We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Sandhutton, Thirsk yo7 4rw, England
+44 1845 587887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 55 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $68
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, English
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Thirsk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a great Sunday Lunch Huge portions ,lovely meal nice atmosphere
friendly attentive staff.Lunch served till late afternoon
Highly Recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Finished the night of just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Recommended by Sue the owner of Newsham Grange and so pleased it was...Very different way of ordered and choosing your food (as other reviewers have said) but lovely!! The service from all staff was excellent, the food was fantastic and the entire visit finished off our day lovely. Will make a point of returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really Personal Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A lovely pub with a very friendly atmosphere. You get to choose your cut of meat/fish and discuss with the chef how you want it cooked. There is also a good bar menu that you can choose from should you wish. This is a family enterprise - and it shows. We had a lovely meal with delicious homemade pudding and will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We ate at the Kings Arms whilst staying at Carlton Barns B&B for a couple of nights.
The ordering system is very unique, with a starters menu which you order directly with the chef and then you select your main course from the kitchen - there are different options of meat and fish and the chef makes suggestions on sauces and accompaniments. It is actually a very clever way of being able to offer customers what is available off the boat or from your butcher rather than being constrained by a menu.

The first night we shared the lamb kofta and a nibbles plate of pitta, olives, feta, homous and anchovies for starters which was fantastic and really set us up for our mains. I has the local rib eye steak with a bernaise sauce - this is some of the best steak I have had since moving to Yorkshire 3 years ago. My husband had the homemade steak burger, with cheese, bacon and jalapeño - he was delighted and said it is one of the best burgers he has had.
On the second night I had the scallops followed by Halibut and my husband had pâté followed by Monkfish. Once again the food was fantastic and we even managed a dessert!
The wine list, whilst not extensive has some excellent wines to choose from, including a couple of dessert wines which was a real treat.
On both evenings, despite there being different staff serving, our experience was excellent.
I have already recommended to our family who live near Thirsk and we will certainly be returning when we are next in the area - can't wait.
A big thank you to all of you who contributed to our wonderful evenings with you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Yet again we have been delighted with our meal (Sunday lunch) at the Kings Arms.
Very friendly service, no fussing about, great local food beautifully prepared/and served. Very fair prices.
Family visiting from California truely impressed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.