advance. Imagine our horror when we arrived to find that there was "snack food only" ( a fact that wasn't mentioned when we booked). The staff were extremely unhelpful and did not appear to understand our dismay. The snack menu was extremely limited and whilst the beef pie was nice, the accompaniment of handfuls of commercial chips was not. An all round terrible experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

3 of us enjoyed a very tasty meal here last Thursday night. We knew to book, as on a previous Friday night it had been booked out. Prosciutto-wrapped prawns were solid and tasty, salmon and chicken dishes generous and well presented with seasonal vegetables. Service very friendly and efficient. Good choice of drinks. Interesting desserts and very fair prices.

Room Tip: Have actually stayed here overnight a year or so ago. Room was small but comfortable, but remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great friendly place, publican remembers me from my previous visit and offers a smile a chat.

Yes, the place is a bit tired but people need to understand it's a country pub, pricing is good and breakfasts fantastic. Staff helpfull.

Could do with a new felt on the snooker table but it's great to see some city kids trying to have a go on it while soem sit in front of the open fire in oversize arm chairs.

Room Tip: room with an ensuite is the way to go, but if you can't get one it's not the end of the worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Bundanoon Hotel is like an old lady who is a little shabby but retains her style and character. We stayed as part of a group and enjoyed our weekend. Yes, the hotel has passed it's prime but our room (#8) was warm, comfortable, clean, cosy and had everything we needed. There were plenty of places where our group of 12 could sit together and talk in comfort without intruding on other guests - even though we were a little noisy at time!
We had pre-dinner drinks in the saloon bar which has a nice ambience. It was miserable on Friday night so we decided to dine at the hotle and although the restaurant was full the staff accommodated us in an extra room. We ended up eating in the restaurant on both nights - the menu was interesting and the food good, with very generous helpings and good service.
The staff were friendly and helpful and this was a fun venue for a reasonably priced group weekend. It's not 5 star but if you prefer character and history to the ubiquitous, plastic, characterless experience, give this one a try.

Room Tip: #8 is a front corner room and very comfortable, but there is some noise from the railway line opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had 2 meals at this Pub. The first was a la cart and was very nice for pub food. The 2nd evening we had 'limited pub menu' because they had an event on, and it wasn't the best - not bad, but not as good as the night before. The service was as good as you get and the staff were always very pleasant and helpful, despite being very busy. The food came quickly as well.
We did enjoy the Irish Celtic Band on the Saturday night. It was good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bundanoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundanoon Hotel

Address: Erith Street, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bundanoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bundanoon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.