We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our next visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St James House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St James House
Save Saved
You added St James House to your Saves list
35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Harrow
1 review
“Looking forward to our next visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent a very pleasant weekend with Barry. His B & B is a fascinating house, extremely comfortable and warm and furnished with interesting antiques. Barry told us a little of the history of how the three houses became one under his ownership.
It was only a short walk to then town centre. Our room was cosy and the antique French bed (with modern mattress) gave us two restful nights. We overlooked the garden, full of trees that Barry himself had planted and we enjoyed watching many birds visiting each morning. The private bathroom appeared brand new and the shower was very efficient. The breakfast excelled both in quality and quantity and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Before we left, we booked for the same weekend next year and we have already recommended St James House to friends thinking of visiting the area. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for you great review Paul and Sheila. Great to have you stay with us. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
39
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Barry, the host/owner, was very friendly and cheerful. We felt right at home. The house is decorated with lots of interesting antiques, and the breakfast was the best English breakfast I've had so far in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we provided you with your best breakfast of your travels. Hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

On our first trip to the U.K and not knowing much about the area, we could not have picked a better place to stay. Barry was a wonderful host and provided excellent insight on what to see in the area. The hotel is in a perfect location and is everything we expected. I would definitely stay at the St James House again on our next visit. John J.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello John and Ronda. Thank you for your lovely review. Glad that we helped to make your first visit to the U.K. enjoyable. North Yorkshire and in particular, James Herriot Country, is a wonderful scenic county to see. Look forward to you visiting again. Thank you for keeping in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay. Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast lovely. The house is situated in a beautiful area and the house itself is full of interesting pictures and antiques. Barry, the owner, is very friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Tracy. Thank you for your lovely review. Glad that we helped to make your family stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at st james house recently. What a lovely surprise.the house is more like an extension of the owner, barrys own home . He really delighted in showing us around his property with pride.
Decorated with many antiques which made the stay very interesting
A gem in the heart of thirsk.
Barry made us so welcome as did Lucky the cat

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Lucky always looks forward to meeting guests. Hope you come and visit North Yorkshire in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Barry's St. James House in Thirsk had it all. Great bed, lovely breakfast and able to help with my gluten free diet, steps into town to the James Harriott Center, very convenient bus service up to Ripon Cathedral since I did not have my own car. Very telling that some guests I met come back on a very regular schedule to bask in this personalized care. My room at the top of the house basically gave me the entire floor to myself! What a treat in this eagle eyrie! Pub next door was very helpful with gluten free as well for an early dinner. Wonderful antiques as Barry used to be an antique dealer and one surmises that he still has his hand in that particular pot!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Marjorie. Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the Penthouse suite (the Eagle Eyrie) - one of the best views of Sutton Bank from Thirsk. We always do our best to cater for special diets. Hope you return in the future to enjoy the delights of North Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had 2 nights at this lovely B&B which is a very short stroll into the main square of Thirsk.
This is a beautiful old home that is full of character and filled with antiques. We booked 2 rooms and the bedrooms were a good size with very comfortable beds and lovely furnishings.
Our host, Barry, made sure we had every thing we needed and was very helpful and informative about the local area.
Breakfast had a good variety to choose from with meals being very large servings.
The Internet connection was excellent which was great.
We enjoyed our short stay in Thirsk and would stay at St James again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Kate. Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you and your family stay with us for two nights. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Address: 35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James House is a large imposing Georgian Grade 2 listed building situated on St. James Green, which is a conservation area and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We have excellent free parking outside of the property.We are conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of visitor attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park is only 10 minutes drive away to the East and the Yorkshire Dales National Park 25 minutes drive to the west.York is only 25 minutes drive to the south.We are open all the year round.Our friendly staff look forward to you visiting us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.