We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and prompt service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mae Ping

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mae Ping
16 Railway Approach, East Grinstead RH19 1BP, England
01342 327244
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Diss, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and prompt service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I chose a set menu, and enjoyed all of it. The service was fast and efficient, the food was excellent and there was a convivial atmosphere at a relatively early time on a Friday night. The desserts were intriguing and the one we chose was unusual but very tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go for the Sunday Banquet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mae Ping is a lovely Thai restaurant. The Sunday Banquet is great value with plenty of choice from a set menu. The starters are the best, we find it difficult not to fill up on those and then fit in the main meal, The service is great and the staff are really friendly, we eat here a lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
“Excellent Authentic Thai Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place was recommended by the owners of Cranston House where we stayed for 10 days and it was a great suggestion. We enjoyed having dinner there almost every night and got to know the servers really well. The place has not only excellent food, but great ambiance as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best Mango Duck...Bar none.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We eat here fairly regularly - the food is great, the service is great, and the Mango Salsa Duck is just about my favourite dish on the planet.

We've probably been around a dozen times in the last couple of years - and although we had a bad experience one Valentines day with cramped tables, obviously harassed staff and lousy service, we did go back after a few months and haven't had a repeat of the one bad night there... Though we've never been back for Valentines!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a great experience. The food was wonderful with a very good selection of dishes. The Tom Yum soup was to die for although I did get a big hit of birdseye chili but got over it. It's another eat all you can buffet where you can't eat as much as you'd like. The staff were friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was very pleasant and the restaurant was very clean and smart. Sunday buffet for £13.50 was not cheap but a great value experience. Will definitely be going again shortly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mae Ping also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Mae Ping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mae Ping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.