We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the previous year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cranston House

Save Saved
You added Cranston House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranston House
Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
North Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Even better than the previous year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My September 2011 review Goes into detail on the reasons we keep returning to this outstanding gem. When we returned in 2012 the access to and size of the off-street parking had been slightly improved making it even better than before. I am already booking this our 2013 visit. Benefits of staying here are convenient access to Gatwick airport and the channel ports, if you want to avoid a long journey at the start of an overseas holiday, But the things we prize the most are its tranquil setting close to the town centre and the superb service from the hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello SeldomReview. Thank you for your very supportive review. We are pleased that you choose to make repeated visits to Cranston House. We are constantly striving to upgrade the accommodation and hope that you will notice further improvements on your return. We particularly selected Cranston House for our business as it is in a quiet residential area and yet within walking distance of the town centre. We are glad that you enjoy this aspect. Brian & Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
16
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Difficult to imagine that in a busy 'south of London' dormitory town it would be possible to find peace and tranquility, but drive into the off-road car park, and suddenly the local road and life chaos simply disappears. We were visiting relatives and spent three nights a week ago. the husband-and-wife team were always available, yet discreet. The rooms were clean and well-presented, and the (optional) breakfasts, buffet, or full-English were excellent. The amount of local information available is amazing and re-assuring for someone coming to the area for the first time. All in all we would certainly happily use it again.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet with the position of Cranston, but the views over the back garden extend to the No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your very pleasing review. You are quite right Cranston House is in a peaceful part of the town even although it is near the centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the North Down views and our breakfasts.

Aileen and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Brian and Aileen's English hospitality has made me and my boyfriend want to stay in England indefinitely! We stayed at the Cranston House for 10 days in mid September 2012 and enjoyed every moment of it. It was the 3rd time for him staying there and he has quite a high regard of the place. It was my first time to visit England so I did not know what to expect, yet the moment I walk in the door it felt like home.

Three main things I loved the most while staying there: Friendly owners, great English breakfast(which is now one of my fave); and felt so pampered everyday coming home to a nicely cleaned room including beds made after a long day of exploring London and the English countryside. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room suite #1 has big windows that filters sunlight in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Many thanks for your review of your stay at Cranston House. Aileen and I are pleased that you found it an enjoyable base for exploration in London and the English countryside. We look forward to your return to the UK when you will be able to enjoy more English breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

only stayed one night with 2 friends for a friends wedding, the room was very spacious and bright and clean.
The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room for 3 girls to get ready.
reccomend this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are glad that you found our large triple room spaceous and comfortable. We hope you have need to visit East Grinstead again when you will be welcome to come and stay at Cranston House for a second time! Aileen and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This guest house was recommended to me by the owner of place I had stopped at previously but she was booked up so she suggested the Cranston Guest House. Lovely place, very clean and great rooms. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to receiving you again at Cranston House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for Valentine's day. We had room 7 and judging by the pictures, I wouldn't have wanted any other room! The room was cosy and you get a little mint chocolate on your towels. DVD's are available to watch for free, which I thought was a great little perk. They also included local fast food leaflets in the welcome pack for us to look at! Also being Valentine's day we figured we'd have a lot of noise to put up with, but there wasn't. There was a couple chatting in the room next to us, but not loud enough for it to get irritating. I liked the lighting in the room, which is always important yet a touch often forgotten when it comes to B&B's. The bedside lamps were just right, making the room warm and comfortable on a cold feb night. I just found the bottled water expensive (50p per, when it's the pack of 12 from aldi that costs £1 something) So i'll remember my own bottle next time. Also, you have to turn the fridge off as it's noisy.

Can't judge the breakfast.

It was a really cosy room and would like to go back. (We tried to but he booked the wrong date ¬¬)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay on St Valentine's day. Sorry we could not accommodate you on your second attempt to stay with us. Hope to be able to help you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A freakishly sunny May weekend saw us descend on Cranston House for a family get together. I have noticed that Cranston Hse is heavily cited by Trip Advisor which prompted me to generate a review myself – and why not! First, I would like to stress this is not our first time at the house (and probably wont be the last). This trip we stayed in Room 3 (we have stayed in this room before – a year or so ago) and the room has not changed one iota. This is fine – why change a good thing. However, one of the nightmarish things to happen with our stay in room 3 was the fact that due to the fact that there are no blackout blinds in the window we found ourselves in a situation where we were awake at 4 AM when the sun rose. A seriously painful situation and as we were staying for two nights a situation that simpley exacerbated itself. One of the glorious points about Cranston house is the fact that there is free Wi-Fi. Indeed, there are actually two Wi-Fi servers built into the house and you’re free to select the one that provides you with a stronger signal. This is actually a major plus point because it allows you to have your smart phone, iPad connected throughout the duration of your stay. Remarkably, free Wi-Fi is still not provided in major spots around East Grinstead and if you want to check your e-mail you are forced to go round to café nero on the high street. Another plus point with the house is the fact that the proprietors do indeed ensure that it is a very welcoming place. There are hundreds of DVDs behind the counter that you’re more than welcome to borrow should you find yourself spending a little more time than usual in your room. If you need any kind of herbal tea you are recommended to request it from behind the counter and the owners will be more than happy to oblige. A couple of points that I don’t really feel comfortable with both: firstly, the gardens. There are clearly some beautiful gardens on this house there are well looked after an astounding to look at. However, to my knowledge guests simply aren’t allowed out there. This is a great shame. Especially on a day when the sun tries to come out. It would be a major plus point if it is at all possible for guests to have breakfast out in the garden may be set up a gazebo some kind? Still, they are beautiful to look out from the window in the stairwell ! next, bring your own toiletries. The toiletries on hand are perfect but from a personal point of view (and it is personal) I simply don’t like to wash my hair with shampoo that somebody else may have used In a hotel. But this is indeed a personal thing. The breakfasts are ideal in the house. That you have an option to take your breakfast the night before by merely indicating that on the form and then leaving on the landing outside your room before you sleep. In fact, my partner suggested that we do not have breakfast quoting value for money etc. However, if you have been to East Grinstead then you’ll know that the opportunity to have a decent breakfast inside you is few and far so in this case I would definitely recommend that you take the breakfast. By the way this particular hotel is 20 mins taxi ride from Gatwick …..got an early flight in the morning then you cant do worse than stay here !

Room Tip: have the breakfast and see the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review. We did not appreciate that the early morning sun was such a problem in room 3 and are pleased that you have drawn this problem to our attention. . Next time you return to Cranston House you will be happy to see that we have installed a blackout blind behind the roman blind in this room so that early morning sleep in the summer will now be uninterrupted. We are glad that you had good free access to the internet. This is an aspect of accommodation that we particularly require when we are away from Cranston House and so we expect it to be available for our visitors. We would like to make more use of our garden. Unfortunately access to it is through some of our more private areas! We look forward to receiving you again when you will be able to have a more restful stay in room 3 or our other rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cranston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranston House

Address: Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranston House East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.