We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The calzones and pizzas are to die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palermos Restaurante & Pizzeria

Palermos Restaurante & Pizzeria
PR #2, San German, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Restaurants in San German
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The calzones and pizzas are to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We recently fell in love with this out of the way restaurant. We say it's out of the way because it's easy to pass up after dark. It's after Kilometer 168 in the Marginal road that goes off Route #2. The red sauce they use has a great flavor. It's a little sweet and delicious. It is easily the best sauce I've had outside of Ledo's Pizza in Maryland. Their calzones are HUGE. The chicken is flavored with Rosemary and is definitely the best chicken I've had on or in a calzone hands down. My wife, mother and one of my aunts love this place as well. The owner is a sweet lady who sometimes helps out by cooking and even bringing the food to the table.

The other night we were sitting close to the bar and we saw what looked like a bottle of Coquito (Puerto Rican eggnog) sitting on the bar. We asked the waitress if we could have some. She told us that the owner had made it for personal consumption to take home, but she would ask her to see if we could have some. Needless to say the owner let us try it and it was excellent. The best part was that she didn't charge us for it. We suggested to the owner that her Coquito was so good that she should sell it

Their appetizers are also quite tasty. The best appetizer are the fish nuggets (bolitas de pescado). You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanbana Grande, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“" It was very good but"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Yes the place is not what it was in the pass. It is clean, the service is excellent but the quality of the food is not what it was. The place was one of my favorites for many years but no any longer. They need to do some changes especially with the pizza, the main dish of the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“This has been my favorite restaurant for years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Few administration has pass by but food, attention, cleaning, services stay the same. Medium size restaurant with killer pizza and Italian food. Pechuga rellena de bacon, ham and cheese is my favorite with Parmesans cream.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but could be better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The lasagna is just amazing! Best lasagna I've ever eaten! My only concern is the service. It NEEDS to be better as soon as possible! The waitress thought we we're part of her family or something and called us "Mi Amol" & "Mamá". Everything was great except the service. I hope it gets better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Good food: Dirty restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have been to Palermo’s before so I know the food is good, but I do not go often because the restaurant is filthy. When they remodeled last year, they put in all new tile in the Men’s room and reinstalled the old toilet. On very visit, the toilet is so dirty it looks like it has not been cleaned for months. In addition, there were no paper towels in the Men or Women’s bathrooms. Almost every table was dirty when I went there this week, even though there were no people dining there. Also, there was food under most tables, and dirt in every corner of the restaurant. I enjoyed the food, and it is superior to many restaurants in the area, but I did not go there regularly because it is generally unclean.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palermos Restaurante & Pizzeria also viewed

San German, Puerto Rico
San German, Puerto Rico
 
San German, Puerto Rico
San German, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Palermos Restaurante & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palermos Restaurante & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.