We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our James Herriot theme vacation base camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St James House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St James House
Save
You added St James House to your Saves list
35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Missoula, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our James Herriot theme vacation base camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are from Montana, and my adult daughter and I stayed with Barry for a few days while we explored Thirsk and the Yorkshire Dales by motorcycle. We called it our James Herriot theme vacation, though it was only a few days between work for me at the University of Leeds. St. James House is in the perfect location for walking to the World of James Herriot and the Thirsk museums and taking walks along the "Darrow" river. It's a short walk to some of James Herriot's favorite pubs and to the market in Thirsk, a market that's been held there on Mondays for centuries. Our host, Barry, made us feel like we were staying with family. He tried so hard to make us comfortable, feed us exactly what we wanted and make suggestions for places to visit as we traveled around Yorkshire. We hope to visit him again in the future and we highly recommend both Thirsk and the St. James House for some relaxing time in a very small village.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you visiting us again and to see more of the Herriot Country delights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
39
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Withern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay - comfy bed & lovely bright room. Our host Barry was wonderful - very interesting & informative. Felt very welcome in his beautiful home & he couldn't have been more genuine & friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both. Enjoyed the chat. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Bring all your Australian family and friends with you, as well. We'll have a 'barbie', hahaha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are looking for a modern boutique hotel then you will be disappointed, if however you looking for a traditional B&B then the St James is well worth visiting. I only stayed for a one night stop over, the owner was very friendly, the room was clean & tidy and well appointed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B or indeed staying there again.
This is a traditional B&B not a soulless service station hotel and it is all the better for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review. Enjoyed the 'chat'. Hope your test driving of a motor bike was up to your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week and had a good stay. It is comfortable and the breakfast is good, and the owner, Barry, is very entertaining and helpful. The building is lovely, and although some of the fittings and bathrooms are a bit old fashioned it was clean and warm and the house is full of antique furniture. It is only a couple of minutes walk from centre of Thirsk. Would recommend St James House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights just over Easter April2013 . The house is beautiful with antiques everywhere and we chose the front room with the wonderful Edwardian furniture! It was freezing outside but Barry has great heat!!! Bathroom is a bit dated but nice bathtub!! Breakfast was excellent with the very best rashers of bacon I've ever had(father's own cure excepted)! The price was very good for Thirsk and everything is in walking distance(AND you park your car FREE at his door ) Barry was/is an antique dealer and is a great one for conversation on all subjects!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay at St. James House and that you had a successful buying trip over here in the U.K. Thank you for your great review.
Hope the weather is warmer the next time that you come over here.
We will continue to get the bacon from the same local butcher and we will keep room 3 ready for your next visit to the U.K.

Very best regards,

Barry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at St James and found it a beautiful experience. Steeped in history and atmosphere. We stayed in room 3 and the bed was so comfy - it was a perfect stay. Barry the host was brilliant and Lucky the cat added to the charm of the place. We will definately be back! St James has enspired me to write more which is a huge positive, thank you Barry - see you soon.

Room Tip: room 3 has the most wonderful bed and lovely views of the green. Room 3 is very spacious with huge e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Good luck with the historical books that you are writing and with your ghost tours.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Very best regards,
Barry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I write to say I have stated at St James over the years when I visit family. I am welcomed the same each time with courtesy and and helpfulness!! The English Breakfast takes a bit of beating and served with much care and attention and the bedrooms are very clean and tidy and nothing is a problem to the owner. He knows so much about the area and as St James is a character house, there is nothing quite like it in the area. Parking is easy and it is away from the road. Lots more and I recommend anyone who comes to Yorkshire and the area to try it.

Room Tip: Ask the owner before you travel your wishes for a room suitable for your requirements and he will tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us. You always have us laughing. You are a real fun person. We look forward to you visiting us again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Address: 35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James House is a large imposing Georgian Grade 2 listed building situated on St. James Green, which is a conservation area and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We have excellent free parking outside of the property.We are conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of visitor attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park is only 10 minutes drive away to the East and the Yorkshire Dales National Park 25 minutes drive to the west.York is only 25 minutes drive to the south.We are open all the year round.Our friendly staff look forward to you visiting us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.