We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant outside San Juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateaux De Auxerre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chateaux De Auxerre
16 ESTRELLA STREET, San German 00683, Puerto Rico
787 892 8844
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 restaurants in San German
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best restaurant outside San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

It is a french rest with a french chef. The food is excellent and the menu changes according to what is fresh. If you can go dont pass the chance

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    12
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“eat ouysideif you can but inside is aldo nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

the food is a cross between boriquen and french . interesting and good. warm atmosphere . i llike it very much

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo Rojo
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A gem that needs to be polished”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

It was our first time and after reading the reviews decided to give it a try. Decor and ambiance is excelent for a relaxed, fine and elegant meal. We were greeted by very attentive and agreeable staff ready to please our requests. Sometimes first impressions its all that counts; I asked for a martini and to my surprise they had no olives. Ok with that, but this should not happen in a restaurant like this. They are friendly with BYO wine but unfortunately the wine glasses were not what I expect from a fine restaurant. The appetizers were very good. On the menu we were focused on the mignon filet; to our surprise it was not available ( on a Friday night!!!!). Instead they suggested a braised cut of beef. Although not bad it was a little on the dry side. I would recommend the management to take serious attention to these details. Hey guys you have what it takes...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

One of the finest meals that I've ever eaten in and that includes ones in the NE US. Steak tender, sauce superb, apps wonderful - fish fantastic, prices reasonable and variety excellent. Courtyard seating before hand enchanting envirnoment. I would recommend going during daylight hours to enjoy the courtyard and the surrounding town.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, CA USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“totally exquisite culinary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We read about this restaurant in the town of San German in a guide book and were staying Ponce in the south of Puerto Rico.
The restaurant itself is easy to find - right on the way into the town. It was Sunday so that they were offering a Brunch. We found it to be perhaps the finest culinary experience of our visit to Puerto Rico, a great surprise and utterly charming. The chef takes great pride in all the ingredients that he creates himself. the service was immaculate - all contributing to a great treat! Don't miss it.

Donna Lerew

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateaux De Auxerre also viewed

San German, Puerto Rico
San German, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Chateaux De Auxerre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateaux De Auxerre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.