We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for lunch on the way to the Rocky Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miner's Cafe

Miner's Cafe
Main Street | Box 110, Nordegg, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Nordegg
Cuisines: American
Description: Great homemade soups, salads and sandwiches. Maybe the best pie in Alberta!
Restaurant details
Description: Great homemade soups, salads and sandwiches. Maybe the best pie in Alberta!
St. Albert
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch on the way to the Rocky Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had a great "home made" while in Nordegg. The sandwiches where nice and fresh and the soups where thick and hearty. Luckily we had room for desert so we could enjoy some banana creme pie! It was all very delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, AB
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“home-made goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stopped on our way from Red Deer to the Columbia Icefileds, timing it perfectly to arrive around lunchtime. Our party of 7 ordered a variety of items from the menu. All were delicious. The sandwiches are generous, the soup is home-made (and there are different sizes to choose from, depending on how hungry you are), the croissants are made on-site daily. Make sure to save room for pie - it's home-made and there are about a dozen varieties to choose from.

While we were eating there, several locals stopped by to pick up to-go lunches and coffee, testifying to the great food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Rip-off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The management of the Miner's Cafe must know it's going to attract only passing tourists who won't be coming back.

While the food quality was okay, the prices were much higher than they should have been and the service was poor.

We seated ourselves upon arrival, and somehow wound up waiting a good ten minutes until the lone waitress managed to get around to serving us. Her inexperience showed as she waited on another table of guests who had arrived later, then got around to us.

After another longer wait, our food finally arrived. Canned pop served with no glass. The soup was thick and filling, but my roast beef sandwich was pathetic. Two VERY thin slivers of packaged roast beef, an equally thin piece of Swiss cheese, a piece of lettuce and a piece of tomato, on regular brown bread. If I'd paid more than dollar or two for the same thing in a large city I would have been annoyed, but at $6.95, I was mad at myself for not refusing to accept it.

My companion ordered a piece of raisin pie, and whole it was homemade and tasty, the portion was just average. Final tally for a sandwich, a bowl of soup, piece of pie and two cans of pop? Almost $24 - way too much for what we received,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

small town cafe with homemade soup that was the best ever, would go out of the way to have lunch there again, all the food is homemade and there is a large selection considering the size of the cafe. must leave room for a cinnamon bun or piece of pie.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
“Great Cafe in a Historic Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a seasonal restaurant, May through September, with delicious soups, sandwiches, omelettes, etc. Great atmosphere, and the pies and other desserts are terrific!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miner's Cafe also viewed

Been to Miner's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miner's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.