We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really tried to like this place...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parador Oasis

Save Saved
You added Parador Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador Oasis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Calle Luna | P.O. Box 144, San German 00683, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in San German
Spokane, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We really tried to like this place...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The recent reviews with top ratings must have come from people who stayed at a different hotel... First, the good things - the location is wonderful, right in the old town area and a block from one of the town squares. The entrance is charming, in an old-fashioned way. The pool in the central courtyard is tiled, and pretty, however, the ceramic owl sitting on the edge did little to keep the pigeons away from the pool - I should have taken a picture of the row of pigeons sitting next to the owl, but you get the idea. I didn't mind the eclectic artwork, or the lack of elevator. I expected old fashioned, and even funky. What we got was disheveled, dirty, and a building in need of major repair, upgrade, and renovation. The carpet in the hall and our room was worn, torn, dirty, and loose. Towels my husband called 12-thread count, a toilet he named Tommy the Talking Toilet due to the noise it made when flushed that went on for about 90 seconds. An extension cord extended down from the suspended ceiling to plug in a light fixture. A towel bar made of PVC pipe with the printing on it. Bug powder lying in the corners of the room - which at least meant no bugs. Plastic covered, uncomfortable mattress. And the noise - not really a fault of the condition of hotel itself, but a result of old fashioned panel-crank-type windows and thin walls - loud cars with louder stereos driving by until well after midnight on Friday night, garbage trucks starting about 6 a.m., many roosters crowing all night as roosters do, inharmonic church bells starting about 6:30. We were told there was a continental breakfast but when we came downstairs about 8 a.m., there was nothing to be seen, and the front desk clerk was on the phone. We really did want to like this place. There's a new resident manager who introduced herself and really wants to make it better - but sadly, I think without a significant infusion of cash there isn't a lot anyone can do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    7
    3
    35
See reviews for
22
9
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san juan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

great place to stay , clean rooms, nice pool rooms, within minutes away of all beaches and historic sites in sw puerto rico; I stayed with family and friends and is a historic property with all modern facilities ,porta coeli church museum.The oldest in the world;we also visited various beaches such as boqueron, guanica, and la parquera and the phosphorecent bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent hotel. Being in this hotel and is still a great place to stay. Strongly recommend this hotel. The personnel is very friendly and it has very good surroundings. Many historical places to visit. Also close to the best beaches of the area.

Room Tip: Preferably stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I'm a Puerto Rico local but I was doing a bit of business in San Germán, so I took a shot in the dark and decided to stay at this hotel without knowing much about it, other than its location. It's very clean, with helpful staff, ample parking space and a bit of everything. Bear in mind, San German is the third oldest city in the United States and so are most of its buildings, so yes, they look antique but they're modern on the inside. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San German, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

historic hotel with modern facilities ,clean rooms,and nice pool,located nearby all major beaches and historic sites in sw p,r has free wifi,basic cable and free parking.nice courteous staff and gonzales the manager was great and very helpfull

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I really had a good experience. The food was great. We danced all night al the Hotel's Club, then we hit the pool at 2 o'clock in the morning since the pool was open 24 hours a day. The staff is very polite. They have done a great job in renovating the whole place. I was here four years ago and there is a huge difference. If you are ever in town, stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had my reservations when I was first recommended to stay here based on past previews, but I have to say it was the best decision ever!
For starters the service was first class all the way! They sincerely appreciated our business and treated us as such. They make you feel as if your more than a guest, your family when your there. The food was superb! Much better than I expected, and I'm a very finiky eater! The area surrounding it is rich and beautiful in history and culture! I would highly recommend this gem! It is not as well known hence less expensive and easier to book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Oasis

Address: 72 Calle Luna | P.O. Box 144, San German 00683, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San German
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in San German
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador Oasis 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Parador Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Oasis San German

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.