We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Third World Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa del Rey to your Saves list
Hotel Villa del Rey
Rd 361 Cain Alto Ward, Km 0.8, San German 00667, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 San German B&B and Inns
Camden, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Typical Third World Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Villa del Rey is a typical third world hotel down a country road. They are doing the best they can on a very limited budget. In another 10 or 20 years this will be a nice place to stay. They rooms are very basic in that they have beds, a toilet, a shower, a small black and white television with 5 channels and doors and windows. Don't expect fancy soaps, sheets and towels.
The best thing about the hotel is that they have a nice pool to enjoy all by yourself since there are almost no guests at the hotel.

Room Tip: Visit during the day to see your room in the daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

During our trip to PR, we decided to stay in San German to see the historic downtown and take a day trip to the Cabo Rojo salt flats. Villa Del Rey was the only hotel that we could find any recommendation for. This place was on par with hotels I saw in rural Estonia 15 years ago. Do not stay here.

We were very disappointed to find it on the other side of the freeway from the town. At check-in we requested a quiet room and were shown two rooms at the back of the hotel. The louvred windows in neither room worked properly. The mattresses had plastic covers on them. Water leaked from our bathroom light fixture. The only viable channel on the television was the NASA channel. In the morning we were left to set up the continental breakfast ourselves. The staff to be busy doing something other than running a hotel, because we rarely saw them and the front desk was often unstaffed. When we asked for a printed map of the town, they did not have one.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San German hotels

nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Pretty location, quiet, off a back road. Owner cares a lot about it and seems to be working on improvements. Problems - toilets did not work, sheets and towels were so thin they had holes, mattresses were covered in heavy plastic just under the sheets which made the beds noisy and sweaty and the "breakfast" was cold cereal or white bread. It is a very charming place but for the price we were charged, over $120, we felt that it was very overpriced for what we got. We paid only slightly more than that for the plush Hilton in Ponce. I think this place is improving, and it was very charming but some improvements must be made in the amenities to make it truly comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Can I give it less then a 1?

No phone, no TV, in the middle of the jungle miles from anything.
Nothing to recommend this place. Stay away, far far away

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN JUAN, PUERTO RICO
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

My wife and I spent 2 nights in such "hotel" and it was a nightmare. You can call it a RAT HOLE, if you know what I mean. There is no one to receive you when you get there after 7 pm. When you are ready to leave, there is no one either. You'll have to call from the "lobby" and when someone finally answer, will tell you to drop the key behind the counter and leave. There is no place near to eat something. You must know your way around to get something to eat or drink. If you are looking to plug something, you won't find a place to do so. There is nothing to say about the cleanness or the bathroom because it is very, very small and uncorftable. If you love your family.... DON'T GO THERE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Rey

Address: Rd 361 Cain Alto Ward, Km 0.8, San German 00667, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San German
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San German
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Country Inn, at historic town San German, near beaches, museums, malls, golf clubs, facilities for business, families, groups. Come join us only in the west part of our island, here in San German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Villa del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.