We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Fleece Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Fleece Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Fleece Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Thirsk
newcastle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went in for a meal while we were stopping in Thirsk for a couple of nights and the food was outstanding. They had a good selection of real ales which were tip top and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    97
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
156
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bicester, oxfordshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Fleece while visiting Thirsk for the races. The Hotel is just a five minute walk from the course. The Hotel is located on the Market Place and is the ideal place to explore the area. There are several pubs/places to eat around the pretty market square. As we were going racing, I rang the Hotel in the morning to see if it would be possible to check in early - something most Hotels wont entertain unless you pay for the priviledge! But they said no problem, our room would be ready for us at noon - and it was! The room (a double - no.6) was actually quite small and cramped but adequate for one night. The bathroom was almost larger than the bedroom! That said, it was very clean and comfortable. There is a large car park at the rear of the property for residents. The full Yorkshire breakfast was delicious and far too much for me. The service and staff were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Thirsk for tourism but especially for racing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

stayed here a few times now attending races with 3 friends high standards all round .Staff friendly and efficient atmosphere ambient stayed in lots of hotels britian ireland and round the world and the fleece rates highly also great value for money we will be back and will highly recommendI

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights in June at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Bedroom was huge with everything you needed from trouser press to tv. Room was at the front of the hotel and yes you do get a bit of noise when the market is setting up but this didn't bother me too much. There is free parking for hotel guests which is a bonus. I only had breakfast but can say it was excellent with a choice of fruit , cereals and fried full English. Staff are very friendly and the service is good. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel in thirsk.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have recently stayed at this hotel and can I say the staff are wonderful! It's an hotel we've been to quite alot! Been to alot of places in this country and abroad but The Fleece always draws us back! It's home from home with a very high standard, the food is second to none...from a light eater to a vegetarian!! Couple of personal favourites are fish, chips and mushy peas, lamb casserole also steaks are done to perfection!! Don't know where to start with breakfast....a buffet table with yoghurts, fresh fruit and juices which are set out beautifully!! The full english breakfast is top class award-winning!! Well done to everyone!!

From Mel & Bren McSorley

P.S. Try christmas lunch...one of the BEST!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We are an international business and our directors and staff use 'The Fleece' every week and have done for the last 10 years. Homely with character and so refreshing from the modern 'box' type hotels around the world. Management and staff attentive, food great and clearly the couple in the room next to mine last time I stayed were enjoying themselves! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

After a long journey visiting friends my partner and I decided to stop in Thirsk for a bite to eat, arriving a little early we were informed about the 'Early Bird' menu on offer at the bar in the Golden Fleece so we decided to take a look. We were pleasantly suprised by the choice on offer and delighted by the meal which was exactly what we needed simple and tasty and very good value for money. We will definitely be back when making our way up north again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Fleece Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.