We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to St. James House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St James House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St James House
35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
“Return to St. James House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We made a one night visit at St. James House while on holiday in June, 2012. After our enjoyable visit, we knew that we would return. Recently, we stayed with Barry at St.James House for five nights...what a wonderful B&B! Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished, and the Yorkshire breakfast is marvelous! We have become hot tea converts! It is the perfect place and location for visiting all the beautiful sights in the Yorkshire Dales and Moors, Barry is so knowledgeable and willing to make suggestions for "all things Yorkshire". We were made to feel "at home", and it was enjoyable to make the return trip to visit our new friend.

Mike and Janis USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Janice and Mike. Thank you so much for your great review. It was a great pleasure to have you stay here again this year. Glad that you have become a Yorkshire Tea lover ( I drink it all the time). Thank you for keeping in touch with us. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
35
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Surely, the quality of the bed is essential for a great B&B stay. That we had at St. James House in Thirsk. Barry was a fine and knowledgeable host. Our room was spacious and furnished with truly beautiful antiques, as was the rest of the house. The location was perfect for exploring the N. Yorkshire Moors and the Yorkshire Dales, which we did for three days--not enough time, really. So give Barry a try. You'll enjoy his home and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Pauline. Appologies for the delay in responding. What with one thing and another (Shingles for one thing) which hit me in July and August I was so exhausted by the end of the day. Anyway, here I am. Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and glad that you liked the memory foam mattress. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

well hope your ok barry ,had the most fab time at st james house left very full after bfast of
tea ,orange juice, toast ,marmalade, jam and a full english and cerials' the room was lovely clean
warm and comfy woken with the sound of birds singing,THE furniture is fantastic something for
everyone with a keen eye for detail,st james house is a little gem its not like anything else which
makes it unique the host barry is full of information we had such a giggle over bfast on a leaving note to all you guests that have not yet visited .make it a must and go see barry he"s brilliant
best wishes janet &carl see you soon barry ,lucky the cat and your fab staff,xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you Carl and Janet for your lovely, glowing review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was great to have your company. Look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Another great stay with the host Barry & his wonderful staff. A lovely cooked breakfast to send you on your way. Quaint, quirky and delightful. Close to the centre with parking too.
We will certainly be staying again in the future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It is always a pleasure to see you all each year - you are such a good fun crowd. Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are from Montana, and my adult daughter and I stayed with Barry for a few days while we explored Thirsk and the Yorkshire Dales by motorcycle. We called it our James Herriot theme vacation, though it was only a few days between work for me at the University of Leeds. St. James House is in the perfect location for walking to the World of James Herriot and the Thirsk museums and taking walks along the "Darrow" river. It's a short walk to some of James Herriot's favorite pubs and to the market in Thirsk, a market that's been held there on Mondays for centuries. Our host, Barry, made us feel like we were staying with family. He tried so hard to make us comfortable, feed us exactly what we wanted and make suggestions for places to visit as we traveled around Yorkshire. We hope to visit him again in the future and we highly recommend both Thirsk and the St. James House for some relaxing time in a very small village.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you visiting us again and to see more of the Herriot Country delights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay - comfy bed & lovely bright room. Our host Barry was wonderful - very interesting & informative. Felt very welcome in his beautiful home & he couldn't have been more genuine & friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both. Enjoyed the chat. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Bring all your Australian family and friends with you, as well. We'll have a 'barbie', hahaha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are looking for a modern boutique hotel then you will be disappointed, if however you looking for a traditional B&B then the St James is well worth visiting. I only stayed for a one night stop over, the owner was very friendly, the room was clean & tidy and well appointed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B or indeed staying there again.
This is a traditional B&B not a soulless service station hotel and it is all the better for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review. Enjoyed the 'chat'. Hope your test driving of a motor bike was up to your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Address: 35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James House is a large imposing Georgian Grade 2 listed building situated on St. James Green, which is a conservation area and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We have excellent free parking outside of the property.We are conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of visitor attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park is only 10 minutes drive away to the East and the Yorkshire Dales National Park 25 minutes drive to the west.York is only 25 minutes drive to the south.We are open all the year round.Our friendly staff look forward to you visiting us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St James House to your Saves list