We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Things Have Changed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Whittlebury Hall to your Saves list
Whittlebury Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
northampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“How Things Have Changed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

And for the better.......

The last time I went to Whittlebury Hall the spa was in such a state it left me ill so I refused to return. A friend visited recently and said it had changed so with mum's Birthday approaching I booked an overnight stay.

We arrived yesterday morning at 9am and checked in at the hotel. We were told our room would be available at 3pm and left our case. The receptionist was outstanding. Very friendly and personable. We went straight to the spa and again the check in was swift and efficient. The spa was empty so we tried most things before people arrived which was nice but even when it was busy later I didn't feel squashed. We both had Hot Stone Therapies which were outstanding. Lunch was included it was delicious and quick but a definite must as sandwiches in the Terrace Bar were nearly £8 each. A burger was £15!!!! Water and fruit are available all day for free though.

Thoroughly spa'd out we collected our room key and went upstairs. The room was ok (no air con which is fine in January but I definitely won't visit if we get a summer). The bathroom was large and the beds comfy. What more do you need. We had a 7pm dinner in Astons but had pre dinner drinks in the bar. This is where Whittlebury started to earn my long review. The bar was lovely and not too pricey (plus happy hour runs from 5pm-6pm). The meal in Astons was AMAZING. Considering it was included I expected warm soup, dry chicken and frozen cheesecake. We got fresh soup, goats cheese that was delicious, lamb confit, beef fillet (this was extra but worth it) and then creme brûlée which was one of the best I have ever eaten. Wine was around £25 a bottle. Our server was outstanding and a credit to the hotel.

An early night with full bellies was needed and enjoyed. Unfortunately we had no hot water at all in the morning. We had been warned there may be problems but didn't think we'd be without completely but we solved that by going to the leisure facilities so not a problem just an inconvenience. Check out was again easy and efficient.

To conclude if Whittlebury Hall maintains these standards I'll be back again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear tigger666

Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review following your recent visit.

We are delighted that your return visit to Whittlebury Hall was such a change and that you had an amazing experience with us. Your fabulous comments regarding the staff have been passed on and we are so pleased that their care and attention was outstanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another wonderful spa break.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    417
    278
    147
    114
See reviews for
117
487
26
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

From entering the car park at Whittlebury Hall, you can expect excellent, attentive service for all areas of the Hotel and Spa. Your day is planned from start to finish.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped for your stay, you don't even need a dressing gown!
Reception is a vast area with comfy sofas and the Receptionists are extremely helpful.
The food is excellent and well presented. Lunch and breakfast buffet style and Dinner waiter/waitress service.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Visitor619

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are so pleased that you and your friends had a fabulous spa break with us, from start to finish, and that you found everything from the food and facilities to the staff and service to be excellent. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the hotel on a special offer spa day and overnight stay. We paid £110 each for a day at the spa, a 25 minute treatment, 2 course buffet lunch, 3 course dinner and breakfast which was an amazing deal and great value for money.

We were so impressed with the service, the staff were so attentive and friendly and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome.

The spa is lovely, there is lots to do and we had a fantastic sleep in the sleep room. It was quite busy but because it is quite big you don't feel overwhelmed and we didn't have to wait to use any of the heat and ice experiences.

The buffet lunch was perfect, fresh salads and jacket potatoes and a lovely vegetarian casserole. My partner said the meat option was fresh and tasty.

The evening meal was fine, for the price it was nicely done and the wine list is good.

The rooms were spotless and spacious, they are verging on looking a bit dated but again for the price they were great and had everything you need, the bathroom was big too!

I will definitely be returning as was so impressed with this spa break.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get the deluxe room, it is lovely and the bottle of wine and snacks were a welcom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear LittleYouAndI

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review.

We are delighted that you had a fabulous spa break with us and that you enjoyed all of the facilities and dining experiences. The packages are brilliant and really good value for money too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another very enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

They churn you in and out. The spa is busy and stinky. Mould in steam rooms, doors on steam rooms don't shut. It's cheap but there's a reason why!!!! Food was nice but with 200 people eating in restaurant you felt like you we're in a canteen. Just another number. Not a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear foodieddm

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your experience. If you would like to contact us at guestrelations@whittleburyhall.co.uk we would be happy to discuss your visit with you further.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I visit the hotel a couple of times a year and on this occasion it was a girls weekend. The spa is often busy but still relaxing and although it can be an issue trying to get a lounger, this has never taken away from the overall experience. There is a good selection for lunch and we were able to book into a free wine tasting session which was a bit of a treat. Our room was clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The only negative thing I can say is at breakfast trying to get tea and coffee can be a job I understand why they don't want to put pots on the table because of the amount of wastage but we spent most of breakfast trying to catch the waiter/waitresses eye. Also we had only one rectangle of butter between six of us and needed more jams but after asking twice we ended up taking them of another table.

However, these small things will never deter me from going back as I love the hotel and the spa and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Tania M

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are so pleased that once again you had a great stay with us and that it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience for you and your guests. Your constructive feedback about breakfast has been passed on to the Food and Beverage manager as well.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This overnight stay and use of spa was a birthday gift from my family . My sister and I arrived around 10am , quickly through check in and straight to a lovely room . We were in the spa by 10.45am ! . The spa facilities were amazing with plenty to try and lots of treatments to choose from . The hour long full body massage was fantastic. We finally left the spa at 5pm and returned to our room for a small nap on the wonderfully comfortable beds . Our evening started with a drink in the bar which is fabulously sized and decorated with a huge hall of photos and memorabilia to the not far away silverstone racing circuit. On to dinner and wow what a dinner the food was excellent ! After dinner a couple of drinks in the very spacious lounge with a lovely fireplace and low lighting to keep the relaxed mood before bed . Breakfast was full of choices from cereals , pastries to full cooked . Staff constantly circulating to refill tea and coffee when required. Talking of the staff I cannot fault this team. Smiling staff wherever you were , always happy to help. I will definitely be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear mavishBristol

Thank you for your fabulous TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are delighted that you had such an amazing overnight stay and spa experience with us and that you found everything from the food to your treatments to be fantastic as well. We are so pleased that the staff were faultless, smiling and always keen to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

From the moment we checked in early, the staff couldn't have done enough for us. The room was spacious and clean with attention to detail in all the fittings. The breakfast was excellent in all aspects. The grounds were beautiful and all the services were reasonably priced. Fully recommend this hotel. Julia & Tracy

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Rossmeister

Thank you for your excellent TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in January.

We are so pleased that you had such a fabulous stay with us and that everything from the staff and food to the facilities and grounds was excellent. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon for another wonderful spa break.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whittlebury Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.