We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of those places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle Inn Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of those places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very happy to have found The Castle Hotel, this is the 3rd/4th night that I have spent here whilst working in Chichester (24 miles) away, no problem, each time I have booked the 'Superior Family/Triple - Single Occupancy Breakfast included' and on each occasion have had the same room, very comfortable and good value, one of two better quality rooms which I have occupied along my regular hotel business trips during the last 8 weeks and usually only booked a few days in advance, lovely breakfast with a choice of. The establishment has a good atmosphere and a very good kitchen, Thai night is on Tuesdays...very tasty (Thai chef) and whilst the menu is on the more expensive side there is good reason why, Steyning is a delightful little village and if you fancy an Indian or Chinese then adjacent to the hotel you will find both of these or fish n chips a little further down the high street. Definitely would stay on a leisure trip to!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    70
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
80
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

18 of us came back to The Castle Inn Hotel for our pre-Christmas Dinner. The room was beautiful, the food faultless and the service as good as in any 5-star London Hotel. They even had a greeting with the name of our organisation on the blackboard in the room. There is plenty of parking and I can't see us going anywhere else in future. Thank you Steve and all your wonderful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We met here to enjoy a meal and exchange Christmas presents, the room was good the service friendly and faultless and the food good. I had the turkey 2 generous slices with all the trimmings, really good. Steve, Mae and their team could not have been more helpful and patient and all of us agreed we will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked the Castle Inn for our wedding reception in August 2013, but just like a rare gem, or hidden treasure, we selfishly kept our knowledge of this wonderful place to ourselves. Steve and Mae did us proud. They made us and our guests so welcome, and their staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed a sit down lunch for 25 followed by an evening buffet for 100 guests. The food was delicious and the presentation of the buffet was spectacular. We had so many lovely comments about the food and venue from our guests. Everything about the day was just perfect, including the overnight accommodation and breakfast the following morning. We can't rate the Castle Inn highly enough. Thank you Steve and Mae

Since the wedding we have enjoyed a number of meals at the Castle Inn, as well as celebrating my mother's 80th birthday there on 30th November 2013. The service and buffet was beyond our expectations. Steve, Mae, their chef and staff excelled themselves once again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We came to visit family in Shoreham and needed accommodation nearby. The booking process was easy, the bedroom was clean and comfortable and delicious home cooked breakfast cooked to order. Hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

WE stayed in a newly converted "cottage" behind the main building. Everything looked fine at first glance but on closer inspection the room was pretty poor. The sound proofing was terrible - I could hear the guy in the next room clearing his throat - sounded as if he was in our room! The shower already had very mouldy grouting, the vinyl flooring was discoloured around the shower, and - to add insult to injury - no one had bothered to check the room and there was no kettle and only one set of towels. I agree the breakfast was good, but otherwise disappointing.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room in the main building - they can't be much worse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had a one night stay on a business trip. I didn't expect too much from the place, but I was amazed of how clean the room was, how good quality the bad was. The hotel is not really promising, the rooms are above the pub. But after arriving to the room i had no doubt it was excellent. There is sky set top boxes in very room, which I never seen in any other hotels before. The bathroom has a double size shower cubicle which also very comfy. The good quality beds provoded me a very good night sleep.
I would recommend this hotel for a 5 star :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn Hotel

Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in rural Sussex, in the shadow of the South Downs, this exceptional family run free house is a joy to behold.In Bramber village (Best kept village in South East England multiple years) The Castle Inn Hotel and Conference Centre sits in magnificent splendour. The front of the Inn is bathed in glorious summer hanging baskets, meticulously cared for.To the rear is an English garden that, quite literally, takes your breath away. Packed with almost every plant imaginable for a garden there are a few surprises in store, such as the Strawberry and Tomato plants that seemingly go unnoticed until their juicy red fruit appears. Tranquillity best describes the atmosphere as you sit back and relax, only to be replaced by awe and wonder as Mr. and Mrs. Swan glide effortlessly passed on the stream, not five feet away, with their half a dozen signets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Inn Hotel And Conference Centre
The Castle Inn Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.