We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa to your Saves list
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turners Hill, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Grinstead
Subotica, Serbia
1 review
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've stayed here for one night on a business trip at the end of August.
The hotel really looks very nice, inside and out
The staff were wonderful. We were warmly greeted by Kristy at the reception she was as good as any concierge I have met in the hotel.
We liked so much we returned for sunday lunch the next day.
I would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear akos p,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us.
I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    216
    116
    44
    28
See reviews for
69
545
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed during the month of August as with some friends we wanted to take the opportunity to relax in style, but the rooms were disappointing. In the room there are the facilities to make a hot drink but when we tried to fill the kettle with water from the tap in the sink we couldn't as tap was too close to wall, so we called reception and they told us to use the tap in the bath ( in a five *hotel???). In the evening when the maid came to "turn down" the beds she removed the cushions and tuck them between the bedside table and wall. The sink was the wrong one for the fittings. The hot tub outside was missing a few tiles inside and the whole of the gardens were infested with wasps. . Having afternoon tea or lunch outside was impossible. No disposable cups on any of the cool water dispenser by pool. Terrible long wait for a cup of tea to be brought to the pool...and once it arrived it was cold!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear LuciaB,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback.
First and foremost, I must sincerely apologise that your recent visit was not to your satisfaction. The matters that you have raised are absolutely not indicative of the level of service and quality that we pride ourselves on providing, and I am very sorry to hear that you have left with a diverse opinion.
I would ask you to please contact me at tjurca@alexanderhotels.com and we can discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I decided to book a last minute break and we are so glad we picked this hotel.

Firstly, it is a lovely building which stuck us as we drove up to the front door. As soon as we we're out of the car, the porter was out and taking our bags and said he would park the car. Check in was a breeze and they were kind enough to take us to the spa to check our treatment times, then show us where the restaurant and bar were.

Our room, Silver Birch, was great very roomy, good spec, the bathroom was huge with a roll top bath and huge seperate shower. The bed was a king size and very comfortable.

We went to the spa to use the pool, sauna and steam rooms. The pool area is great and the Roman Bath decor is very well done. Very clean all the way through with good changing rooms The only (very slight) downside was the seperate Male and Female steam room and sauna which meant the wife and I had to do these apart (ok for some guys I suppose!!) but I went to enjoy some time with my wife, as I say only a slight blemish and the reason for the four stars.

The treatments were super, just what the Doctor ordered. All the therapists were polite, professional but very friendly. My massage was to die for, the worst part was when it finished!! And my Wife was very pleased with her manicure and pedicure.

Finally, the coup de grace, our meal in AG's... Superb! The food and service were exceptional, the fillet of beef was the best i've had!

Overall definately recommended and would visit again! Do yourself a favour and book a stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear McAvennie,

Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us. It sounds as if you had a delightful time and experience in our Utopia Spa.
I was also pleased to read how much you enjoyed you’re the room itself and the great care from all the Alexander House Hotel Team
My team and I look forward to welcome you back.
best wishes,

Yours Sincerely,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Despite being cautioned by friends, we decided to give AG's Restaurant at Alexander House a try for Sunday lunch.

All started off well. We arrived at 1.20pm for a 1.30pm reservation, and were warmly welcomed by name at the front door of the hotel, but things went downhill from there.

Our party of 4 was escorted to the entrance to the restaurant, where the doorman was unable to attract the attention of the restaurant manager (Bruno?) so that we could be seated. The doorman tried to explain that the restaurant was extremely busy (although we could see at least 4 empty tables from where were standing 10 feet away). He invited us to wait in the (empty) Champagne Bar, where Bruno would meet us to explain.

Once in the Champagne Bar we immediately tried to order some pre-lunch drinks (we knew what we wanted). However the barman insisted that we look at the drinks menu first. Then a few more people arrived, and attention was switched to them. Two parties of people who arrived after us were served drinks before the barman returned to take our order 15 minutes after we sat down. Twice other staff members came over to ask us to repeat our names and say that they'd let Bruno know we were waiting. 10 minutes after ordering the drinks (25 minutes after getting into the bar) we were still sitting waiting for drinks and for someone to let us know when our table would be ready. No apologies were given, and Bruno hadn't appeared.
At that point we decided to cut short what was turning out to be a bad experience, and got up to leave. The barman was very annoyed (he'd eventually started preparing our drinks), but made no attempt to try and find anyone to sort things out.

We then proceeded to the front desk, where we had to interrupt the person on reception who was having a conversation with another member of staff and didn't acknowledge us. We could see right into the restaurant - there were only two tables occupied. We explained what had happened, and that we'd been there for half an hour without acknowledgement from restaurant staff or drinks at the bar. She just stood and looked at us without saying a word (nor did the 4 other staff members who'd gathered around), apparently keen for us to leave so that other guests wouldn't witness what was happening. Still no Bruno.

Flabbergasted, we left. No-one followed us out or even attempted an apology or to rescue to the situation.

It seems that the negative opinions of local residents are right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear SussexCpl,

Thank you for your detailed and constructive review.

First and foremost, I must apologise for the experience you have detailed here. The situation that you have described is absolutely not indicative of our usual immaculate standards, and please rest assured that I am investigating exactly what took place during your visit to make the experience so far below your expectations.
From your various descriptions, I get the impression that the most pertinent issue was an overall lack of care and respect received by yourself, and I am currently following up with the various teams mentioned in your review to work out how this could have happened, and how to ensure that such an experience is never duplicated.
May I ask you to contact me so that we can investigate your comments further (tjurca@alexanderhotels.com).
Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Everything we expected plus more. Friendly welcoming staff. Lovely spacious rooms. Beautiful grounds and spa facilities. You must try the restaurant - excellent food and service.
Thank you Alexander for making a birthday treat so special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear SueG,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful Hotel.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Your sincerely,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Gorgeous authentic architecture, amazing location, and high-class service. We had a room on the mezzanine floor with a beautiful view of the gardens.
The room was beautiful and the views were exceptional. Every member of the staff made you feel welcome and they couldn't do enough to help. The food was delicious. We used the restaurant and in room dining.
The two gentlemen at Concierge desk were knowledgeable and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Istvanveresbanayi,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our Concierge team and that you enjoyed our Spa experience.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with this very helpful review
Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is small but beautiful. The room we stayed in was comfortable and well equipped. The spa facilities were amazing and changing room exceptional. The treatment staff were well presented and friendly. The waiters and staff were friendly and helpful and accommodating for food intolerances. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sunbeamsfairy,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review of Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa.
We wish you all the best, and we hope that we could welcome you back to Alexander House Hotel once again in the near future.
best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Address: Turners Hill, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.