We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get some AC you cheapskates” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn East Grinstead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn East Grinstead to your Saves list
Premier Inn East Grinstead
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road | Felbridge, East Grinstead RH19 2QR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burry Port
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get some AC you cheapskates”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is on a busy main road. On the hottest night of the year we had no AC and the traffic noise was intolerable. Don't use this hotel if the weather is hot!
They do offer a money back guarantee and we have used it due to the lack of AC and dreadful night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am sorry to hear you have experienced problems during your stay, unfortunately during this heat wave it makes it difficult to keep the rooms cool, even with a fan in the room and the curtains drawn during the day and the windows open. I am sorry to hear that you had to use our Good Night Guarantee however I am happy that you were satisfied with this solution and there were no problems when carrying this out, and that the problem was dealt with straight away.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    76
    27
    12
    1
See reviews for
67
63
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The adjacent eaterie, The Star, is a standard Chef & Brewer Pub with a limited menu with no local produce. And this ,in July, when The Garden Of England (Kent, adjacent county) was awash with fresh produce. However the Premier Inn lived up to it's promise of a good nights sleep despite our stay being on a very hot night and with occasional aircraft noise of take offs from Gatwick Airport. The "odd-numbered" rooms away from the A22 road are probably the quitest. The provided fan was a blessing on a hot night although Air Con would have been better.

Room Tip: Choose first floor, odd numbers, for the quiettter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am glad that you had a Good Nights Sleep with us and didn’t find the hot weather to be an issue and that the fan was an extra help to keep cool.

With us being located very close to Gatwick airport, some plane noise is to be expected but I am glad that you found your room to be quiet and this did not disturb you during your stay with us.

If you are ever in the area again please feel free to call us on 01342 326089 and a Team member will be more than happy to make a booking for you.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spent one night booked 2 rooms, they were fine,what I expected of a premier inn .I booked quite a while ago and the rate was only £50 a room the bed was not as springy as Lenny Henry suggests my husband almost broke his back when emulating Mr Henry! .The staff were helpful and welcoming. The breakfast at the Star Inn was also O.K. for the price the staff there were also efficient and friendly.
A good value stopover, the fan in the room was a real bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am pleased that we met your expectations of Premier Inn. The Team here work extremely hard to meet all Guests expectations and I am glad this hasn’t gone unnoticed. This will be very rewarding for the Team to hear, as it is always such a good motivation receiving feedback.

I am concerned to hear that you didn’t find the mattress as comfy as expected. I can assure you that a top manufacturer called Hypnos supplies the mattresses. Hypnos is the UK’s top leading mattress manufacturer. However I am pleased that you found your stay to be of good value and that the fan helped during this spell of hot weather.

If you are ever in the area again we would be delighted if you were to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The reception staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was reasonable size and clean. Water pressure in the shower is quite low. Room was quiet and, given that it is on a main road, not too noisy with the windows open. Receptionist was happy to book taxi. Comfy bed and choice of pillows. Disappointed I've still not managed to claim under their "good night guarantee".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am pleased to hear you found your stay with us to be a good one, with a clean room and comfy bed and no noise distribution from the main road, even with the windows open. However I am slightly concerned about your experience with the shower pressure and this will be looked into. I am happy that you found the Reception Team to be helpful and friendly and followed through your request to book a taxi.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Due to its close location to Gatwick airport we stayed here to save an early start whilst flying away.

It was slightly older than a lot of the premier inns but is ok and does not need any extensive work.

The room was fully fitted (like all premier inns) and the bathroom was clean.

Their was a pub next door separate from the premier inn where breakfast etc was served. You could get good cheap food there (see other reviews)

All in all an ok hotel at a budget price.

We used Cophall farm for parking and it was only 5 minutes up the road.

Rooms for this stay were £65.00 each and were pre booked in advance to get that rate.

Room Tip: Cophall Farm Gatwick parking is very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am glad to hear that we were in a convenient location for your stay, with only being 8 miles away from Gatwick and a 5 minute drive from Cophall farm parking.

If you are ever going to Gatwick airport again and wish for a more quieter location to stay please feel free to call us on 01342 326089 and a Team Member will be more than happy to make a booking for you.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As with all premier inns we have stayed in this was clean and the staff friendly; although the disabled room was smaller than some, and it was a bath not a wet room, and the shower over the bath was not very efficient. Our room was situated at the front and so because of its location there was a lot of traffic noise. We ate in the Sun Inn on both nights, the food was good but the service was very poor, as was the service at breakfast on both mornings. We would think twice about using this Premier Inn again, the one we usually use at Tonbridge North is much better, unfortunately it was fully booked this time.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

Your review was interesting to read and I am concerned that you experienced bad service at The Star Inn, furthermore your comments will be passed onto the pub. I am also concerned about the shower in the bath not being efficient and this will be looked into.

I am happy to hear that you found the Team to be friendly. It is a nice reward for Team members to hear motivating feedback. The Housekeepers work tirelessly to ensure each room is up to a very high standard and they are pleased this level of cleanliness hasn’t gone unnoticed.

All of our rooms here at East Grinstead are the same size however I am sad to hear that you felt the room was smaller than others. If you are in the area again and would like to stay with us then request a room at the back of the hotel, which is quieter than the front rooms, which are facing the road.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

stayed here for only one night but it was very clean staff very lovely very helpful a credit to the premier inn company , bed was good althought a bit to soft for my partner but it was good for me . The sun pub which is where you have breakfast or food later in the day was good breakfast was good well cooked only gripe would be for them to get a new toaster as the one they have for everyone to use was burning it or not toasting it at all . but if you need a good stop then this hotel is ideal we will be staying again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post a review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

Your kind words are a great tribute to the Team. I am glad to hear that you found the mattress to be comfortable. Our mattresses are supplied by the UK’s top manufacturing company called Hypnos, which all helps with a good nights sleep.

I am glad you had a great start to the day with your breakfasts however I am sorry to hear your complaint about the toaster. Your feedback about The Star Inn shall be passed on to the Team.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn East Grinstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn East Grinstead

Address: London Road | Felbridge, East Grinstead RH19 2QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn East Grinstead 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn East Grinstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel East Grinstead
Premier Inn East Grinstead West Sussex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn East Grinstead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.