We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moor and Pheasant

Moor and Pheasant
Dalton Moor, Thirsk YO7 3JD, England
+44 1845 577756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 53 Restaurants in Thirsk
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
North Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A friend and I went to the Moor and Pheasant last night (Thursday) we were greeted by two lovely smiling girls behind the bar. After we ordered our drinks we were shown to our table by the waiter.
We decided on the food and we placed our order, everything from start to finish was perfect.
Lovely friendly staff, warm and clean and the food excellent. The waiter could not have done any more the service was perfect.
I went to work today and mentioned my experience to a lot of people because I think word of mouth is the best form of advertising. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Oh dear, what a drop in standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed many a drink and meal here in the past. The last two visits have been terrible. Bar service and welcome so bad we left on the second occasion without even ordering. We waited at bar while couple in front complained about their starter (seemingly onto deaf ears of staff). They left and we still waited. Staff appeared and disappeared, no acknowledgement that we were standing there. No one else was being served. We left and found another restaurant.
So disappointed.....bring back Greig.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moor_Pheasant, Manager at Moor and Pheasant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Myself and the team are sorry to hear the negative comments surrounding your visits to the Moor and Pheasant.
We are sorry that you did not seem to have the same experience that you have previously enjoyed. We pride ourselves on our upholding consistently attentive and welcoming standards of service and I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We hope to see you back in the near future so we can restore your faith in the Moor and Pheasant.

Fred and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a fab meal here with a group of friends, the food was the best and the dessert well beyond expectations!! The service was just as good and as we own a B&B locally we highly recommend this pub, and as yet all our guests have thought the same! Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second trip and WILL be coming again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The interior décor and out door seating of this lovely pub and restaurant make it quite hard to choose where to sit.
The menu was super tempting and the Early bird was great value for great quality food.
The staff were very attentive and really pleasant.
This was my second visit, I brought guests and they were equally impressed.
I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This will become a regular eating place now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My third visit here but first on a Saturday lunch-time. Did not disappoint! Busy (I think it is popular with visitors staying at the adjacent holiday site?) but we were OK as I had reserved a table for a family get together. Staff were very obliging when I had to delay our arrival time at the last minute. We all opted for the two course set menu for £10.95.The set menu was fairly limited in choices but suited us fine, including the children in our group. Summer pudding was gorgeous. Appealing little touches like the miniature flagons of beer to accompany the fish and chips and small sauté pans for serving the ice cream. There were some interesting selections on the specials board which I will hope to try next visit. Service was efficient and pleasant. This is a reliable eating place; perhaps not for the 'wow' special occasion but food is very good and it will become a regular with me. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moor and Pheasant also viewed

 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Moor and Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moor and Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.