We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub-just watch the days the do deals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ock n Dough

Ock n Dough
Northern Way, Wellingborough NN8 4UF, England
01933 403844
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good pub grub-just watch the days the do deals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Again, another Wellingborough pub that I've not had a bad meal in, it's a Hungry Horse-you get what you pay for!
Watch out for the quiz nights, curry&pint for £4.99 And beer&burger nights.... Sometimes can't get a seat past 6pm!
Have been here for grub with my husband, with friends and with family members who don't want anything fussy.
I find the food plentiful and don't leave at all hungry!
Try the CandyMania humongous ice cream..... Def for sharing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly Acceptable, Good Value Pub-Grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This pub is within walking distance of my home and I visit once or twice a month. It's part of the Greene King (Hungry Horse) chain and the real ale it serves is very good - sometimes excellent, depending on the guest beers. The food is what you would expect from a pub chain, with the emphasis squarely on quantity rather than quality. Having said this, I would also say that the quality is a slight step up from other chains in the area and it is certainly good value for money. Overall, this is not a place I would visit for a special occasion but a great place if you just want a break from cooking/washing up yourself - especially if you have children.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited this pub/restaurant this evening for tea. The place was very busy, but there was a friendly atmosphere. There is plenty to choose from on the menu for both adults and children. Once we had ordered the wait for our food was quite short about 15/20 minutes. The children were entertained by their colouring sheet. The food was of a good standard and the portion sizes were just the right size. The food and drinks were very good value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“we had to walk away on a mid week night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

we popped here in the evening in the week and couldn`t even get a seat, we have eaten here before but not special enough to stay and wait fro a table..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“For kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I didnt expect a lot from the food as the impression you get is cheap fried food, noisy kids pub setting.

Have to say it wasnt too bad, if youre on a diet or enjoy salads, no, this probably wont be top of your list, but if you have young kids, they have a dining area in a soft play area, so you can feed them and let them play safely without worry.

I had a quite nice main (allthough it was the most expensive on the menu) The wifes steak was pretty tough and not medium, but all in all not too bad.

Quite expensive though at over £40 without any alcoholic drinks, but my main accounted for £14 of that, so on balance not too compared with fast food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ock n Dough also viewed

Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Ock n Dough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ock n Dough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.