We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, very efficient staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Whittlebury Hall to your Saves list
Whittlebury Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice location, very efficient staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was here for a work conference so no time to sample the facilities offered by the hotel - which was a shame.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped - nice having a plug socket near the bed for phone charger!

Shower was a little temperamental trying to get a steady temperature.

Staff are super efficient. For such a large hotel and a large conference the speed and efficiency of service was first class.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Kev-B-Lin,

Thank You for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was first class. We aim to ensure every guest receives the same high standards of service.

I do hope we can welcome you back to us in the near future and that you can sample some of the facilities on site next time.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    417
    278
    148
    114
See reviews for
119
487
26
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited on 15th March, which as a complementary visit due to there being a problems when we went in January with the ventilation.

On the whole, it was better than January, but as I have been going to Whittlebury for a number of years, I can safely say that is is lovely... but going down hill. With all the special offers, the spa is over crowded and there is a element of waiting for all of the things there. The staff are always nice and helpful, the food is always lovely...... Just not as 'special' as it used to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear RaineP04,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am glad to read that you find your stays here lovely and that the staff are nice and helpful. We always aim to ensure every guest feels pampered and relaxed.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hubby and I took the opportunity of the Daughter having 6 friends to stay the night to have a bit of Us time at Whittlebury Hall. We like WH, we've been before for parties and work, and have used the spa facilities. It's a lovely place in a beautiful location. We stayed one night on a D, B & B basis.
We enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the Silverstone Bar and whilst Hubby watched the (appalling) rugby match, I read the papers.
We had a 3 course dinner in the Astons restaurant. I had melon with a raspberry mousse for my starter and whilst said mousse was really good, the melon was dry and tasteless. Shoudn't have had it on the plate! My brisket however was delicious, wish I could have eaten more of it. Hubby really enjoyed his steak.
Breakfast, as often the case when there are many guests, was plentiful but not hot, too many opening and closing of lids! Tasty enough though.
Our room was comfortable but we didn't realise that not having a window would make the night very stuffy and therefore our sleep was fitful. We should have asked for another room. We will next time! And the radiator rattled through most of the night!! If I'd been asleep perhaps I wouldn't have noticed!!
In all, we did have a good stay and we will go again and stay again, but we are wiser and will make better decisions.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window! Otherwise, the floors are quiet, you won't hear anyone moving about o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ana H,

Thank You for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that you had a good stay here and that you are returning guests. We do try to ensure that every guest leaves here feeling pampered and relaxed.

I am delighted to read that you will stay with us again and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here many times before but first time I thought to review it.
Stayed in room 147 which is a club room and very nice it was, clean and spacious with a big bathroom.

Nice tray of free goodies on the table including a small bottle of wine and some munches although a card advising they are free may be a good idea.

Overall the biggest issue we had was with the groups of noisy women on Spa Weekends or I should translate that to screech shout and drink far to much with lots of door slamming weekend.

Not everyone wants a noisy weekend!!!!

Dinner was in Astons which was OK but not spectacular but the Lemon Meringue pie for pudding was delicious.

Hotel has undergone a wash and brush up over the last 12 months especially in the business rooms and it looks very good for it.

Breakfast was served in the Aston suite again and was fine, that said I do like my bacon well cooked but most of the rashers on offer could have been brought back to life by a good vet!!

Overall a very pleasant stay and would have scored higher of not for the disappointing Chicken Jambonette for dinner and the "noisy element"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear QALVINCE,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay here gave you one of our nice luxury club rooms. They are very spacious and allow that little bit more space for movement.

I am glad you have noticed that we are constantly updating and renewing the hotel. This is something we are pushing forward with and hope every guest feels and sees the difference.

I hope we can welcome you back to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having read recent reviews I must admit to feeling more than a little anxious about my visit to Whittlebury Hall and Spa - when I arrived they had no record of our booking for that night, they thought we were staying the following night - this was soon rectified, and we were given a Club Room on the top floor at the end of a corridor, so reasonably quiet. There was a function going on in the Hotel, which we had been warned about - so couldn't understand the mix up over the booking - only a little noisy from inconsiderate guests at 3.30 in the morning. Our package included an evening meal in the Aston Restaurant which was lovely with 3 or 4 choices of each course, Prawn Noodle Salad, Braised Lamb Shank & Cheese Board (£5 supplement for the cheese). Extensive breakfast choices the following morning, checked out of room, then onto the Spa - our package included 4 treatments, so we made the most of the Heat & Ice experience rooms before it got too busy, then on for a Facial, Lunch of Salads, Massage, Pedicure and Manicure. Not busy in the Spa at all on the Thursday we were there - I wish I had thought about getting an appointment to have my hair done at the end of the day. The staff were very helpful, always polite and everywhere we went was clean and tidy - the changing rooms were a little crowded at the end of the day, but this did not spoil anything about the stay.

Room Tip: We were in Room 261, large corner room overlooking the Golf course, fairly quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear esjaywallis,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am glad your stay at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa was an excellent break and that despite a couple of minor issues everything went well. We always aim to ensure that every guest leaves feeling pampered and relaxed. It sounds as though your meals and treatments left you feeling this way.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely stay but an overnight stay finished at 11am the next day. Not only did we have to vacate the room then but we were unable to use any other facilities for the rrst of the day. Most overnight spas allow full access on day 2! I was told on the phone ehen booking thst we only had to vacate the room at 11am but could stay in the spa all day - not true! So an overnihht stay was basically one day,!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear 23AnneH,

Thank You for your review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay here at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa. We aim ensure that everyone leaves feeling relaxed and pampered. We do confirm in writing before you arrive what your package includes so this should not be a problem.

I do hope you will return to us in the future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We will happily admit to going here twice a year to get some serious de-stress / pampering time. My visit this time was 27th Feb for 2 nights. I was very concerned to see all the negative comments that had been made and went there expecting a real drop in standards and was watching out for these. I could not see any issues and all we kept seeing was great customer service and fantastic treatments. Being nosy I asked a couple of staff about the negative reviews and the feedback I got was a) that a lot of them were made following weekend visits and b) there had been one period were they had accepted bookings to their maximum. I appreciate that that is not much consolation to those who did not enjoy their visits. If you are considering visiting here - try Tuesdays & Wednesday's and even Thursday at a pinch. Fridays to Mondays are busy. The Wednesday that we were there had about 40 people in total on the day. I would also recommended the new Clarins Tri-active facial - best ever facial and worth every penny! Service in Aston's really good - in fact good enough that I left a tip and that takes some doing. We will be going back and all I can do is recommended that you avoid weekends if you can and particularily is tribute acts on in evening as this really does impact during the day Try it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, General Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear LindaM53,

Thank you for your recent review.

We were delighted to read you had a great stay at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa. The Spa is very popular and we strive to ensure that all guests receive the same high standards every time they visit.

I do hope you will be able to visit again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whittlebury Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.