We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highcroft House

Highcroft House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Highcroft House to your Saves list
Highcroft House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   157 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Towcester B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Absolutely fabulous B & B, with well appointed comfortable rooms & breakfasts that are second to none. In addition the hosts Peter & Karen are truly lovely people & can't do enough for you, (Karen asked within five minutes of our arrival what we intended to do & immediately offered too & actually booked tickets for us, in addition they made a restaurant reservation for us etc). We stayed in a room towards the top of the building (Stowe) which was huge with a large super comfy bed & was absolutely delightful. They also own a lovely little dog called Hugo which is super friendly & I wanted to adopt. It just doesn't get any better than staying here, if there are any better B & B's anywhere in the U.K then I've certainly never found one. Thoroughly & unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staying for about 3 months. Everything was superb. Delicious breakfast, dinner and definitely the pudding. Miss all the cooking by Karen. Peter and Karen are so lovely. Not forget to mention Hugo, my mate at the park. Very helpful and generous even though im not an English. Great memory!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as recommended by family for my daughters wedding. We were so spoilt. Everything was clean and well presented. The only small issue was the room was chilly as we returned to our room in the early hours, the weather was appalling outside and the heating had timed out.
It is a beautiful place to stay and the owners were so accommodating and tentative to our needs. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and î stayed for 2 nights to coincide with a day at the races. We loved every minute. The rooms are gorgeous and so comfy, the house is a treat, I'm so jealous! Peter and Karen are absolutely lovely, and cook an amazing breakfast. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night, could have happily stayed longer this B&B is a Gem "totes amaze"!
Would recommend staying in Ashby so romantic, however not for new couples there is no where to hide our "unflattering bits" ladies!
Service was impeccable ,breakfast hearty with great produce!
Top marks we would definitely stay here again and other B&B's to receive that personal touch you just don't get at those chain hotels.
Don't not hesitate book this little Gem!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Forgot to sign the Visitor Book so this is our Thank You to Karen and Peter for a great experience. The house is a listed building so has interesting features and has been beautifully restored. Our room (Stowe) was huge, with a fab comfy bed and lovely decor. Plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits plus a cafetiere. The big flat screen TV is wall mounted and not too conspicuous, just right for watching in bed! Wi-fi too. Breakfasts were excellent on both days. I tucked into fresh fruit then croissants followed by smoked salmon and scrambled egg on an English muffin on day 1, then succumbed to the full English on day 2 - bliss!
Karen and Peter were very friendly and helpful and we felt at home from the start. The Saracen's Head pub is worth a visit, great for evening meals with a good 'buzz' in the bar and only 5 minutes walk! We stayed for a Silverstone driving experience and the track is just 10 mins drive away. Also fitted in a visit to Banbury, which has a brilliant museum and good pub grub in the olde Reindeer Inn. Our first trip to Towcester and it was memorable. So glad we booked Highcroft House!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night while I was doing the Silverstone half marathon back in March - as it turned out, almost everyone else in the b&b was there for that too!
I highly recommend Highcroft House, one of the best places I've ever stayed even compared to some 5* hotels (Encore at the Wynn, Conrad etc). The room was modern, clean, nicely decorated, the bathroom was amazing - double sinks and rainfall showerhead - bed wonderfully comfy.
Karen and Peter were very welcoming, informed us of places to go for dinner and things to do around the town and provided a great breakfast in the morning. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Had we known what a great place it was, we would have stayed for longer. If we're ever in the area again, definitely going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highcroft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcroft House

Address: 157 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcroft House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highcroft House is a beautiful Grade II* listed Georgian town house set within the historic roman town of Towcester (Lactodorum). The property was built in 1752 and still retains many of its period features including sash windows, wood panelling and the original oak staircase.Highcroft has recently undergone a programme of renovation and has now opened as a Bed and Breakfast, offering 5 luxury bedrooms all with en suite facilities. The accommodation is set over 3 floors and is the perfect base for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Highcroft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highcroft House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.