We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazingly relaxing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Whittlebury Hall to your Saves list
Whittlebury Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazingly relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is the fourth time I have stayed for a spa break and I have never been disappointed. Despite the fact that this is a popular venue, the staff are so friendly and efficient that it is extremely easy to relax and unwind. The accommodation is excellent, and the meal in the evening was to die for. The spa facilities are extremely good once you have learned to navigate around them but the staff are always on hand to help. Needless to say, I have booked again in April and I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Debbie R

Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are so delighted that once again you had a fantastic spa break and an amazingly relaxing experience with us. We are also pleased that the staff were so friendly and really looked after you too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in April for another fantastic break.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    367
    247
    139
    105
See reviews for
101
427
22
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had a lovely stay at the hotel booked by my husband for myself and my sister so wasn't sure what to expect.

On arrival it was hectic with hundreds of people all turning up at the same time, my initial thoughts were 'how is this going to be relaxing'.


We were told where the changing rooms were and where to go for lunch. We went into the main pool and I wasn't impressed. There were no beds left or even any chairs to sit on. My initial impressions that too many people were here and it's chaotic rather than relaxing were still with me.

We eventually found a bed to put our towels, went for a swim then went for lunch.

Lunch was lovely, you only have 45mins but its plenty to sample the hot and cold buffet. The staff are very organised due to the large numbers.

Treatments, you go upstairs - it's not signposted very well and no one really explains where you need to go so we found ourselves wandering around until we came to a large seating area, here you take a seat until someone calls your name. The beauty therapist come out in packs if 10 and lead you too your room. Treatments were relaxing and just as good as I've experienced at other spa's. Then I was lead back to the large seating area. Again no one tells you how to get back and I found myself lost and in another area much to my amazement there is another part to the spa which we were not informed about. Hot and cold rooms, jacuzzi, saunas, everything you would expect from a spa.

So glad I found this bit as it made the day but some what disappointed this wasn't advised on arrival as feel we missed out of the whole spa day experience.


The room we stayed in was amazing. It was massive. It had a fire in the room with 2 sofa's, dining table. A jacuzzi in the bathroom. We didn't want to leave the room to go for dinner.

We ate in the private dining room and the food was scrummy. We had our own private waiter.


Considering the spa was so busy during the day the hotel was quite quiet during the evening.

Over all a very busy spa, sometimes you queue for rooms, beds and chairs. Treatments good. Rooms fantastic and food, very enjoyable.

Would go again but wouldn't go in the main pool just straight to the spa.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear LisaMCord

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in November 2013.

We are pleased that overall you had a lovely and enjoyable stay with us and that the treatments, rooms and food were fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wow! We have just had the most wonderful stay here. From start to finish it was a great experience. We have been here 4 times and it never disappoints.
ALL THE STAFF were friendly and helpful.
The hotel rooms, spa, restaurants were all of a very high standard. Lunch and Evening Meal at Astons Restaurant were 5 star and they cater to special diets without any fuss!
The Spa itself is a wonderful experience of heat and ice, a good size swimming pool where you can actually do some real swimming, with lovely clean modern changing rooms.
The Gym is modern and great fun.
Well done Whittlebury Hall!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Angela Y

Thank you for your fabulous TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are delighted that you had a most wonderful stay with us and that once again you had a great experience and were not disappointed. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed the lunch and evening meals and that the staff were all so friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for a night on Valentines day, spa was extremely busy and did not even get into use the facilities whilst we were there. Dinner was lovely and afternoon teas are very good too, very pricey though so takes lots of money with you. Drinks are expensive too in the Silverstone Bar. We were in Room 114, the neighbours either side were extremely noisy and we hardly got any sleep that night! Breakfast was fantastic I must admit. Help yourself buffet and very plentiful.
Lovely place - and would go again but would prefer a room looking out onto the golf course as our room looked onto a rain filled roof and flooding drain pipes as weather was extremely bad that night too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Claresy006

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are pleased that overall you had a nice stay with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food especially the afternoon tea and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came away for our anniversary. We stayed last night and have really enjoyed both the spa and the hotel. Due to the size of the hotel there is a slight carousel feeling about certain aspects of the visit. For example the evening meal in Astons was quite quick, the pace being set by the waiter. That said the dessert, the white crouistillant, was amazing. I love puddings my parnter normally skips them and he said he was his favourite course.

However the service was great the receptionists in both the spa and hotel were very friendly and helpful.
But the stand out service came from my partners masseuse, Faye. He had a on going back issue that the doctors dismissed she however notice the issue without him saying and tried to help it and gave him a lot of helpful advice on where to go next.

If you're looking for intimate and very personal spa this isn't for you because it is very big but the staff are great and the food is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear BeckyandJames

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your spa day and overnight stay as well and that the staff were so friendly and helpful. Your fantastic comments about your treatment and your therapist Faye have been passed on to the Spa Manager. We hope to see you back again soon!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This was a spa break for a group of girls on a hen do and we booked 2 rooms with a door in between! We payed for an executive suite and got complementary goodies which were well appreciated! The rooms were lovely and very clean.

The meals were fantastic and we were surprised by how they can do all this so well for a smart price!

I recommend this hotel without question

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Belinda F

Thank you for your excellent TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are so pleased that you and your friends had a great time with us and that the meals were fantastic. We hope to see you all back again soon!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My first visit and I would definitely return . our room was very large clean and modern.
The staff were excellent and seemed to be very well trained. I had the all inclusive package and couldnt really find fault . The spa was very impressive and again the staff were very helpful.

The food was excellent .

I think the comments about more staff in the bar area are fair but i really dont understand some of the other comments some people have made.

Room Tip: Dont forget your flipflops..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Ge0rge1970

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in February.

We are delighted that you had an excellent and relaxing weekend away and that you really enjoyed the spa facilities and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whittlebury Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.