We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront Inn at Shelter Cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
26 Seal Court, Shelter Cove, CA 95589   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Shelter Cove B&B and Inns
Lafayette, California
1 review
“Oceanfront Inn at Shelter Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This Inn is a perfect place to spend time while visiting the area. The ocean views, and sounds, with an adjacent black sand beach - worthy of taking a stroll - are absolutely why you want to stay here. Our family of four (including two boys) were comfortable and warm during the night. Open the slider and you can hear the roar of the ocean. Close that slider and it is truly quiet. So you have all the options at your fingertips. The other inn, next door, is not as perfectly situated; so, you do yourself justice by staying here. A definite repeat is planned, but this time without the boys.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but did not come to the area to swim. We came to enjoy an excursion of the Avenue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    21
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our third floor suite was nicely furnished, very clean and up to date. The ocean view is beautiful beyond description. The service was terrific. We really appreciated the lift from the airport, although it's just a brief (5 minute) walk.

Be prepared to forage for food in Shelter Cove. It's a tiny community and doesn't have enough business to support restaurants consistently. There are two markets, one pizza place, one sometimes restaurant, and one rowdy (so we were told) bar.

Room Tip: The third floor has vaulted ceilings and the most expansive view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were really chuffed to find out about this hotel by chance on our California Coast road trip. Breathtaking drive to get there (not just the scenery... Those roads are very winding) but it was well worth it. Lovely friendly greet by the guy looking after the inn. When we got into the room it was not only the uninterrupted view of miles of Pacific Ocean that impressed us, but also the amount of natural light and air and spaciousness of the room. The beds are comfy and they also had cable TV (I think). Sunset from the beach just down the steps was beautiful. The down side was there was no breakfast; there was an adjacent restaurant though, not sure if they were open for breakfast. The inn has outside access to the rooms. I only wish we had planned more time in our trip to enjoy the serenity of the location more.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was right on the coast of California. The room was nice and the manager was very accommodating. The only draw back was the drive to get to Shelter Cove, over a half an hour from the 101. The restaurant next to the hotel had great food. My wife had the Halibut and it was delicious, and I am not a fish eater at all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ittre, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed just one night. The room was large, clean, well-equipped, quiet and had a breathtaking view. No breakfast offered and the restaurant (Cove) is only open Thursday - Sunday (clearly stated on the inn's web page but I missed it). Phil, the host, was genial. Not much to do in Shelter Cove but, just maybe, that's a good thing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

When my husband and I took a trip through the redwoods, we were excited to make the trip up to Shelter Cove. The town is incredibly small, so make sure to do you research on what is actually open on the day you visit. The check in was quick, the lady was extremely bubbly and helpful. We went up into our room which was on the second floor, and had an incredible view. The room was spacious, and comfortable but nothing too fancy. The beach front access was awesome, yet the staircase was a little sketchy. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very awesome view from the rooms. The room was nice and clean, nothing fancy but comfortable.
The man who checked us in wasn't overly friendly or helpful, just barely nice!
We got checked right in and enjoyed a nice ocean front view and breeze.
Beautiful tide pools on the beach below.the beach was private and so beautiful.
The restaurant had amazing fresh fish, as in just caught that day! Casual dining, long wait for food, but well worth it. We were there on a busy night too.
The road in is a little tough, but over all a breath taking Cove!
The room was priced very fair as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a jacuzzi tub, I highly recommend calling ahead for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn

Address: 26 Seal Court, Shelter Cove, CA 95589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn is located on the northern California Lost Coast, Shelter Cove California. Relax and recharge in our newly renovated oceanfront lodging rooms and suites. Captain's Quarters offer Jacuzzi tubs with views of the surf. Oceanfront Inn location has steps down to the beach -- tide pools, fishing, boating, surfing and hiking. The Cove Restaurant on premises is open for dinner Thursday through Sunday. New flat screen TVs and free wi-fi keep you connected to civilization if you want to be. Or get away from it all and immerse yourself in the unparalleled natural beauty of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.