We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth checking out x” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St James House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St James House
Save
You added St James House to your Saves list
35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth checking out x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay. Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast lovely. The house is situated in a beautiful area and the house itself is full of interesting pictures and antiques. Barry, the owner, is very friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Tracy. Thank you for your lovely review. Glad that we helped to make your family stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
46
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at st james house recently. What a lovely surprise.the house is more like an extension of the owner, barrys own home . He really delighted in showing us around his property with pride.
Decorated with many antiques which made the stay very interesting
A gem in the heart of thirsk.
Barry made us so welcome as did Lucky the cat

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Lucky always looks forward to meeting guests. Hope you come and visit North Yorkshire in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Barry's St. James House in Thirsk had it all. Great bed, lovely breakfast and able to help with my gluten free diet, steps into town to the James Harriott Center, very convenient bus service up to Ripon Cathedral since I did not have my own car. Very telling that some guests I met come back on a very regular schedule to bask in this personalized care. My room at the top of the house basically gave me the entire floor to myself! What a treat in this eagle eyrie! Pub next door was very helpful with gluten free as well for an early dinner. Wonderful antiques as Barry used to be an antique dealer and one surmises that he still has his hand in that particular pot!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Marjorie. Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the Penthouse suite (the Eagle Eyrie) - one of the best views of Sutton Bank from Thirsk. We always do our best to cater for special diets. Hope you return in the future to enjoy the delights of North Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had 2 nights at this lovely B&B which is a very short stroll into the main square of Thirsk.
This is a beautiful old home that is full of character and filled with antiques. We booked 2 rooms and the bedrooms were a good size with very comfortable beds and lovely furnishings.
Our host, Barry, made sure we had every thing we needed and was very helpful and informative about the local area.
Breakfast had a good variety to choose from with meals being very large servings.
The Internet connection was excellent which was great.
We enjoyed our short stay in Thirsk and would stay at St James again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Kate. Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you and your family stay with us for two nights. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We made a one night visit at St. James House while on holiday in June, 2012. After our enjoyable visit, we knew that we would return. Recently, we stayed with Barry at St.James House for five nights...what a wonderful B&B! Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished, and the Yorkshire breakfast is marvelous! We have become hot tea converts! It is the perfect place and location for visiting all the beautiful sights in the Yorkshire Dales and Moors, Barry is so knowledgeable and willing to make suggestions for "all things Yorkshire". We were made to feel "at home", and it was enjoyable to make the return trip to visit our new friend.

Mike and Janis USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Janice and Mike. Thank you so much for your great review. It was a great pleasure to have you stay here again this year. Glad that you have become a Yorkshire Tea lover ( I drink it all the time). Thank you for keeping in touch with us. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Surely, the quality of the bed is essential for a great B&B stay. That we had at St. James House in Thirsk. Barry was a fine and knowledgeable host. Our room was spacious and furnished with truly beautiful antiques, as was the rest of the house. The location was perfect for exploring the N. Yorkshire Moors and the Yorkshire Dales, which we did for three days--not enough time, really. So give Barry a try. You'll enjoy his home and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Pauline. Appologies for the delay in responding. What with one thing and another (Shingles for one thing) which hit me in July and August I was so exhausted by the end of the day. Anyway, here I am. Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and glad that you liked the memory foam mattress. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

well hope your ok barry ,had the most fab time at st james house left very full after bfast of
tea ,orange juice, toast ,marmalade, jam and a full english and cerials' the room was lovely clean
warm and comfy woken with the sound of birds singing,THE furniture is fantastic something for
everyone with a keen eye for detail,st james house is a little gem its not like anything else which
makes it unique the host barry is full of information we had such a giggle over bfast on a leaving note to all you guests that have not yet visited .make it a must and go see barry he"s brilliant
best wishes janet &carl see you soon barry ,lucky the cat and your fab staff,xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you Carl and Janet for your lovely, glowing review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was great to have your company. Look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#15 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Old Oak Tree
Old Oak Tree
#6 of 23 in Thirsk
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Address: 35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James House is a large imposing Georgian Grade 2 listed building situated on St. James Green, which is a conservation area and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We have excellent free parking outside of the property.We are conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of visitor attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park is only 10 minutes drive away to the East and the Yorkshire Dales National Park 25 minutes drive to the west.York is only 25 minutes drive to the south.We are open all the year round.Our friendly staff look forward to you visiting us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.