We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hind Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hind Hotel to your Saves list
The Hind Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheep Street, Wellingborough NN8 1BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellingborough
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

bar food poor but overpriced. the bedroom we used was very dated and shabby, the bathroom was straight out of the ark , with mildew around the bath. spiders webs around the windows,the whole place had a musty smell about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us at the Hind Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you encountered as this is not what we are aiming to achieve. All of our bedrooms are currently undergoing re-decoration. Guest feedback, good or bad is important to us. Your comments have been passed to the relevant members of staff to ensure our that our standards remain100% at all times.
Kind regards
Deborah Gear
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    27
    17
    22
See reviews for
22
24
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
crawley
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was very comfortable full of charm and character, the staff were both helpful and friendly and it was ideal being in the middle of the town. There was only one drawback which was the parking was very limited not the hotels fault but there was the overflow 2 mins from the hotel which we had no trouble parking. It is safe as there are security lights and cameras.

Room Tip: Our room 101 although comfortable was noisy in the morning. We must have been fairly near to the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hind Hotel, we take all guest reviews seriously, good and bad. Your comments have been passed to the relevant staff to ensure our standards remain 100% at all times. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Wellingborough.
Kind regards
Deborah Gear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting the nearby Santa Pod Raceway. Our first impressions were good, from the outside it is a beautiful very old building with lots of character, the reception and staircase area was clean, tidy and full of old dark wood adding to the character of the building. We had room 206, which is at back of the hotel overlooking the rear car park. The room was warm, spacious, light and clean and the bed was large and comfortable. Despite the noise coming from a live band until about midnight we had a really good nights sleep. We had an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel, the food was excellent and the staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough to help. We had a very enjoyable stay at the Hind Hotel.

The bad points; sadly the rooms did not have the character of the rest of the hotel and were a little dated, this however, I didn't mind as a clean room is more important to me than a modern room all though traditional oak beams and old fashioned four poster beds would really look great in this hotel.

If you are looking for a comfortable bed, good food and cleanliness then based on my experience of the Hind Hotel I would recommend. If you are looking for uber modern then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hind hotel, we take all guest feedback seriously, good or bad, thank you for your kind comments with regard to the staff. All of our bedrooms are undergoing some re-decoration and we are looking to get a four poster bed in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Wellingborough.
Kind regards
Deborah Gear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having spent just one night at the Hind for a reunion we were very disappointed with the workings of the place. The staff hurried us through our evening meal and removed the vegetables off the table before we had even finished. Pillows on the beds needed throwing out and replacing with new ones, the restaurant ran out of milk on Sunday morning so we had to borrow some off a fellow guest. On speaking with a very helpful receptionist, Harriet, we were told that the owners did not live on site and visited the hotel weekly, maybe if they spent nore time sorting out the problems the guests may be happier. We were given a discount on the price of the room, but I feel that if these problems are not addressed then the Hind will not survice these very difficult financial times which would be a great shame so please, please get your act together and make the place more welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogate petersfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

had a good nights sleep at the hotel, bar area recently refurbished, good breakfast, but bathroom small and public corridors and fire doors all need painting as they give really bad impression of the hotel. didn't have evening meal- the vegetarian offering was quorn sausages. overall really not bad for price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed in the Hind because wanted a personal space after a family funeral . Having been brought up in Wellingborough where else would I go?
The hotel is a fascinating place with lots of good ghost tales ,some lovely features , stained glass,heavy beams etc
The room and beds were fine, firm and comfortable but the bathroom needed an update, cracked basin and the corridors felt a bit sad and shabby . Breakfast was fine, staff pleasant, so if you want a night spent in the hope of seeing Oliver Cromwell's ghost and savouring local history then why not .
After all there are plenty of smarter, more soulless places around if this doesn't suit you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Hind hotel, we take all guest comments, good or bad, very seriously.
The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme of its bedrooms and bathrooms and the corridors will be done in the new year.
The Hind does have lots of character, however I have yet to see a ghost!!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
D. Gear- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Hind is a nice old building and more or less the only hotel in the area, thus I stayed here when needing a room in Wellingborough.
The decor is dated and tired, which quite frankly was expected. I was not expecting the wallpaper to be hanging off and the bath enamel to be chipped and flaking and the bathroom mirror to be losing the war with rust however, and though clean, this gave my room a distinctly unpleasant feel.
The bed was uncomfortable and the curtains didn't close properly so the room was impossible to get dark when I wanted to sleep.
I ordered room service which was very low in price and whilst not exciting was honest, tasty food.
I was a little disappointed that when I realised that I had left a watch in the room and called to ask them to post it to me they said quite flatly "no", despite offering to pay.
All in all The Hind is an okay place to sleep if you need a room in Wellingborough, but the fact that they have big posters up advertising their wedding packages does make me feel a little sad for those who make use of this service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments which we take very seriously. I am sorry we refused to return your watch, if you could call me or e-mail to confirm your name and address I will check that we have your watch and send it back to you, as is our usual policy.
We are currently undergoing a complete re-decorating programme of all our bedrooms, they also all have new beds.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Wellingborough, to be able to re-instate our good name.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hind Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Wellingborough NN8 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Wellingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hind Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Hind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hind Hotel Wellingborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.