We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
stokeo n trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

ok its not a 5 start city centre hotel - but you really wouldnt know it! Some of the most professional staff i have ever come accross. Food was excelent, acocmodation similar, parking great... Wine is slightly pricey but thats the only negative I can find...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Patrick W
Many thank for posting your 'Excellent' review. I shall pass your comments to all the staff. Hope to see you again soon.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    102
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
139
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were impressed with the hotel. The room we had was very pleasant although the window did not fit 100% and we did get some road noise. The breakfast was very good and we also had a carvery one evening. I must admit I do prefer to order a meal and have my food brought to me. Carverys are OK but I would not want to eat one 2 days in a row.
The parking at the hotel was excellent and the staff were very professional as well.
Opposite the hotel is a very old Norman church and the ruins of Bramber Castle which is well worth a look.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear SuffolkMango
Thank you for your valued review regarding your recent stay. Our guest feedback is extremely important and I will share your comments with the rest of the team. We do hope you stay with us again when visiting the area.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed just one night dinner bed & breakfast. Four poster bed, spa bath in room. Service from the staff impeccable! Evening meal fabulous. Breakfast all that you want. Nice area and close to Brighton & Worthing. All in all a great stay!!!! Peter Philpot

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Fjilcp3
Thank you for taking the time to write your very positive review. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations especially with customer service. We hope to see you again soon.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking for just one night, pleasant room with almost everything you need, including free wifi and room safe. Dinner and breakfast as good as you can expect from buffet / carvery style meals ( both better than the day before meals in the Garden Room Restaurant Gatwick Hilton). Staff friendly and helpful.
Good value hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear seasiderboy
I am very pleased to read that we met with your expectations on your recent visit. I do hope you come back again soon.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked a superior room, and although it wasn't the largest we have stayed in, it was comfortable and warm, with a queen double and a mini-bar with the usual high charges for drinks and peanuts. It was clean, and the flat screen TV was a bit outdated with a freeview box with only a few channels, but that could be common in this area.
The bathroom was warm with underfloor heating, modern fittings, a walk-in shower, no bath, and a heated towel rail.
The location was good, quiet, and in a pretty village, with a bus stop close by. The bus into Brighton was every hour, but if you changed in shoreham high st. to the 700 (every 10 min.), it was quicker in to Brighton, it also goes to Worthing and other places along the coast.
The breakfasts were very good, and we took advantage of the vouchers available on-line, and at the hotel for a £6.50 dinner. The buffet was good, and there were other choices rather than the meat joints, I had a lovely chicken curry.
The car parking in Brighton is expensive, and at the hotel it was good, and free, and we have bus passes! It is about 40 mins on the bus to Brighton.

Room Tip: Avoid being there when there is a wedding planned, I imagine it would be quite noisy. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear consub
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your review. We do hope you come back again soon.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our bathroom smelt of wee. Not a good early impression. Two people were sent up from housekeeping, chattered away at each other in not English, sprayed the bathroom and left. Our bathroom then smelt of air freshener. Later, air freshener and wee, and in the morning, wee again.
The shower - with curtain - was feeble, the duvets barely reached the edge of the beds and the plasterboard walls were not exactly soundproof. Breakfast was one redeeming feature.
Overall, this is a 3-star rated place charging 4-star prices for a 2-star service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear howardandemma
Thank you for your comments and I apologise if you stay was less than satisfactory. I would like to assure you that we do take all our guests comments seriously, however, as I am unable to identify you or the room in which you stayed I would like to request that you contact me personally to discuss as we would like to investigate this matter further.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights in Sept 2013 and on the advice of other Tripadvisor reports, we booked a superior room. I have to say that we were glad we upgraded as the room still wasn't large, but well appointed with a comfortable queen sized bed and a flat screen TV (albeit with a separate set top box) and free WiFi included. The bathroom was a good size, but no bath, just a sizeable shower enclosure - we had no complaints about this, but if anyone prefers a bath, then be aware. Our room was in an adjacent building and getting to it involved 2 sets of steps outside and then stairs inside, not very easy to negotiate with 2 suitcases and there was no lift; if you have any mobility limitations - might be worth ensuring you get an accessible room. It offered good value with excellent sleep quality in a quiet village whilst also having quick access to trunk roads.

We booked B&B, not Half Board and were glad we did as the restaurant had an offer on - £6.50 for the carvery main course, and my vegetarian wife was happy as there was a choice of two options and this choice changed each night, so no repetition; there were also other choice of meat dishes as well as a choice of 3 or 4 carved meats. The cold breakfast was self service, but the cooked breakfast and evening main course were hot buffets served on to the plate by the restaurant staff under your direction - and in the evening your plate was carried to your table by them. The service was good and, being a carvery, quick, though a down side of the cheap offer was that it got rather busy, attracting a lot of non residents. One night we had a look at the other 3 restaurants in the village - Chinese, Indian and a Thai pub - but they were all empty, probably wiped out by the cheap, quality competition so we didn't fancy sitting on our own !

All in all, a very good 3 star hotel which, with the provisos above, we would recommend to any one wanting good, quality accommodation and food with easy access to the Brighton area.

Room Tip: Certainly choose a Superior room, plus if you have any mobility problems or want a bath, make this c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear annanjim
Thank you for your wonderful comprehensive review. I am delighted your trip away did not disappoint and you enjoyed your time whilst with us. The team at The Old Tollgate go out of their way to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.