We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel to your Saves list
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Long Street | Topcliffe, Thirsk Y073RW, England (Formerly The Angel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thirsk
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great friendly staff who bend over backwards to ensure your stay is brilliant. Always polite and smiley - a great combination.
Bedrooms are good and superb value; likewise the food.
Thoroughly recommend this pub/hotel/ restaurant and good location in small village just outside Thirsk

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
40
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Managed to have a late booking for the Christmas meal & disco .
We have to thank Sally who sweet talked the GM for us, Victoria arranged our table etc
The evening was very enjoyable , meal very good , service efficient , good food , beer & wine , excellent accommodation .
The breakfast was very good and ladies who serve it , are without doubt a great advertisement for the Angel , service with a smile !
This was our second visit but won't be our last.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked The Angel for my husband's combined birthday and retirement celebration. We had eaten there a few times but never stayed. It was a surprise and so all arrangements had been made via email with Francesca. Everything was just perfect and all went according to plan. There were 29 of us - we took most of the rooms and everyone said what an amazing time they'd had. The real highlights were the very helpful and friendly staff, fabulous rooms - especially the Halo Suite with the comfiest four poster and the biggest bathroom I've ever had in a hotel. Well worth the little bit extra. The food was great - no mean feat serving 29 people together. Breakfast was great too. The pub in really cosy but especially so at this time of year with all the lovely Christmas decorations. Thanks to all the staff at The Angel for making it such a special event.

Room Tip: Go for The Halo Suite. Very luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed to stay somewhere to visit friends nearby and they recommended the Angel which had apparently been reopened and refurbished last year by new owners. As Topcliffe is only a small place we were pleasantly surprised at the feel and quality of everything from the bar and restaurant areas to the bedrooms. There is also a separate quiet lounge area for residents. Everything in the bedrooms and bathrooms appears brand new and clean with lovely big fluffy white towels supplied together with TV and tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities and biscuits. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the nice lady who served us a great English breakfast in the very nice restaurant this morning. I hope the owner doesnt read this and put the price up as we thought it was excellent value.and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back if you want to go to bed early as you may hear some background conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed out recent stay at the hotel. The staff where very helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated with on-suite, everything was very clean. The bed was comfy, the room did get a little hot during the early morning, but we just opened the window. In the morning we had a fabulous breakfast downstairs, there where cereals, fruit, toast, juice, teas and coffee and a choice of hot breakfasts. The food was very nice and greatly appreciated along with the Mercers conserves (which happen to be my favourite) and the Christmas decorations where just amazing and very festive!
As we went in November it was a little cold to be outside but we did see the grounds and it looked very relaxing with lots of seating and a pond area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 13/11/2014. One night on b & b .wonderful warm welcome from helpfull and happy staff.clean and comfortable bar areas with warm log stoves and nicely lit.we stayed in the suite,it was stunning,spotless clean wonderful bathroom and large t.v and four poster bed with good linen.breakfast was of good quality ie sausage and bacon a wide choice was on offer. Busy bar with locals and people dinning.big thank you to Sally and cat great members of staff,we will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The suite is extremely nice and offers lot’s of space, comfort and luxury. It is worth every penny. The kitchen provides you with a very good dinner as well as nice breakfast. All toped by a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Address: Long Street | Topcliffe, Thirsk Y073RW, England (Formerly The Angel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a great place for a relaxed meal or celebration, the Angel is also a great place to get away for the weekend: with stylish bedrooms, great food & drink and the whole of North Yorkshire to keep you busy during the day what more could you want? Our location, within easy reach of both the A1 and A19, also makes us a good base for anyone travelling for business. Our warm village-pub atmosphere and friendly welcome also help to make your time away from home a bit more pleasant (and productive!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Thirsk
Your Hotel The Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.